[Univ] Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) (v1.0)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

[Univ] Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) (v1.0)

Post by Zephyris » 11 Jul 2008 23:28

Futuristic urban suspended monorails (to replace tramways).
Includes full graphical replacement of tramways with monorail track and 4 articulated vehicles to use them.

Credits:
Station and depot graphics adapted from the openGFX project by FooBar and athanasios respectively. All coding and other graphics by me (Zephyris).

Known Graphical Bugs:

Graphics look glitchy with wooden and tubular bridges (which is unavoidable)
Tunnels look very dodgy (unavoidable without lowering the monorail vehicles)
Some (tiny) alignment glitches with NE and NW slope track (which I can't be bothered to fix!)
Vehicles do not line up nicely in the depot window (again unavoidable without lowering the monorail vehicles)
No specialised graphics for the track in the half tiles for turning (unavoidable due to the way catenary graphics work)

Other Bugs:
Strings ("Tramway construction" etc.) will appear as tram-specific text in OpenTTD (strings cannot be reliably changed in OpenTTD)
Autorail icon and cursor not altered (on the todo list)

Instructions:
Load like any other GRF, you are advised to unload any other tram GRFs to prevent clashes. This set uses vehicle IDs 44, 45, 46 and 47 (these obey the reccomended road vehicle ID usage). Do not use with any other tramway graphics! Vehicles are available from 1980 to 2080 in the temperate, sub-Arctic and sub-tropical climates.
Usage is exactly the same as tramways and trams, simply build the track as normal. NOTE: like tramways vehicles cannot overtake or turn around without a half tile of track for turning in, there are no specialised track graphics for these half tiles, so be careful as they are not very obvious!
If the tracks are blocking you view you can make them transparent by toggling catenary transparency.

Creating your own Vehicles:
Coding is exactly the same as normal trams but with altered offsets. All vehicles use standard (original graphics) sized sprites, feel free to decode and copy the offsets if you want to create vehicles for these tracks!

*edit* 17/07/2008
Added info about making tracks transparent
Corrected statements about restrictions in OpenTTD
Attachments
susmon preview huge.png
(165.7 KiB) Downloaded 1828 times
susmon preview large.png
susmon preview large.png (23.67 KiB) Viewed 44641 times
susmon1.1.grf
(70.87 KiB) Downloaded 6406 times
Last edited by Zephyris on 18 Oct 2009 15:17, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 11 Jul 2008 23:34

And this all brings me to my first question... Why do the turning tiles (half tiles) for tramway catenarys not have their own graphics? It would look better if they did, and it would help this set if there was :D

DonRazzi
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 216
Joined: 07 Sep 2006 21:44
Location: Western Germany, KBS 395

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by DonRazzi » 11 Jul 2008 23:35

Tupperwal? Nope. Wuppertal!
Best OTTD Screenshots in 2007 !!! Image Image

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by athanasios » 11 Jul 2008 23:48

Isn't the track and pillars too thick?
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
kettel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 509
Joined: 02 Jun 2008 23:08
Location: California

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by kettel » 11 Jul 2008 23:56

Thanks A LOT Zephyris, great job! Works fine in OpenTTD.

P.S. Is that just a coinsidence you posted it after I suggested it? :)

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 12 Jul 2008 00:01

Isn't the track and pillars too thick?
Mmm, probably, I may shrink them (particularly the pillars) at some point...
P.S. Is that just a coinsidence you posted it after I suggested it?
Yup, total coincidence! Unfortunately the suggestion you put forward is nowhere near as simple as you thought, but you can enjoy these graphics till its done...

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 12 Jul 2008 00:35

And just to show what the turning track half tiles I would like to include (but can't) and what the matching pieces would look like for the tramway catenary. Does anyone have any info on why the game doesn't support and the original tramway graphics do not use these catenary tiles?
Note: original tram track graphics by PikkaBird, these have been modified from them without permission. DO NOT use them without permission!
Attachments
End Pieces Tram.png
End Pieces Tram.png (2.06 KiB) Viewed 44550 times
End Pieces Monorail 8bpp.png
End Pieces Monorail 8bpp.png (3.96 KiB) Viewed 44554 times

Rubidium
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 3815
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 19:15

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Rubidium » 12 Jul 2008 00:55

