New Covered Bridge Graphics

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

New Covered Bridge Graphics

Post by shawn_ardies » 20 Jan 2004 15:10

These are my new covered bridge graphics, they replace the wooden bridge, what do you think?
note:updated, the rails/roads line up, the roof darkened, and so on
Attachments
coveredbridger.zip
For WIN
(5.49 KiB) Downloaded 274 times
covered bridge3.PNG
covered bridge3.PNG (40.63 KiB) Viewed 6727 times
Last edited by shawn_ardies on 21 Jan 2004 00:32, edited 3 times in total.
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

User avatar
spaceman-spiff
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
Posts: 20665
Joined: 28 Jul 2002 07:08
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by spaceman-spiff » 20 Jan 2004 15:19

Too "toyish", I'm afraid it's nothing for me
Well, back to work, lot's of it in the near future

goalie
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 14:54
Location: Düsseldorf
Contact:

Post by goalie » 20 Jan 2004 16:00

nothing for me too

User avatar
Louie Armstrong
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4053
Joined: 03 Dec 2003 23:02
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire - England

Post by Louie Armstrong » 20 Jan 2004 16:09

Its a good start, but i think if you toned down the colour made it more wooden looking, and made the wasp stripes a bit thinner it would look better and fit into the environment more

Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Official TT-Ellen Page FanClub
Official TT-Hayley Williams FanClub
Official TT-generic yet cute emo woman FanClub
jonty-comp wrote:I accidentally wedged my frigate between some rocks. D:

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 20 Jan 2004 16:28

they look like they're built with legobricks

I don't like the red... You should give it a different color and more shading.
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

Post by shawn_ardies » 20 Jan 2004 16:39

but i think most covered bridges are red.
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

ZleDth
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 99
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 21:52
Location: Hollandaise // GeLdErLaNd // NMGN

Post by ZleDth » 20 Jan 2004 16:50

if you look into the window you see water!!! isn't there an solution or something???
Image

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

Post by shawn_ardies » 20 Jan 2004 16:52

i don't know, i'm thinking of making them black.
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

ZleDth
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 99
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 21:52
Location: Hollandaise // GeLdErLaNd // NMGN

Post by ZleDth » 20 Jan 2004 16:54

but with the wooden bridge you see also the track and train! (i don't know if you see the train in this bridge)
Image

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 20 Jan 2004 17:01

furthermore, you can see water through the windows, instead of track :P

Using the yellowish color used by the stations might work better... not sure though... Don't know how the bridges work from the grf files...
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2451
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 » 20 Jan 2004 18:42

there is a little graphics bug compare the lines of road and railway with monorail and maglew

And they look stupid and the roof is uggly

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

Post by shawn_ardies » 20 Jan 2004 20:34

:D i did a little work on it, does this look better?
dakened the roof a little, fixed the wasp stripes on the maglev and monorail(they were going the same way on both sides) and i darkened the inside and blacked out the windows :D
Attachments
covered bridge2.PNG
covered bridge2.PNG (106.45 KiB) Viewed 6772 times
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

ZleDth
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 99
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 21:52
Location: Hollandaise // GeLdErLaNd // NMGN

Post by ZleDth » 20 Jan 2004 20:42

nah.... it's not what i like!
Image

User avatar
SGWebmaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1564
Joined: 11 Jan 2003 15:47
Location: Preston, UK
Contact:

Post by SGWebmaster » 20 Jan 2004 23:17

I think it would be better if the windows worked as windows, ie. neither track nor blackness. Also, the tracks inside the bridge don't quite line up with the tracks outside.
SGWebmaster
-/-/-/-/-/-
http://www.multibellropes.freeserve.co.uk
UD Team
-:-:-:-:-:-
Urah, hanevel, v'chinor! A-irah shahar!
-/-/-/-/-/-
Please Note: Brain Shut Down For Maintence

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

Post by shawn_ardies » 21 Jan 2004 00:02

SGWebmaster wrote:I think it would be better if the windows worked as windows, ie. neither track nor blackness. Also, the tracks inside the bridge don't quite line up with the tracks outside.
first of all, a covered bridge doesn't have glass windows, if thats what you mean and there's not much light in a covered bridge so i think blackness works fine. and the track/road not lining up, i'm aware of that, it's not hard to fix, thanks anyway. :D
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

User avatar
way_2_fun
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3015
Joined: 03 Nov 2002 18:42
Location: Canada

Post by way_2_fun » 21 Jan 2004 00:06

It's looking to animated for me. Good try.

User avatar
_RaK_
Director
Director
Posts: 610
Joined: 24 Dec 2003 17:17

Post by _RaK_ » 21 Jan 2004 00:07

Better put color brown, so it look like wooden bridge.

I don't like color and I like that bridge.
I'm back - Last online: 7 years 21 days ago.

User avatar
shawn_ardies
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Jan 2004 00:46
Location: CANADA

Post by shawn_ardies » 21 Jan 2004 01:04

_RaK_ wrote:Better put color brown, so it look like wooden bridge.

I don't like color and I like that bridge.
maybe i'll make a brown version someday. but not right away, i'm working on other projects right now. you can make it youself if you want. :D
you can modify the past,
you can create the present,
or you can design the future...

in a video game :D

User avatar
_RaK_
Director
Director
Posts: 610
Joined: 24 Dec 2003 17:17

Post by _RaK_ » 21 Jan 2004 01:06

I don't know EVEN what program for that.

I have only Adobe Photoshop CS, 3Ds Max Studio and M. Flash.
I'm back - Last online: 7 years 21 days ago.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 21 Jan 2004 08:18

The roof is skewed. If you look at your pics you see that the tip of the roof isn't aligned with the center of the bridge. Just by fixing that it would look better. And as others suggested: try another colour. I know these bridges are painted (hey, I've seen The Bridges of Madison County!) but this is what I refer to as nucleair paint :lol: . And since these bridges are painted I think you should let go the marking of different pieces of wood too. You can achieve a similar effect by just choosing a slightly darker colour for the paint (ask uzurpator for further details). But in the end I have to say that for a first attempt this is not bad.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests