Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 10:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Currently, in the desert, the town roads and the "country" roads seem to use the same sprites (199-217 in trghr.grf), whereas road tiles located on green tiles do actually use different sprites for town roads (with pavements...) and country roads.

Is there currently any way have different road sprites for the desert roads, or would it require patchwork?

Jakob


Attachments:
File comment: "rainforest" town
SCR3.png
SCR3.png [ 46.82 KiB | Viewed 4038 times ]
File comment: Desert town
SCR1.png
SCR1.png [ 57.37 KiB | Viewed 4038 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 4:58 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5306
Location: The Moon
This has already been patched, thanks to stevenh. I never did quite get around to finishing the grf that I requested this patch for. :oops:

Anyway, to get city roads in the desert, you need a grf that turns on bit 1 of Action D variable 9E.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:08 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Thanks for your reply PikkaBird, much appreciated! :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:18 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
A question, then, does this mean that it could be possible to get urban roads to appear above the snowline?

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
i would think so

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:01 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5306
Location: The Moon
But it would need to be patched, like the roads in the desert were.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
I turned on bit 1 in global variable 9E, but nothing happens. There are no city roads appearing in desert towns. Has it really been implemented, or do I need to do anything else ?

If bit 0 is turned on, I do get farmland; so something is happening.

lifeblood wrote:
... does this mean that it could be possible to get urban roads to appear above the snowline? ...

I don't think so. We have 3 sets of road sprites; city roads, below snow and above snow. But showing city roads in desert towns, is the same as showing them above the snowline too, but there would be no snow on them.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:58 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5306
Location: The Moon
It did get implemented, and it works here, but there seems to be some problem somewhere. I've got The Master on the case. ;)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 12:43 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:07 am
Posts: 759
Location: Canberra, Australia
Pikka found it, turns out you need to have ttdpbasew.grf in your newgrfw.cfg (at the top, preferably).
Without it there, the pavement (and trees) in deserts wont work.

_________________
Image
Model Trains, DCC, Photography, Homebrew DCC Booster + Computer Interface


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
Thank you, now it works.

The newly released US Roads Set v0.86 (will shortly be uploaded - check GrfCrawler for details) has been updated to allow for this feature (TTDPatch only).

You'll need to specifiy parameter 2 (set to 1); i.e. 'newgrf/UsRoadsw.grf 0 1' and consider the above advice.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:07 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Works perfectly :) ( Now we only need Openttd support too ;))


Attachments:
Andoas.png
Andoas.png [ 89.88 KiB | Viewed 3424 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:37 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:24 pm
Posts: 603
Location: Durham, UK
jacke wrote:
( Now we only need Openttd support too ;))

As of r9730 / tomorrow's nightly, you've got it. :)

_________________
No-one's more important than the earthworm.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 7:44 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 532
Location: Sweden
Thanks Maedhros :bow:

This encouraged me to learn NFO. I just created my first grf file (very simple though), and it actually works :D


Attachments:
File comment: Desert pavements in Openttd!
OpenttdDesertPavement.png
OpenttdDesertPavement.png [ 42.03 KiB | Viewed 3273 times ]
DesertPavements.grf [36 Bytes]
Downloaded 142 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ForeverForgotten and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.