Romania in OpenTTD

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 02 Mar 2009 17:50

Romanian Train Set

Hi, this is a project to create a "Romanian Train Set" for TTDPatch & OpenTTD and maybe a Romanian Station Set
I have created already a few stripes, and i got some from others, but i can`t do all, for this project to prospare, i need your support, of corse if your interested
if some work gets done you can download the grf from this post or the Romtrain wiki
View the Romanian Train Set wiki called Romtrain page to see what is need to be done at this link: http://wiki.openttd.org/wiki/index.php/Romtrain

Announcement the Romanian Train Set (RTS) by Batti5 and Road Vehicles in Romania (RVR) by Cudar is planing a co-operation.
This Topic whill be well be the comun project base if the two authors aggree on It.
Plus: do to a change in the plans, the RTS set will only be avalabile in OpenTTD, thill future plan change.
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 03 Mar 2009 18:03

The first Part of the Romanian Train Set is here,

The LE 5100 Class 41
Romtrain_v0.1_le5100cl41w.GRF
(2.51 KiB) Downloaded 632 times
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 03 Mar 2009 19:28

Feedback is welcome.

User avatar
NukeBuster
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 222
Joined: 04 Jan 2006 18:16
Location: Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by NukeBuster » 04 Mar 2009 02:11

You should think about uploading the grf to BANANAS. You'll most certainly get some downloads then.
NukeBuster

Transport Empire: The Transport Empire Linux effort
Join the Transport Empire IRC channel: [url]irc://irc.oftc.net/transportempire[/url] !

OpenTTD patch(es): Password at join

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 04 Mar 2009 16:39

But if i upload, how i upload the next version?
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9267
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by planetmaker » 04 Mar 2009 16:45

By giving it a higher version number. Otherwise exactly the same way

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9267
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by planetmaker » 04 Mar 2009 19:58

I had a brief look at it. Looks like a nice engine :). It has still a few alignment issues IMHO:
Oberheim Transport, 05-04-1970.png
Oberheim Transport, 05-04-1970.png (3.8 KiB) Viewed 18809 times
the train seems slightly off to the lower left and a bit too detached from the wagon
Oberheim Transport, 01-04-1970.png
Oberheim Transport, 01-04-1970.png (9.45 KiB) Viewed 18808 times
the train seems slightly off to the lower left and kind crashing into the wagon
Oberheim Transport, 08-04-1970.png
Oberheim Transport, 08-04-1970.png (6.69 KiB) Viewed 18816 times
seems like the engine could use one or two pixels more space between itself and the wagon.

User avatar
Cudar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 May 2008 16:06
Location: Oradea, Romania
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Cudar » 05 Mar 2009 17:29

I code the grf, and Batti5 draws. First time I coded train. I correct the mistakes in the next version. :wink: Thanks the observation!
And I am working on the first bus. The road vehicles in Romania redrawing project started (redrawing 5 vehicles, not published yet)
KG Studios Cudar (latest news about RVR) - Romania in OTTD tt-forums topic - Romania in OTTD website - RomTrain Graphics
Creator of the Road Vehicles in Romania set
Image
ImageImage

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 06 Mar 2009 18:30

[Info] The RomTrain web page Updated [Link: http://wiki.openttd.org/wiki/index.php/Romtrain]
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.

Dopefish_lives
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 18:18

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Dopefish_lives » 09 Mar 2009 21:26

I want to help too! i'm from romania and i am a good 3d modeller, si i think i can help. my question is: do you plan to do some road vehicles too?

also on this trainset we should make the subways found in Bucharest too!

User avatar
Cudar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 May 2008 16:06
Location: Oradea, Romania
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Cudar » 10 Mar 2009 16:50

Yes, we do road vehicles too. I'm developing them: Road vehicles in Romania. But I don't know what to say about subways... If you could encode subways, you would be able to code trams, and you should make trams, because they are more general then the subways (the subways are only in Bucharest). If you want to help me in drawing I let you, or if you have nice ideas, I listen to them. I knew that you would help use (I knew that you are from Romania). :wink:
KG Studios Cudar (latest news about RVR) - Romania in OTTD tt-forums topic - Romania in OTTD website - RomTrain Graphics
Creator of the Road Vehicles in Romania set
Image
ImageImage

Dopefish_lives
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 18:18

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Dopefish_lives » 10 Mar 2009 18:15

ok my idea about the subways is simple. replace monorail or maglev with a metro line newgrf (that has a third, red electrified rail on the bottom. AFAIK something like this is already made?). i might give the subways a go if you wish.

another idea, after we finish the busses/trucks and trains: we should try making some buildings too. but this in a next episode i guess.
Last edited by Dopefish_lives on 10 Mar 2009 18:22, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Cudar
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 98
Joined: 05 May 2008 16:06
Location: Oradea, Romania
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Cudar » 10 Mar 2009 18:19

If you're able to make the subways, do it! Somebody already tried it. Here is the topic somewhere on the forum...
KG Studios Cudar (latest news about RVR) - Romania in OTTD tt-forums topic - Romania in OTTD website - RomTrain Graphics
Creator of the Road Vehicles in Romania set
Image
ImageImage

Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Batti5 » 10 Mar 2009 19:42

[Info] The RomTrain web page Updated [Link: http://wiki.openttd.org/wiki/index.php/Romtrain]
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by FooBar » 10 Mar 2009 21:51

Dopefish_lives wrote:AFAIK something like this is already made?
Yes, the metro track set is available from the content server and replaces monorail with a third rail powered railroad. Third rail is not red but yellow though.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Purno » 12 Mar 2009 07:41

FooBar wrote:
Dopefish_lives wrote:AFAIK something like this is already made?
Yes, the metro track set is available from the content server and replaces monorail with a third rail powered railroad. Third rail is not red but yellow though.
Or at the website of the 2ccSet which can be found via GRFCrawler or Linkage. All links you need are in my signature (feels good to be able to say that quite frequently :mrgreen: )
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

Dopefish_lives
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 18:18

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Dopefish_lives » 14 Mar 2009 18:26

here is is: ASTRA Subway. years active: 1977 - present.
max speed 80-100km/h.
this sould be articulated like metro camel DMU for example. front of the train is the locomotive. they sould only be added two at the time. optimal number of wagons: 6. capacity: 160 pasangers per wagon.

can you guys please get me hints on how i should render this to fit tycoon's engine? thanks!
Attachments
astra_metrou_1.jpg
astra_metrou_1.jpg (137.22 KiB) Viewed 17688 times
Last edited by Dopefish_lives on 18 Mar 2009 15:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Purno » 15 Mar 2009 08:54

In general the original TT sprite sizes are too small to have vehicles rendered. We've done experiments with that in the past. When you'd have rendered one of these trains, you'd still need to pixel-paint to improve the sprites. Usually drawing them for scratch gives the best result, IMO.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

Dopefish_lives
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 191
Joined: 24 Mar 2007 18:18

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by Dopefish_lives » 15 Mar 2009 10:21

hell, i don't know if drawing them for scratch is an option. there's gotta be ANOTHER way!

User avatar
CommanderZ
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1872
Joined: 07 Apr 2008 18:29
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Romania in OpenTTD

Post by CommanderZ » 15 Mar 2009 10:28

Dopefish_lives wrote:hell, i don't know if drawing them for scratch is an option. there's gotta be ANOTHER way!
Meybe there could be use for them in the extra zoom levels thread. They are really gorgeous :)

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests