Narrow Gauge Nuts

Got a nice scenario or saved game for Locomotion? Post it here!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Narrow Gauge Nuts

Post by DJC » 30 Sep 2006 18:47

As people have been busy making some lovely narrow gauge trains recently, I made this scenario. You have to move 100,000 tons of coal across high mountainous terrain, then down to sea level to the powerstation, using only narrow gauge railways. No AI (of course) and no mods (I think).

Screenshots:
Image
Image
Image

Have fun!
Attachments
Narrow Gauge Nuts.zip
(250.21 KiB) Downloaded 1065 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
chevyrider
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3285
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 09:52
Location: Amersfoort The Netherlands

Post by chevyrider » 01 Oct 2006 08:36

Looking at the screens, i dont see an otherway to make money to lay tracks, then only one little town.
-
-
39 years experience with trains and still driving.
-
-

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 01 Oct 2006 08:50

well that looks hard and interesting :lol:

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 01 Oct 2006 11:07

chevyrider wrote:Looking at the screens, i dont see an otherway to make money to lay tracks, then only one little town.
Correct, the only way to generate much income is with coal, which can be done.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 01 Oct 2006 12:04

I don't think it is possible to build a line acrross the mountins without a source of income (I have played it)
EDIT: I have found one set up a small network of trams

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 01 Oct 2006 13:01

That's a good name for it.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

shas'o sodit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 38
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 15:34

Post by shas'o sodit » 01 Oct 2006 17:06

even with adding 2 large towns in the west, its still a b**** to make money

2 & a half years into, and i haven't even started the coal line

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 01 Oct 2006 18:08

My current save is alright but it took me like 15 years until I had enough money to build the line, but at least it is fully utilised now edit: I have found a few issues with vehcles in this scenario.

shas'o sodit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 38
Joined: 20 Mar 2005 15:34

Post by shas'o sodit » 02 Oct 2006 13:55

i have to say. even with my edits (lower interest, 2 more larger towns) i still haven't the money to build a line, just purely as the mountains are there, and the drops are so high, that the normal bridges won't build

i may re edit the scenario to have the coal lines on the same level

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 04 Oct 2006 16:57

Bah. Stop moaning. This scenario isn't easy, but it's do-able.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 04 Oct 2006 17:19

yep it is, however would you mind if I uploaded a 'fixed version' which has narrow gauge trains after 20 years and also a couple more trams. (It is all defult stock)

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 05 Oct 2006 16:32

PM it this way. :wink:
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 06 Oct 2006 15:43

Sent
EDIT: I have now completed the scenrio the key to this one is having long trains.
Attachments
Screenshot46.PNG
Screenshot46.PNG (116.59 KiB) Viewed 15718 times
Screenshot48.PNG
Screenshot48.PNG (57.06 KiB) Viewed 15334 times
Screenshot49.PNG
Screenshot49.PNG (106.2 KiB) Viewed 15324 times
Last edited by TheGrew on 04 Nov 2006 17:54, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 04 Nov 2006 17:49

More
Attachments
Screenshot52.PNG
Screenshot52.PNG (76.11 KiB) Viewed 15311 times
Screenshot51.PNG
Screenshot51.PNG (134.26 KiB) Viewed 15320 times
Screenshot50.PNG
Screenshot50.PNG (104.48 KiB) Viewed 15325 times

User avatar
TheGrew
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1723
Joined: 25 Jul 2004 19:25
Location: Warrington UK

Post by TheGrew » 04 Nov 2006 17:53

Even more
Attachments
Screenshot55.PNG
Screenshot55.PNG (92.14 KiB) Viewed 15285 times
Screenshot54.PNG
Screenshot54.PNG (70.87 KiB) Viewed 15287 times
Screenshot53.PNG
Screenshot53.PNG (66.26 KiB) Viewed 15288 times

User avatar
Zeak
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 666
Joined: 01 Oct 2006 08:23
Location: Sydney Australia
Contact:

Post by Zeak » 04 Nov 2006 23:55

i had a different aproach but was aable to do it. i used the money from the trams to level out where i was goin to have my track (took longer to do but more money for fast delivery). but it was cheaper to lay the line once i leveled the land just pick the easyest rout through the mountins befor you start construction. nice map
Melbourne emu pack /\Night mode for Locomotion/\SUPER SHIPS pack/
EvangelionProject ReTake
Proudly serving Australia.
Image

I'm Back after my long time off, I have now worked Google sketchup to assist me with mod creation so look forward to brand new professional looking mods

redhumvee
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 5
Joined: 16 Jul 2012 18:15

Re: Narrow Gauge Nuts

Post by redhumvee » 07 Sep 2012 21:57

i cannot see how you managed to do this in thirty years i am on 22 and have just managed to get the track to the mountains and no ware near even getting one track to the mines and you have all that going any hints please

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Narrow Gauge Nuts

Post by Hyronymus » 11 Sep 2012 20:24

redhumvee wrote:i cannot see how you managed to do this in thirty years i am on 22 and have just managed to get the track to the mountains and no ware near even getting one track to the mines and you have all that going any hints please
I cannot see how you managed to resurrect a topic that died 6 years ago. Still, if someone can help you...

User avatar
Dexterslabortory
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 22
Joined: 16 Aug 2011 22:28
Location: Somewhere in the USA.

Re: Narrow Gauge Nuts

Post by Dexterslabortory » 11 Sep 2012 20:28

it is the first topic on the page besides the stickies. :roll:

Nordic Dragon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3856
Joined: 28 Jan 2009 14:35
Location: Pembroke Dock
Contact:

Re: Narrow Gauge Nuts

Post by Nordic Dragon » 12 Sep 2012 08:28

That's because someone ended up posing into it after 6 years...

It doesn't go to the top just because it feels like it!!
Very much a retired regular poster..... If you can say that :mrgreen:
Now a moderator for a full time streamer. PM me for details.

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests