Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 2:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
If it is not to hard, can somebody make double decker train carriages for Maglev and other trains so you have a choice of setting your train up with normal or double decker carriages with the appropriate capacity for passengers. Also the time it will cost for passengers to get in or out of a double decker train must be longer.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 8:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
if you draw the graphics can i code it for you :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:45 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
If i knew how to draw it, i would draw a complete maglev set, but i don't. I don't even know what programs you need to draw such a set. I don't think you can just draw the sets in paint.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 10:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
well, to be honest, that is actually what most people do, draw in paint :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
You should consider checking out Purno's fine drawing tutorial, if you want to learn how to draw for ttd. It worked for me.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 12:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
I only draw in Paint (free), Paint.net (free) or occasionally The GIMP (free). As long as you stick to the pallette (note the company colours) and the right sprite dimensions it should be easy to code...

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:59 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Ok. So paint it is. So I'm going to learn how to draw a correct set with the help of Purno's fine drawing tutorial. Thanks for the link Foobar, and then if it looks good i will need a coder to code the specs. But i don't think my drawings are complete before 2007 ends because i have to work all the way to January 2.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
well, the code is _almost_ finished, with a crappy sprite... just need some finetuning.

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
figured out my flaw, but now it is actually working, it's butt ugly, and not pretty, and things, but it's a double decker wagon, with 80 passangers fitted into a steel can :)


Attachments:
doubledecker.grf [697 Bytes]
Downloaded 324 times

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Last edited by DJ Nekkid on Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 4:59 pm
Posts: 2825
Good work, your first grf is always the hardest!

_________________
GRVTS/eGRVTS --- Generic Tram Set --- UK Town Set --- zBase ---RichardWheeler.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
well, it were my second, or first-and-a-half or something... had the MX-3000 made, but not coded by myself...

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:39 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:10 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
I have tested it a bit and besides the looks :) there is 1 thing what must be changed. The price of buying the double decker rail wagon. At the moment it is cheaper then the single deck rail wagon and that can't be right. The 80 people limit per car seems plausible.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
updated with new price, it is as high as i can atm, tho only 1500$

lakie: if you read this: how can i set the price higher then ff? (action 0 property 17 is at FF)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Last edited by DJ Nekkid on Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11485
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Grandmaster wrote:
The 80 people limit per car seems plausible.


100 people is even possible. In the Netherlands a DD-AR carriage can have 108 places to sitdown + 16 flipoverbenches. Not to mention when in rushhour people can also stand up if all the sitting spaces are used. So I think approx. 150 people can travel in one of those carriages max. :)

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote

Closet troll that got locked inside and accidentally left the keys outside.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
in norway do the new subway trains have a capacity of 165 ppl including standing up spaces,per car. But this one were ment for a maglev train, and standing up on a inter city 650kmh train is unsuitable imho...

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:38 pm
Posts: 2451
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Unsuitable it is.... stoping such a train with people standing in it would be... eventful...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:26 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Poland
Mr. X wrote:
100 people is even possible. In the Netherlands a DD-AR carriage can have 108 places to sitdown + 16 flipoverbenches. Not to mention when in rushhour people can also stand up if all the sitting spaces are used. So I think approx. 150 people can travel in one of those carriages max. :)


Given that I've seen 5 people riding in a toilet (there are two toilets per car), and corridors so full that train staff didn't bother checking tickets (in Poland tickets are validated during the travel), I suppose that 150 is not really an exaggerated number... And yes... this was long distance train.

And there are places where it gets even worse:
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:51 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2005 9:08 am
Posts: 682
Location: Finland
I wish OpenTTD made a distinction between sitting down and standing up tickets. :)

_________________
#################


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:45 pm
Posts: 11485
Location: Black Mesa Research Facility - New Mexico
Mchl wrote:
Mr. X wrote:
100 people is even possible. In the Netherlands a DD-AR carriage can have 108 places to sitdown + 16 flipoverbenches. Not to mention when in rushhour people can also stand up if all the sitting spaces are used. So I think approx. 150 people can travel in one of those carriages max. :)


Given that I've seen 5 people riding in a toilet (there are two toilets per car), and corridors so full that train staff didn't bother checking tickets (in Poland tickets are validated during the travel), I suppose that 150 is not really an exaggerated number... And yes... this was long distance train.

And there are places where it gets even worse:
Image


Picture shows how you can put 250+ people in one wagon. :P

Jupix wrote:
I wish OpenTTD made a distinction between sitting down and standing up tickets. :)


But that doesn't add to realism since I never seen tickets for standing passengers. Or my knowledge of foreign trains is limited. :P

_________________
Image
Authority is something you deserve, not something you impose. -Wile E. Coyote

Closet troll that got locked inside and accidentally left the keys outside.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
Mr. X wrote:
Mchl wrote:
Mr. X wrote:
100 people is even possible. In the Netherlands a DD-AR carriage can have 108 places to sitdown + 16 flipoverbenches. Not to mention when in rushhour people can also stand up if all the sitting spaces are used. So I think approx. 150 people can travel in one of those carriages max. :)


Given that I've seen 5 people riding in a toilet (there are two toilets per car), and corridors so full that train staff didn't bother checking tickets (in Poland tickets are validated during the travel), I suppose that 150 is not really an exaggerated number... And yes... this was long distance train.

And there are places where it gets even worse:
Image


Picture shows how you can put 250+ people in one wagon. :P

I would like to see that on a 650 km/h maglev train :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.