MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 01 Apr 2012 22:53

Ladies and gentlemen,

after almost a year of very active development, with great pleasure I dare to announce that the very first official playable version of

NUTS Unrealistic Train Set belongs amongst fruit food from now on.

I will not make this thread too much longer as all the desirable info is in the readme file which comes with the newGRF.

I wish happy playing to all those who try this train set and hope you will be as entertained as I am.

V453000
ImageImageImage

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5530
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by wallyweb » 04 Apr 2012 10:37

V453000 :) wrote:... is in the readme file which comes with the newGRF ...
... and the newGRF is available from [enter link or location here]. :wink:

User avatar
PaulC
Director
Director
Posts: 616
Joined: 31 Jul 2006 12:40
Location: Lancs, England
Contact:

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by PaulC » 04 Apr 2012 10:46

I'm guessing "fruit food" means BaNaNaS.

But yes, some more information would be excellent. People generally like to know what they are downloading before they download it. :wink: Screenshots?

Michi_cc
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 592
Joined: 14 Jun 2004 23:27
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Michi_cc » 04 Apr 2012 12:19

PaulC wrote:People generally like to know what they are downloading before they download it. :wink: Screenshots?
The Bananas download counts and player questions like "I loaded 123456 GRFs and now I have strange vehicles, what to do?" indicate the opposite :p

User avatar
Jacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2387
Joined: 13 May 2011 17:11
Location: In an alternate Universe

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Jacko » 05 Apr 2012 19:38

Its not compatible with 1.1.5!!!!
does that mean that i have to update to 1.2.0 (i think its RC4)
"O2 is for noobs, real people breath O3" ~ said sometime by Me

All comments from me may or may not be true and do not take them word-for-word

Feel Free to join me and some other people in The Nations Game - its actually quite fun.

1000th Post at Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:43 am
2000th post at Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:22 am

Supercheese
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1660
Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Supercheese » 05 Apr 2012 19:54

Jacko wrote:Its not compatible with 1.1.5!
does that mean that i have to update to 1.2.0 (i think its RC4)
Have you even tried it with 1.2.0 (RC*)?
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 05 Apr 2012 20:00

Ooh, sorry, forgot to mention that. It works in RC4, or of course trunk. Bananas unfortunately does not allow to select 1.2.0 to be minimal requirement yet
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Jacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2387
Joined: 13 May 2011 17:11
Location: In an alternate Universe

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Jacko » 05 Apr 2012 20:20

There are a lot of engines, nicely done!
im gueesing the Nyan Cat train hasnt been added yet!
"O2 is for noobs, real people breath O3" ~ said sometime by Me

All comments from me may or may not be true and do not take them word-for-word

Feel Free to join me and some other people in The Nations Game - its actually quite fun.

1000th Post at Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:43 am
2000th post at Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:22 am

ColdIce
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 25 Apr 2006 10:22
Location: Bucharest

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by ColdIce » 05 Apr 2012 20:31

:lol: Very amuzing and also very amazing

congratulations :wink:
Attachments
nuts.png
(65.66 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
ImageImage

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 05 Apr 2012 21:43

It is there, but last engines come in 2080 ;)
0.0.1 had a bug where most vehicles came before 2030 (the png above) and all of post-2030 vehicles came in 2060+. 0.0.2 fixes that so all vehicles come in appropriate dates now, since 1920 until 2080
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Digitalfox » 05 Apr 2012 21:54

Nice set, but what is the Logic Engine for?

It shows up always, since well year 0 :O

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 05 Apr 2012 23:29

Digitalfox wrote:Nice set, but what is the Logic Engine for?

It shows up always, since well year 0 :O
As the readme says, the logic train is for special logic gates which require high speed trains to respond as quickly as possible in some important cases.

You can find more about such things on the openttdcoop site, for example:

http://blog.openttdcoop.org/2009/01/18/ ... s-part-ii/

http://wiki.openttdcoop.org/Junctionary ... _and_Other
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Digitalfox » 06 Apr 2012 11:29

V453000 :) wrote:
Digitalfox wrote:Nice set, but what is the Logic Engine for?

It shows up always, since well year 0 :O
As the readme says, the logic train is for special logic gates which require high speed trains to respond as quickly as possible in some important cases.

You can find more about such things on the openttdcoop site, for example:

http://blog.openttdcoop.org/2009/01/18/ ... s-part-ii/

http://wiki.openttdcoop.org/Junctionary ... _and_Other
Can't there be a parameter do disable it? :mrgreen:

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 06 Apr 2012 11:38

Digitalfox wrote:
V453000 :) wrote:
Digitalfox wrote:Nice set, but what is the Logic Engine for?

Can't there be a parameter do disable it? :mrgreen:
I don't quite see the reason to do that, you cannot haul wagons with it anyway
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Digitalfox » 06 Apr 2012 11:53

V453000 :) wrote: I don't quite see the reason to do that, you cannot haul wagons with it anyway
Yeah, but when you start a new game in 1850, having already monorail and maglev's spoils the game a bit :(

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 06 Apr 2012 11:56

How come when you cannot do anything with it other than just build tracks without actual trains? Or without trains which could actually transport something...
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Digitalfox » 06 Apr 2012 12:01

I understand what you're trying to defend, but maybe is just me, but I like to see the game advancing and new things becoming available, and not having them always available.

You can say that, that while maglev's tracks are available you can't build any train that uses them.

But to me, and maybe it's just me, I prefer tracks to be available when they make sense, meaning you have trains to use with them...

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 06 Apr 2012 12:05

I see your point, but I for example like to have tracks available so I can do other stuff with them, sometimes you do not want tracks to be accessible or something else.

I will consider the parameter later, I do not intend to do parameter settings anytime soon. Thanks for feedback anyway!
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Digitalfox
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 704
Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by Digitalfox » 06 Apr 2012 12:12

V453000 :) wrote:I see your point, but I for example like to have tracks available so I can do other stuff with them, sometimes you do not want tracks to be accessible or something else.

I will consider the parameter later, I do not intend to do parameter settings anytime soon. Thanks for feedback anyway!
Please don't take my feedback as negative one, I think your set has a lot of potential and quite honestly I want to use it my games :)

It's just a matter of taste ;)

Just one more thing, I don't know if the cargo values of your wagons are final, but may I suggest a increase on the overall capacity of them? 10 units or 20 seems a bit low :)

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: MADMEN EVERYWHERE! [NUTS Unrealistic Train Set]

Post by V453000 :) » 06 Apr 2012 12:26

I love and appreciate any feedback ;)

The wagons have higher capacities, just the purchase menu is wrong. It is wrong in many other cases as well.. for now.

(will be fixed in next relese, as well as some alignments of intercity trains)
ImageImageImage

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest