Really early versions of TTO

Talk about the classic original version of Transport Tycoon.
Post Reply
User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Really early versions of TTO

Post by Roman » 21 Oct 2003 21:38

Does anybody have a really very early version of TTO ? Trial or full game. I mean before 1.03.107. I have just found a trial version on an old pc magazine's cd-rom, which distinguishes quite a lot from the final version of TTO, even the graphics do! Now I'm wondering whether there's even an older one around.
Image

User avatar
Bart
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1110
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 13:43
Location: Stompetoren, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bart » 21 Oct 2003 21:43

I've been searching for it as well, just to check out the overflow error tunnel cheat :) Works in the earliest demo though.

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=3407

Check this download thread for the earliest TTO I know off...
[url=CALLTO://Sgreehder]Image[/url]

User avatar
lynsey
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1258
Joined: 27 Nov 2002 18:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by lynsey » 21 Oct 2003 23:19

Can you find out what version they are without actually playing it? If they were sold as different versions I would take a guess mine is one of the earlier versions judging by the price they charged me for it, I had a demo to go with it, they are both at home where I am not for a while, but if they're worth looking out I will.

Grunt
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 449
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 20:22
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Contact:

Post by Grunt » 21 Oct 2003 23:47

Bart wrote:...just to check out the overflow error tunnel cheat...
Tunnel overflow cheat, eh? Well, I may not have a version earlier than 1.03.107, but the version I do have (1.06.011 last I checked) does. Gimme a shout if you want to see that in action. :P
Grunt
(aka Stephan Grunt, CEO of Grunt Transport Inc. since 1994.)

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 22 Oct 2003 10:27

That would be very nice, lynsey. I'm looking forward to it!
I can't think of any way to find out the version without playing it though...

The TTOs listed at http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=3407 are version 1.06.011. And the first link is dead...
Image

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24035
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Re: Really early versions of TTO

Post by orudge » 22 Oct 2003 10:29

Lord wrote:Does anybody have a really very early version of TTO ? Trial or full game. I mean before 1.03.107. I have just found a trial version on an old pc magazine's cd-rom, which distinguishes quite a lot from the final version of TTO, even the graphics do! Now I'm wondering whether there's even an older one around.
Can you e-mail that to me please, or attach it here since it's just a demo?

top_cat19
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 394
Joined: 07 Aug 2003 17:33
Location: On tt-forums.net

Re: Really early versions of TTO

Post by top_cat19 » 22 Oct 2003 13:26

orudge wrote:
Lord wrote:Does anybody have a really very early version of TTO ? Trial or full game. I mean before 1.03.107. I have just found a trial version on an old pc magazine's cd-rom, which distinguishes quite a lot from the final version of TTO, even the graphics do! Now I'm wondering whether there's even an older one around.
Can you e-mail that to me please, or attach it here since it's just a demo?
I'd quite like to play that on my DOS emulator, sounds cool.
TTO is quite slow though, but i don't care :lol:
Currently Playing: Image
My forums: My Forums

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Sure, folks.

Post by Roman » 22 Oct 2003 15:31

Here you go:
Attachments
ttodemo1.03.107.zip
TTO trial version 1.03.107
(775.83 KiB) Downloaded 983 times
Image

top_cat19
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 394
Joined: 07 Aug 2003 17:33
Location: On tt-forums.net

Post by top_cat19 » 22 Oct 2003 15:35

Nice, that is one cool version. Ill download it in a min on my emulator
Currently Playing: Image
My forums: My Forums

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 22 Oct 2003 16:25

Before I forget it: Here are some screenshots. Enjoy! :D
Attachments
older intro
older intro
ttodemo103107_1.png (11.56 KiB) Viewed 26636 times
the menu
the menu
ttodemo103107_2.png (21.46 KiB) Viewed 26630 times
(c) C.S.
(c) C.S.
ttodemo103107_3.png (70.6 KiB) Viewed 26633 times
Image