Zephyris wrote:Strings ("Tramway construction" etc.) will appear as tram-specific text in OpenTTD (strings cannot be changed in OpenTTD)
Technically you can change OpenTTD strings, but OpenTTD does not guarantee that strings will remain at the same ID.
Zephyris wrote:Autorail icon and cursor not altered in OpenTTD (these sprites can only be altered at the same time as all the new GUI sprites)
This is wrong. With action 5 you can replace a subset of sprites at *any* offset for OpenTTDs flags and GUI sprites. You have to set the 7th bit of the type to do that though.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 12 Jul 2008 01:18

With action 5 you can replace a subset of sprites at *any* offset for OpenTTDs flags and GUI sprites.
I did not know this! I shall do this!

User avatar
minime
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 339
Joined: 18 Jan 2004 10:02
Skype: dan.masek
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by minime » 12 Jul 2008 04:15

Rubidium wrote:With action 5 you can replace a subset of sprites at *any* offset for OpenTTDs flags and GUI sprites. You have to set the 7th bit of the type to do that though.
Isn't that bit 7 (which would be the 8th bit?) -- at least that's what the wiki claims...
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. --Albert Einstein
Image Image Image

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by DaleStan » 16 Jul 2008 02:48

Zephyris wrote:I did not know this! I shall do this!
What have I said about reading the documentation when it gets updated?
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Timitry
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 01 Oct 2004 15:28
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Timitry » 16 Jul 2008 06:30

Is there any chance to make this a second kind of tramways, so that you can still use the old ones & this one together? Would be even cooler :-)
But looks great, anyway :)

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by FooBar » 16 Jul 2008 08:24

Somehow I missed this topic altogether, until now that is ;)

This is very awesome, Zephyris! How are you able to come up with ideas like this? Very nice indeed!

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4924
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by andythenorth » 16 Jul 2008 10:10

Zephyris, this is very cool. :wink:

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6564
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Redirect Left » 16 Jul 2008 15:05

Very very awesome work.
Zephyris wrote:
Isn't the track and pillars too thick?
Mmm, probably, I may shrink them (particularly the pillars) at some point...
Nah, they look pretty decent, considering how heavy the stuff will be, they have to be thick to support it all ;)
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by athanasios » 16 Jul 2008 22:25

But they block too much and so cause visibility issues.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 16 Jul 2008 23:28

But they block too much and so cause visibility issues.
In some ways this was kind of the idea! To make nice contested futuristic cities... It does make visibility harder, but transparency is your friend! I do want chunky pillars, but they may be a bit too chunky at the moment.
Zephyris, this is very cool.
:D Thanks!
This is very awesome, Zephyris! How are you able to come up with ideas like this? Very nice indeed!
I try to do interesting things with my GRFs, push for new ideas and potential new features and trying to stick right to the cutting edge!
Is there any chance to make this a second kind of tramways, so that you can still use the old ones & this one together?
Sadly not in the near future. There is a general aim to add new transport types (newGRF routes/newroutes) but I don't think it ever really got off the ground in TTDPatch or OpenTTD.
What have I said about reading the documentation when it gets updated?
That its easy to miss things when you are learning how to do them for the first time? But yes, I have found it in the documentation now so will be able to update it without pestering for help.

audigex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1919
Joined: 09 Dec 2007 21:28
Contact:

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by audigex » 17 Jul 2008 00:16

If they can be made translucent and transparent, I'm all for the current tracks (although maybe a shade thinner)

Without the ability to see through them, however, they'll get in the way too much for me :(
Jon

User avatar
Zephyris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2826
Joined: 16 May 2007 16:59

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by Zephyris » 17 Jul 2008 09:43

Suspended monorail tracks are made transparent with catenary graphics...
Attachments
Monorail Transparency.png
(109.57 KiB) Downloaded 563 times

dandan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 414
Joined: 17 Feb 2008 23:01

Re: Urban Suspended Monorail (Tramway Replacement) v1.0 (Jul 08)

Post by dandan » 20 Jul 2008 07:40

Rubidium wrote: Technically you can change OpenTTD strings, but OpenTTD does not guarantee that strings will remain at the same ID.
Fair enough, but is there a list of those IDs? Specifically, I would like to change the "Maglev Construction" group of strings (for the Japan Set). We currently use the IDs on the TTDPatch Wiki which only work in Patch. (Sorry for the OT post).

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests