[UNIV] Truck And Bus Lots [Current Version 0.1]

Find and discuss all the latest NewGRF releases for TTDPatch and OpenTTD here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7294
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

[UNIV] Truck And Bus Lots [Current Version 0.1]

Post by kamnet »

Truck And Bus Lots
current version 0.1

Hoorah! My first NewGRF! Not really, I can't claim much originality in this. The graphics are modified truck and bus station bays from OpenGFX, and the code is slightly modified from RobC's Roofed Lorry Bay and Roofed Bus Bay.

This is just a simple NewGRF that removes the walls, fences and buildings from the truck and bus station bays so that you have an open lot. Why would somebody do this? Because I tend to play with a lot of NewGRFs that offer buildings such as Industrial Station Renewal, and the walled-off / fenced-off stations just do not look as good with them, in my opinion. They now appear to be part of a large, flat lot with multiple parking spaces.
Attachments
Trucks waiting at a factory to be loaded with goods from a loading dock and gantry cranes.
Trucks waiting at a factory to be loaded with goods from a loading dock and gantry cranes.
sc1.png (75.27 KiB) Viewed 9153 times
Buses coming and going from a busy suburban bus station.
Buses coming and going from a busy suburban bus station.
sc2.png (37.74 KiB) Viewed 9153 times
truckbuslot.tar
(25.5 KiB) Downloaded 992 times
Last edited by kamnet on 03 Jan 2011 07:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2831
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by Zephyris »

Looks like a neat and tidy implementation of a simple but good idea, great work! I hope we can see more graphics from you in the future :)

Timmaexx
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 301
Joined: 03 Jan 2009 17:55

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by Timmaexx »

:D I'm surprised, that nobody else did that before!
Thank you very much and I'm awaiing the enxt releases ;)

User avatar
Bob_Mackenzie
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 823
Joined: 25 Mar 2010 13:36

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by Bob_Mackenzie »

What a neat idea

oberhümer
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1285
Joined: 23 Oct 2009 19:35
Location: Here and there, sometime or another

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by oberhümer »

Might look better with at least a little bit of platform around/behind the parking spaces though.
--- Licenses: GNU LGPL, version 2 or newer, code and graphics. CC-By-SA, graphics, alternatively. If you're using any, I'd like to hear about it --- Call them "track types" ---
--- Mostly inactive developer for: NuTracks - Central European Train Set --- Running/compiling for: Linux (x86) - Android - Windows (32/64 bit) ---

--- Need a file packer? 7-Zip --- BOINC - use your computing power to benefit science --- Block trackers, not ads --- Unix in dispersible pellets, the formula for the future. ---

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7294
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by kamnet »

oberhümer wrote:Might look better with at least a little bit of platform around/behind the parking spaces though.
If I can ever get my head around the code, I'd eventually like to be able to set parameters that enable/disable the display of the walls & structures, or offer alternate graphics for both. Or maybe offer asphalt from other road sets.

User avatar
SAC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1519
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 16:35
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by SAC »

Indeed a very good idea... :))
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own

User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2097
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by Railwaymodeler »

I like this idea.

Before I go to use it, does it replace the default drive-in stations, or can it exist alongside the default ones. I am not sure if more new bus stations is possible yet, but that would be nice.

In most of my games, drive in stations are only used for major bus route hubs, and putting a small train station non track building next to this kind of station, would be most realistic. Sort of like the old Greyhound stops from the 1940s and before.
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7294
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by kamnet »

It only replaces the two-bay truck/lorry and bus terminals. The drive-thru stations are not replaced.

If I ever get time, I may expand on this by providing alternate graphics to go over the lots to create the effect of garages or other covered areas where vehicles would park while being loaded. Or perhaps station tiles with similar graphics that hang over the empty lots.

User avatar
Sensation Lover
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 338
Joined: 26 Feb 2009 09:17
Skype: Aron Bogdan Silviu
Location: Torino, Italy
Contact:

Re: Truck And Bus Lots

Post by Sensation Lover »

I think this grf together with another one i saw here (recently released), can't remember the name sorry, but it's regarding the fences, can give a nice eyecandy look to the game. i mean that, with this one you can create a big bus terminal (e.g. 3x1) and put the fences around it so it can realy gain a bus terminal graphics. Maybe if somebody understand my idea can place some pics with the permission and credits to the grfs authors.
Anyway, kamnet, nice job and thanks!

edit: found it, it's the "DWE - Station/NewObject tiles" of Dante123
I was in:
Austria,Belgium,Brazil,China,France,Germany,Hungary,Indonesia,Italy,Luxemburg,Malaysia,Mexico,Netherlands,Norway,Panamà,Poland,Romania,
Saudi Arabia,Singapore,Slovenia,Spain,Switzerland,Thailand,U.K.,Ukraine,U.S.A.

User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2097
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: [UNIV] Truck And Bus Lots [Current Version 0.1]

Post by Railwaymodeler »

Been playing with this GRF now for a little while. Works rather well, and looks good as major bus terminals at train stations and airports.

I will have to add some screenshots soon too, but it won't be till at least tonight.
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7294
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [UNIV] Truck And Bus Lots [Current Version 0.1]

Post by kamnet »

My next update I'll be replacing the yellow sprite on the front of the tile with 1CC colors. I'm also looking to obtain permission from a few other road sets to use specific tiles to match them.

User avatar
Railwaymodeler
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2097
Joined: 23 Dec 2004 18:31
Location: Wisconsin, USA

Re: [UNIV] Truck And Bus Lots [Current Version 0.1]

Post by Railwaymodeler »

Ooooh, brick surface lot would be very nice for matching the early US road set!

Anyway, I played OTTD for a while, and here is what I came up with:
Three double deck buses in the bus terminal adjacent to the train station. Also seen is the VAST station tiles.
Three double deck buses in the bus terminal adjacent to the train station. Also seen is the VAST station tiles.
rail_bus_teminal.png (75.19 KiB) Viewed 7557 times
Without Trains America Stops

Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests