Remove patch options for good patches

Got an idea for OpenTTD? Post it here!

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Zojj
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 17:58
Location: Vegas baby
Contact:

Remove patch options for good patches

Post by Zojj »

Some patches are very useful and don't affect gameplay; there doesn't need to be an option in the GUI. Too many settings. =)

Some that I think chould go:
Show vehicle speed in bar
always show long date in bar
show town population in town label
road vehicle queuing
allow goto depot orders
disable servicing when breakdowns set to off
nonuniform stations
allow realistically sized catchment areas
I'm on the Zoloft to keep me from killing yall

My patches: Better graphs - Train acceleration - Crash rates
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1659
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 »

Apart from the first three, all of those affect gameplay...
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
User avatar
Zojj
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 17:58
Location: Vegas baby
Contact:

Post by Zojj »

True, but the affect on gameplay is relatively minor. If hardcore original TTD fans want to turn these off they could still do it in the cfg file.
I'm on the Zoloft to keep me from killing yall

My patches: Better graphs - Train acceleration - Crash rates
User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by XeryusTC »

Zojj wrote:road vehicle queuing
Try building some 20 rvs in a single town with around 5 stations, you will notice that it will heavily affect gameplay.
Zojj wrote:disable servicing when breakdowns set to off
Try one of the #openttdcoop savegames and set this option to on, all trains will start to go to depots when they shouldn't, and cause jams because of the 400-500 trains that are on an average #openttdcoop network.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Zojj
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 17:58
Location: Vegas baby
Contact:

Post by Zojj »

I dont follow? How does making trains not go to depots make trains go to depots?
I'm on the Zoloft to keep me from killing yall

My patches: Better graphs - Train acceleration - Crash rates
SyncViews
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 38
Joined: 13 May 2007 12:31
Location: UK

Post by SyncViews »

I noticed that. Yet i always manage to play games with 500 trains with them going to depots and their ment to be like the OTTD elite.

Most of those effect gameplay or the way in which things are done and should remain optional. It's not like a few extra green or red boxes with some text next to them does any harm.
User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC »

Sorry, I meant that you had to set the option to off, my bad.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
kaan
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 399
Joined: 02 Apr 2007 20:13
Location: Nørup, Denmark

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by kaan »

XeryusTC wrote:
Zojj wrote:disable servicing when breakdowns set to off
Try one of the #openttdcoop savegames and set this option to on, all trains will start to go to depots when they shouldn't, and cause jams because of the 400-500 trains that are on an average #openttdcoop network.
I think the point is that when breakdowns is set to off this isn't a choice at all. It should simply be on as a part of the breakdowns option.

Code: Select all

if (YouAreHappyAndYouKnowIt) {
    ClapYourHands();
}
sc79
Director
Director
Posts: 586
Joined: 22 Feb 2005 09:51

Post by sc79 »

While I don't agree with your examples , I do agree that theres probably quite a few settings in the config window that could easily be moved to the config file.
User avatar
Zojj
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 27 Apr 2007 17:58
Location: Vegas baby
Contact:

Post by Zojj »

Does anyone disable those patches? If you do then yes the option is necessary and should not be removed.

My whole point is that I don't think anyone disables them. And if they do, the #openttdcoop game asplodes. =)
I'm on the Zoloft to keep me from killing yall

My patches: Better graphs - Train acceleration - Crash rates
SyncViews
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 38
Joined: 13 May 2007 12:31
Location: UK

Post by SyncViews »

I play with serviceing on and breakdowns off. Partly as it ensures that within half a year of a new train coming out all my trains are upgraded without me having to do more than set the auto replace.
And it's a challenge to have 500 trains servince without queueing onto the main line (where as breakdowns are just plain annoying they effectivly half the number of trains you can have on a line)
User avatar
d37373
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 12:11

Post by d37373 »

I quite often play with breakdowns off but servicing on. Apart from the realism, it also means I can set an autoreplace order and just forget about it, knowing that my trains will get replaced eventually. Also, I usually turn off 'always show long date'.

If they were just in the .cfg, most people would not realise they were options at all. You are right that the patches window is getting quite busy - but it only needs to be looked at once per game so that doesn't matter too much.
User avatar
RainierWatcher
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 244
Joined: 14 Jan 2007 15:10
Location: West Norfolk, England

Post by RainierWatcher »

d37373 wrote:I quite often play with breakdowns off but servicing on. Apart from the realism, it also means I can set an autoreplace order and just forget about it, knowing that my trains will get replaced eventually. Also, I usually turn off 'always show long date'.
I now for a fact that the newer versions send vehicles to depot for servicing when the are to be replaced anyway, whether servicing is enabled or not.
Ways of Preventing Death:
* Don't breathe air. Seriously. Everyone born before 1870 breathed the substance at some point in their life and every one of them is dead today. A coincidence? I think not.
Taken from uncyclopedia
Batti5
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 06 Aug 2007 17:37

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by Batti5 »

New to Options, Disable all patches & Restore Default
Wish to earn some money for free just by viewing some advertisment? Click this banner for more info.
Image
It is Legal.
User avatar
burty
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 326
Joined: 16 Jun 2006 17:18
Location: Somwhere near a computer

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by burty »

yes maybe some patch settings can be removed maybe have a poll on here as to the ones that can be removed and maybe say the top 2 or 3 get removed.

Slightly OT, the vehicle area looks a bit packed with options is it possible that they could maybe be seperated into
Boats
Trains
Planes
RVs
As it would be easier to navigate AND allow more space on each one for more additional patches in the future?
DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by DaleStan »

Congratulations. You managed to dredge up a topic over a year old with a completely off-topic post.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser
User avatar
burty
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 326
Joined: 16 Jun 2006 17:18
Location: Somwhere near a computer

Re: Remove patch options for good patches

Post by burty »

DaleStan wrote:Congratulations. You managed to dredge up a topic over a year old with a completely off-topic post.
Was not me Stan i only answer topics that are on the first page of the forums.
Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest