Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:25 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Additional Livery Set
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:27 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
The updated Addliv Set has liveries for the passenger, mail, valuables and goods carriages for the Chimaera maglev locomotive. The passenger and goods carriages use dual company colors, so the dual company colors grf file is required. It is available on the ttdpatch site:

http://ttdpatch.net/newgrf.html

as "Dual Company Colors".

Update 6/3/06:
Added a livery change for Chimaera locomotives not located at the ends. A new Dual CC powered carriage graphic replaces them.


Attachments:
File comment: Here's the windows GRF.
ADDLIVW.GRF [23.61 KiB]
Downloaded 1127 times
File comment: A preview of some of the cars in the Additional Livery Set.
Addliv.PNG
Addliv.PNG [ 27.86 KiB | Viewed 12653 times ]

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Last edited by Flamelord on Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:47 am, edited 15 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Those look good, how about the diagonals though?

You might be able to give DanMacK a hand with NARS ;).

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:44 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Yeah, the diagonals are next, but since these are the same in either direction, do I need 8 sprites (2 each of /, \, -, |) ? Or do I only need one of each direction?

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
They are only the same if carriages are symmetrical. Of course there is a shading difference between / and \ views so simply mirroring / to \ (v.v.) won't work well.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:49 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Oh, that's true. I guess since they aren't entirely symmetrical, I'll need to have two sprites for each orientation, one heading one direction and one heading in the other.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:52 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: Britain
For the carrages and wagons you should be able to get away with 4 views in it.
| / - \

For the engine you'll need the full 8 views
| / - \ | / - \

Those look like very nice graphics.

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:15 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Well, I was curious about my project that I've undertaken, and so I was wondering what it would take to get my livery override graphics to show up in the game. (I basically figured it out, refer to the next post to see what I still need at this point)

I'm going to go through the files tonight and figure out what I can, but if anyone can provide some further information on what I have to do, that'd be great.

PLUS, I got about this far into one of the diagonal sprites before I realized something was really wrong. I can't figure out what it is. A little help please? :oops:

EDIT: I attached all of the sprites I have drawn for it so far. No diagonals yet, so I just moved the horizontal and vertical sprites together. Passengers, 4 Mail, 4 Valuables, in descending order.

EDIT II: I think I found what I need with the details on action 3, but I'm not sure. I'm going to finish reading about it, then edit as necessary.


Attachments:
File comment: What's wrong here?
diagonalNE.PNG
diagonalNE.PNG [ 658 Bytes | Viewed 15393 times ]
File comment: The sprites so far.
sprites.PNG
sprites.PNG [ 1.98 KiB | Viewed 15381 times ]

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Last edited by Flamelord on Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:37 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Quote:
It must immediately follow the action 3 entry of the engine, or another wagon override (no other kind of sprites allowed in-between) (This requirement is no longer present starting from 2.0.1 alpha 41.)


That's from the Wiki. That's all fine and dandy, I need it to make this work. But, I can't figure out how to tell it only to replace the livery when the wagons are being pulled by the "Chimera". Anyone know how to do this?

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 1:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
You can't easily do that without also providing new (or a copy of the old) graphics for the Chimera itself.

_________________
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:00 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Ah, okay. Um, funny error messages are not my friend-

File "!" cannot be found.

Yeah, thanks, TTD, that's real descriptive. Where did my GRF pick up the filename "!"?

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 4)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
   0 * 4   08 00 00 00
   1 * 45   08 06 62 42 01 01 4d 61 67 6c 65 76 20 4c 69 76 65 72 79 20 53 65 74 00 43 6f 70 79 72 69 67 68 74 3a 20 46 6c 61 6d 65 6c 6f 72 64 00
   2 * 4   01 00 01 08
   3 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 11 9 01 8 19 -3 -10
   4 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 27 9 09 20 16 -14 -6
   5 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 59 9 01 28 12 -4 -8
   6 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 107 9 09 20 16 -14 -6
   7 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 139 9 01 8 19 -3 -10
   8 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 155 9 09 20 16 -14 -6
   9 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 187 9 01 28 12 -4 -8
   10 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 235 9 09 20 16 -14 -6
   11 * 7   02 00 F5 01 00 01 00
   12 * 7   03 00 81 2B 00 F5 00


That's just a passenger carriage replacement. I wanted to test it, but it didn't work. I'm going to add the Chimera and stuff to see if it helps. How can I get my new Chimera to replace the old one? I don't know its ID or anything like that...

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
Flamelord wrote:
File "!" cannot be found.


What programs is that message from? If it's inside TTD, your newgrfw.cfg is broken.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:17 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Yeah, it was. I changed it just before I came to post my new problem, which is that I have more sprites than specified. These should be the relevant files, I have no idea where to begin to try fixing it...

(That's just a test version without the proper diagonal sprites on the replacement livery for the passenger car)


Attachments:
File comment: The PCX as a PNG.
magliv.png
magliv.png [ 1.96 KiB | Viewed 15348 times ]
File comment: The NFO file, as a TXT
magliv.TXT [1.41 KiB]
Downloaded 394 times

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 4:34 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Flamelord wrote:
I can't figure out how to tell it only to replace the livery when the wagons are being pulled by the "Chimera". Anyone know how to do this?

If I'm reading everything correctly, a type 82 variational 2 checking variable 80+46 for 57h, and returning your new graphics only in that case should work. (Use a callback result to fail the graphics lookup.) If you want to be really robust, check variable 0C first and return your new graphics if the you're in a callback.