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 22 Oct 2003 16:26

Another one.
Attachments
different building graphics
different building graphics
ttodemo103107_4.gif (104.08 KiB) Viewed 26634 times
Image

top_cat19
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 394
Joined: 07 Aug 2003 17:33
Location: On tt-forums.net

Post by top_cat19 » 22 Oct 2003 16:27

WHOA! Those are nice screenshots!
Currently Playing: Image
My forums: My Forums

User avatar
lynsey
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1258
Joined: 27 Nov 2002 18:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by lynsey » 22 Oct 2003 18:23

I'll try and remember then, it's small enough I can just upload it somewhere or other and you can let me know if it's any good.

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24035
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge » 22 Oct 2003 20:37

Differences I've noticed:

- It freezes a lot. Or maybe that's just Virtual PC. I can't be bothered to reboot into Windows 98 right now as it's so unstable right now (well, most of the time actually).

- You can't enlarge the map window

- You can't skip the intro screens

- There's a separate "Sell Vehicle" button in the vehicle windows

Once I restart the game, I'll see if I can find more differences. (It seemed to freeze when I paused it).

More differences:

- There are no banks or oil wells. There are oil rigs, though.

- You can't drag to place rail.

Oh, beep this. I'm going to make a bootable floppy and stick it in my laptop. One moment...

Back again:

- You can't navigate the map with the arrow keys

- The Jinty-class (Steam) is called the 'Drummond M7' and looks different.

- The Valuable van is called the "Bullion Van" and carries "20 tonnes of bullion". Maybe I'm thick, but what's bullion?

Hmmm, unfortunately, I can't get into the road vehicle, ship or aircraft "new vehicles" page, because it's a demo. Hmmm...

Edit #4 or so: the road vehicles don't appear to have 'brand names': well, the AI's grain trucks are just called "Grain Truck".

Edit #5:

- The airport hangar for small airports looks like the one for large airports
- The first plane is called "Old Plane", and carries 40 passengers instead of 25

Edit #6:

- Monorail does appear to exist. I don't know what the monorail loco is called though: the X2001 doesn't exist (or isn't called that, at any rate)

Edit #8 (#7 was to update something else):

- Saved games are saved with a .SAV extension, and have a different checksum to that of 'normal' TTO games

Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink » 22 Oct 2003 22:15

orudge wrote:- The Valuable van is called the "Bullion Van" and carries "20 tonnes of bullion". Maybe I'm thick, but what's bullion?
Gold!

User avatar
Lilman424
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2743
Joined: 20 Oct 2002 14:55
Location: Georgia
Contact:

Post by Lilman424 » 22 Oct 2003 22:48

Gold bars, to be exact.

Code: Select all

     __
the /__\ things
Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction. - Albert Einstein

User avatar
Flavius
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1531
Joined: 22 Apr 2003 03:55
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

Post by Flavius » 23 Oct 2003 02:07

Gold or silver in bars or ingots. :idea:

User avatar
WildStrings
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 66
Joined: 01 Jan 2003 11:02
Location: Tallinn, Estonia

Post by WildStrings » 23 Oct 2003 06:27

Monorail does appear to exist. I don't know what the monorail loco is called though: the X2001 doesn't exist (or isn't called that, at any rate)
No, it does NOT appear to exist ;) There is, however, the "Build monorail" string, but graphics are missing from the .GRF both for the monorail locomotive and the tracks.
Last edited by WildStrings on 23 Oct 2003 13:48, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
lynsey
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1258
Joined: 27 Nov 2002 18:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by lynsey » 23 Oct 2003 10:33

Are you sure there's no monorail in it? I seem to remember it but maybe I'm getting muddled with TTD seeing as it has to be the best part of 10 years since I played TTO.

User avatar
orudge
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 24035
Joined: 26 Jan 2001 20:18
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
Contact:

Post by orudge » 23 Oct 2003 11:02

There's monorail in TTO, but not in this early TTO demo.

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon (Original)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests