Heightmaps

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Heightmaps

Post by naekko »

Now that 0.5.0 RC1 is out, I'm going to make a bunch of heightmaps.

I know anyone can do it, the instructions are stickied at the top of this forum.

But I'm wanting to do it, so if you are on a slow connection, or have a slow machine, or just don't have the time... please reply with a request!

limitations are the data that I can get from google earth.

I'll do my best to turn things around quickly, I don't imagine much demand.


--naekko

Connum
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 25 Dec 2006 17:05

Post by Connum »

As I can't run GoogleEarth on my Computer, it would be great if you could generate me a heightmap!

It's the state Baden-Württemberg of Germany I'd lile to have as a heightmap... I don't know if it's enough information if I give you a link to google maps, but let's try! ;-) (as I said I can't run GE and therefor can't give you a KMZ file!)

(google maps link)
English is not my native language, so please excuse me if I sometimes might appear a bit harsh or if I make a spelling or grammar mistake!

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

Ok so the topographical data is broken down into rectangles, that don't fit the openttd to well, unless its extra water (like around an island)

This piece of data is like 85% Baden-Württemberg, with a little piece of France to the west, and maybe a little Switzerland to the south west.

If i were to guess, this map may be a little on the high side, pictures look like there is a lake on the Germany / Swiss border.

I am attaching the original heightmap, plus the heightmap that I stretched to fit the game a little better. With the "long" version you should use a map size of 512x1024 (native) or any other size that meets those 1x2 constraints... for best results.

Let me know if you need me to work on that body of water on the south border... if thats not what you are interested in then I won't spend the time :)

--naekko
Attachments
B-Wlong.png
(314.38 KiB) Downloaded 1302 times
B-WOriginal.png
(268.71 KiB) Downloaded 1746 times

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15407
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill »

I'd need some help, cus I am not sure how to do this, and possibly you can jump in and finish this one?
Attachments
or_tj.TIF
(425.71 KiB) Downloaded 1306 times
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

Connum
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 25 Dec 2006 17:05

Post by Connum »

Thanks so far, naekko!
The lake in the south is Lake Constance! It would be nice if you could include it!

Thank you very much!
English is not my native language, so please excuse me if I sometimes might appear a bit harsh or if I make a spelling or grammar mistake!

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

To Chrill --

I guess you are just asking me to kinda fix the size and format?

here it is in 512x512


--naekko
Attachments
or_tj_481.png
or_tj_481.png (137.99 KiB) Viewed 25564 times

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

To Connum --


here are my following attempts... im sorry to say i can't seem to get it to work.

my suggestion is after starting the scenario creator, that you just hack off the right side where the lake should be :)

and fill it in with water

cheers!

--naekko

edit: this is a 512x512 map
Attachments
try2.png
(249.6 KiB) Downloaded 362 times
try3.png
try3.png (228.82 KiB) Viewed 25577 times

Connum
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 127
Joined: 25 Dec 2006 17:05

Post by Connum »

THANK YOU! :-)
English is not my native language, so please excuse me if I sometimes might appear a bit harsh or if I make a spelling or grammar mistake!

lukesolive
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 01:32
Location: UK

Re: Heightmaps

Post by lukesolive »

Could you make one of Japan?

Thanks for offering to do this.

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

yes actually i already have the data for it, i was going to do it myself, i will post it here when i finish

--naekko

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

Japan!
its the mainland only, all those little islands are not going to fit much land in this game, unless you have a really big map

its a little compressed, east-west, to make the image fit this game.

the native file is 1024x2048, so you can use that, or 512x1024, or 256x512...

the native size is the best, as far as usable land is concerned... there is a lot of water on this map (as there is in real life)


--naekko
Attachments
japan.png
(363.87 KiB) Downloaded 1451 times

Mchl
Director
Director
Posts: 611
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 15:50
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by Mchl »

I think Australia could be some fun.

lukesolive
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 01:32
Location: UK

Post by lukesolive »

arigatou gozaimasu!

now.. does anyone know where i can find japanese buildings and vehicles newgrf files??

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Post by mart3p »

The Japan Set (trains and buildings) is here. I haven't tried it in OpenTTD though, but you'll definitely need to use the newhouses branch if you want to use the buildings.
Image

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

im working on Australia and Sweden... will have them posted as soon as I finish!

--naekko

naekko
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Oct 2006 20:40

Post by naekko »

Sweden!

Ok so there is a little Denmark and a little Norway but its the nature of the beast that is google earth.

i believe there are 2 large bodies of water there in the middle of Sweden that when you import will just be very flat land (not water)... should only take a moment in the scenario editor to flood those areas.

Size of the picture is 1024x1024, so you can use any size scenario as long as both values are equal!

--naekko
Attachments
sweden.png
(406.09 KiB) Downloaded 1209 times

Mchl
Director
Director
Posts: 611
Joined: 05 Jan 2007 15:50
Location: Poland
Contact:

Post by Mchl »

:idea: Another idea:

Why not create a heightmap catalogue on OpenTTD wiki?

User avatar
doktorhonig
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1100
Joined: 22 Aug 2006 11:03
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by doktorhonig »

Since the map in the game is rotated by 45°, it's better to rotate the map too. Otherwise your scenario will be rotated, or you have to crop a lot.

TrueBrain
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1312
Joined: 31 May 2004 09:21

Post by TrueBrain »

I just had to post this here (just because I like it very much :)).

The x- and y-scale are slightly off, but the rest is pretty nice :) It is 2kx2k map btw.

Ps: it is a test map, so England isn't fully on it, and some other minor issues :)
Attachments
S_35-36_01-02.PNG
England
(252.49 KiB) Downloaded 1189 times
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.

CyberBoy
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 216
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 21:31

Post by CyberBoy »

Can you make a heightmap of the southern interior of British Colombia, Canada?

The location I am looking at in peticular is the region I live in: http://www.google.ca/maps?f=q&hl=en&q=G ... iwloc=addr

Thanks in advance.
[account deleted]

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: erdnuss and 2 guests