Very interesting things will happen if some other GRF replaces the Chimera sprites, though.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:30 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:06 am
Posts: 6217
Location: Hertfordshire
I like your Sprites so far. they look really nice! :D

_________________
My Photography - YouTube


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:04 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: Britain
I've changed your nfo code, slightly.
This nfo file should compile and run correctly in ttdpatch

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 4)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
       0 * 4   16 00 00 00

       1 * 45   08 06 62 42 01 01 4d 61 67 6c 65 76 20 4c 69 76 65 72 79 20 53 65 74 00 43 6f 70 79 72 69 67 68 74 3a 20 46 6c 61 6d 65 6c 6f 72 64 00

// Define the trains and passenger carrages graphics
       2 * 4   01 00 02 08
// Train graphics
       3 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 11 9 01 8 19 -3 -10
       4 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 27 9 09 20 16 -14 -6
       5 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 59 9 01 28 12 -14 -6
       6 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 107 9 09 20 16 -4 -8
       7 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 139 9 01 8 19 -3 -10
       8 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 155 9 09 20 16 -14 -7
       9 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 187 9 01 28 12 -14 -6
      10 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 235 9 09 20 16 -4 -6
// Passenger wagon graphics
      11 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 11 31 01 8 19 -3 -10
      12 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 27 31 09 20 16 -14 -6
      13 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 59 31 01 28 12 -14 -6
      14 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 107 31 09 20 16 -4 -8
      15 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 139 31 01 8 19 -3 -10
      16 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 155 31 09 20 16 -14 -7
      17 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 187 31 01 28 12 -14 -6
      18 C:\TTDX\CODECS\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 235 31 09 20 16 -4 -6

// Train uses the action2 cargo id 00
      19 * 9   02 00 00 01 01 00 00 00 00

// Define the carrages graphics to use cargo id 01
      20 * 9   02 00 01 01 01 01 00 01 00

// Define the trains graphics
      21 * 7   03 00 01 57 00 00 00

// Now override the carrages graphics
      22 * 7   03 00 81 59 00 01 00


Right, few things to note,

The number of sprites is in hex.
You have 22 sprites (lines of code) so you get 16h (16 + 6 = 22)
(Not 8, which is why you got more sprites than specified error)

When defining graphic sets of the same number of views, just put them under the same action1. The Action2's can be set to use which set of graphics you choose.

And finally an action3 override must come after the engines action3.


If you need any more help, I'm always around to help.

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:41 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Ah, very cool. Thanks. If that works, I'll add in the others for the test version. Now, does anyone know why that diagonal wagon that I attached earlier doesn't look right? It just seems off to me somehow.

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
It looks a bit smaller than the engine, Flamelord. I think you picked the proper perspective though. Just compare it with an original carriage, that sometimes helps in spotting the 'error'.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:02 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
Okay, thanks. I'll try that.

Uh, it's still giving me the same error, even after I changed it to 17 for the sprite count, because it's 23 sprites (Lakie forgot to count sprite 0?). So now I'm really confused about what's wrong. Here's the NFO file as it stands. (I backed up a copy with all the nice comments, but I'm using a version of it without the comments included.)

Code:
// Automatically generated by GRFCODEC. Do not modify!
// (Info version 4)
// Format: spritenum pcxfile xpos ypos compression ysize xsize xrel yrel
    0 * 4    17 00 00 00
    1 * 45    08 06 62 42 01 01 4D 61 67 6C 65 76 20 4C 69 76 65 72 79 20 53 65 74 00 43 6F 70 79 72 69 67 68
    74 3A 20 46 6C 61 6D 65 6C 6F 72 64 00
    2 * 4    01 00 02 08
    3 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 66 8 01 8 19 -3 -10
    4 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 98 8 09 20 16 -14 -6
    5 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 130 8 01 28 12 -14 -6
    6 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 162 8 09 20 16 -4 -8
    7 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 194 8 01 8 19 -3 -10
    8 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 226 8 09 20 16 -14 -7
    9 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 258 8 01 28 12 -14 -6
   10 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 290 8 09 20 16 -4 -6
   11 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 322 8 01 8 19 -3 -10
   12 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 354 8 09 20 16 -14 -6
   13 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 386 8 01 28 12 -14 -6
   14 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 418 8 09 20 16 -4 -8
   15 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 450 8 01 8 19 -3 -10
   16 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 482 8 09 20 16 -14 -7
   17 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 514 8 01 28 12 -14 -6
   18 C:\TTDX\Codecs\SPRITES\magliv.pcx 546 8 09 20 16 -4 -6
   19 * 9    02 00 00 01 01 00 00 00 00
   20 * 9    02 00 01 01 01 01 00 01 00
   21 * 7    03 00 01 57 00 00 00
   22 * 7    03 00 81 59 00 01 00


Anybody know what's wrong now? It's still the same "More sprites than specified" error in TTD.


BTW, Dalestan: What you said about callbacks and variables tells ME nothing. This is my very first time drawing sprites or coding for a GRF. If you could explain a little more thoroughly, it might help. Thanks!


Last edited by Flamelord on Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 6:57 pm
Posts: 5552
Location: Ithaca, New York
Flamelord wrote:
Anybody know what's wrong now? It's still the same "More sprites than specified" error in TTD.


Were there any (error) messages while encoding? Maybe it couldn't encode it properly and thus you're left with the file that had the wrong number of sprites.

_________________
Josef Drexler



TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker

No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 7:09 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:29 pm
Posts: 731
Location: Oregon
No it encodes and decodes properly, but TTD doesn't like it. So I haven't got a clue what's wrong with it...

_________________
Additional Livery Set
Official TT-Jewel Staite FanClub


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Night_Fury_CZ and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.