Old Wagons, New Cargos (1.1 27th Aug 08)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Old Wagons, New Cargos (1.1 27th Aug 08)

Post by PikkaBird »

By request of DredFurst, I have created a grf that allows the default wagons to be refitted to new cargos. You can download it here.

(This thread is mainly so I have something to link grfcrawler to).
Last edited by PikkaBird on 27 Aug 2008 08:47, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by athanasios »

Thanks Pikka. Nice idea.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

User avatar
Gremnon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1517
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 12:23
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Gremnon »

QQ - does this work with OTTD too?
Just checking.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by DaleStan »

I'm still fond of the "Try it and see" method. I suggest you use that, rather than waiting for an answer.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by PikkaBird »

Gremnon wrote:QQ - does this work with OTTD too?
Just checking.
Yes.

Circeus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 181
Joined: 07 Jun 2008 21:26

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Circeus »

Either I did something wrong (maybe renaming the file wasn't such a good idea), or I'm running into something:
Attachments
Is that normal?
Is that normal?
zzzzz.gif (5.33 KiB) Viewed 35221 times

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11911
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Ameecher »

Renaming the file won't affect it. What version are you using and have you got any other .grfs loaded?
Image

Circeus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 181
Joined: 07 Jun 2008 21:26

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Circeus »

I'd been using the beta. I tried switching to the nightly (there are a few other things I wanted to be able to do), which, although it caused this issue to disappear, is causing other trouble (and I still haven't figured how you actually get the refit done).

voila1
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 28
Joined: 29 Apr 2007 15:05

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by voila1 »

to refit to different cargo's when the train is in the depot there is a little box where the "turn around order" is on the train window you press that and pick the cargo you want
or if you were being fussy you could ctrl click on the wagon and refit the wagon that way :mrgreen:
Image

Circeus
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 181
Joined: 07 Jun 2008 21:26

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Circeus »

Yeah, I eventually noticed that only some wagons could be refit >__>

Obviously I still have much to learn

voila1
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 28
Joined: 29 Apr 2007 15:05

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by voila1 »

hehe atleast you haven't managed to bugger it so it wont load :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11911
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by Ameecher »

voila1 wrote:hehe atleast you haven't managed to bugger it so it wont load :mrgreen:
Is that, I can't get it to load can I have some help? If so, I'm ignoring it.
Image

voila1
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 28
Joined: 29 Apr 2007 15:05

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by voila1 »

dw about that its my own personal project :wink:
Image

da.phreak
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Jan 2007 11:04

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by da.phreak »

Thanks, this was exactly what I was searching for. I'm using OTTD and it works too. Maybe this should be made sticky, so it's easier to find for users trying ECS.

User avatar
FooBar
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6559
Joined: 21 May 2007 11:47
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by FooBar »

There's an entry in grfcrawler, so I don't think a sticky is required. How many grf's are stickied anyways?

Good job on this, Pikka. I was thinking about creating such a grf myself, but fortunately you took all work out of my hands :mrgreen:

User avatar
DJ Nekkid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Nov 2006 20:33

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by DJ Nekkid »

me three
Member of the
ImageImage

DredFurst
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 06 Jun 2006 16:45
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by DredFurst »

I've been having no issues with this GRF since pikkabird made it, in 0.6.1 and in the nightlies.

alterfan
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Jul 2008 17:59
Location: Germany

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by alterfan »

I've the same problem with the "zzzz".

The solution is simple: the grf-File from "Old Wagons, New Cargos" must loaded first and then the other files. After this I've the right pics :)

quadat
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 59
Joined: 05 Aug 2008 17:04
Location: Granby (Quebec), Canada

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by quadat »

Nice job, i like it. But i cant find a refit for fruits ... am i blind ? :wink:

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: Old Wagons, New Cargos

Post by PikkaBird »

quadat wrote:Nice job, i like it. But i cant find a refit for fruits ... am i blind ? :wink:
Fruit is an original cargo in tropic, and has its own wagon. In non-tropic, I don't know. I guess I could expand the goods van to carry any "refrigerated" cargo...

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 28 guests