New GRFCodec 0.9.5 released

Talk about the sequel to the original TT, Transport Tycoon Deluxe.
Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

New GRFCodec 0.9.5 released

Post by Patchman » 17 Dec 2002 07:13

[edit]See this post for the announcement of the latest version.[/edit]

After a long delay, I've finally released an update to GRFCodec and the related tools, seeing how many people are working (or want to work) on updating TTD's graphics.

You can get it here: http://www.ttdpatch.net/grfcodec/grfcodec_0_9.zip
(or visit the GRFCodec website at http://www.ttdpatch.net/grfcodec/)

Aside from fixing many bugs, in particular in GRFDiff and GRFMerge, I also added the option of translating a GRF file between the DOS and Windows palettes. To use this, run something like:

Code: Select all

grfcodec -m 1 -e file.grf
To see a list of possible translations, use "-m ?".
Last edited by Patchman on 23 Jul 2006 04:04, edited 6 times in total.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
Mad Dog McKill
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 13 Nov 2002 10:24
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow

Post by Mad Dog McKill » 17 Dec 2002 13:09

Way to go man!!!
now lets test it 8)
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile

User avatar
Mad Dog McKill
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 13 Nov 2002 10:24
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow

Post by Mad Dog McKill » 17 Dec 2002 13:21

ahhhh still the same... doesn't work for me...what a bad 200th post.. :cry:

does grf codec works for anyone here?
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile

User avatar
Observer
Logo Creator
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 12:21
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Observer » 17 Dec 2002 13:54

Mad Dog McKill wrote:ahhhh still the same... doesn't work for me...what a bad 200th post.. :cry:

does grf codec works for anyone here?
It works for me (the old one) what does it NOT do??? I had problems but I solved them... let me know about it plz..

Thanx Josef... as soon as I get back to my grf encode stuff Ill download it...
It is a busy period for me right now... a lot of schoolwork and I want to learn C++ too... so TTD is a bit on the background lately :cry:
Never fear, I is here...

User avatar
Mad Dog McKill
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 13 Nov 2002 10:24
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow

Post by Mad Dog McKill » 18 Dec 2002 08:42

look here, "observer" eheheh...probably you were not observing well

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=1917

P.S. if i send you my changes in the pcx file (i'll crop it to a very small size) could you encode it into a grf file then zip it and send it over to my email?
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 18 Dec 2002 15:50

Whenever there's a bug, Marcin fixes it.

He's made a bugfix release of GRFCodec available at http://kufel.immt.pwr.wroc.pl/~mgrzegor ... 021218.zip

Please use that instead of the download from the GRFCodec site, until I have a chance to update it. Probably not before January...
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
Observer
Logo Creator
Posts: 2189
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 12:21
Location: Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Observer » 18 Dec 2002 18:16

Mad Dog McKill wrote:look here, "observer" eheheh...probably you were not observing well

http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=1917

P.S. if i send you my changes in the pcx file (i'll crop it to a very small size) could you encode it into a grf file then zip it and send it over to my email?
Try using the -C while compiling back to grf...
Never fear, I is here...

User avatar
Mad Dog McKill
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 13 Nov 2002 10:24
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow

Post by Mad Dog McKill » 19 Dec 2002 04:40

the command doesn't work...it goes goes through the grf encoder file and closes it. Everything happens within 1 sec. No error, nothing
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 21 Dec 2002 17:20

What is the output then? There is always some output...

You'll be able to copy and paste it from the DOS command line too. If you're not running it from the DOS command line, then that'll be the problem... it's not a "click-and-run" type of program.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
Mad Dog McKill
President
President
Posts: 911
Joined: 13 Nov 2002 10:24
Location: Singapore but originally Moscow

Post by Mad Dog McKill » 22 Dec 2002 16:55

Errr I use Windows Commander or Total Commander...whatever you call it... here, try it, Patchman, its a very very helpful program especially when looking through an ISO file... :arrow: http://www.ghisler.com

Dunno what's output...
OT: By FIREMARK: "Limitation disturbs me very sprites. Goes it throw out limitation?"
My Last.fm Profile
My Facebook Profile

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 15 Feb 2003 21:06

I've posted version 0.9.2 now, which doesn't really change anything except that it handles two error conditions that caused a crash on earlier versions. This is the case if the .nfo is missing the version info header, or if a pcx file cannot be found.

Now it'll show a useful error message instead of just crashing.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Post by Andrex » 16 Feb 2003 06:37

I should have posted here the GRF Wizard update.
Yes, GRF Wizard Version 1.2 is ready for download at the GRF Wizard site from my signature. In that page you will find the changes in this version.

ayeed
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 21
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 09:30
Contact:

did not work

Post by ayeed » 03 Mar 2003 09:35

this is grfcodec not work with me what i can do now ???

1- i dwonload grfcodec
2- there inside 8 files
3- grfcodec.exe did not work ??

plz help me

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 03 Mar 2003 12:26

GRFCODEC.EXE works .... read it's manual ...
to decode graphic you must enter: grfcodec -d XXX.grf
and you should run it from TTD directory :roll:
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

User avatar
Dinges
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2865
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 18:00
Location: Fryslân Boppe!
Contact:

Post by Dinges » 03 Mar 2003 12:31

If you extract everything into your TTD Directory and Download GRFWizard, then follow instructions it shouldn't be that hard.
Dinges

Who is the other person in me?

my Blog (dutch) - my Last.fm profile

Owner of http://ttdgraphics.cjb.net/ ! Temp addr: http://ttdgraphics.owenrudge.com/

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

GRFCodec 0.9.3 posted

Post by Patchman » 09 Mar 2003 03:21

I've posted version 0.9.3, which should fix a number of crashes while encoding.

It turns out that at some point I was reading beyond the size of a buffer, which causes a GPF on some systems (not mine, unfortunately). I wasn't able to confirm that the crash really is fixed, so if you had crashes while encoding, please test this and report.

I've also improved the speed of encoding and decoding, as well as slightly increased the efficiency of compression. Not that it really matters to much...

Like always, you can get the new version from http://www.ttdpatch.com/grfcodec/
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

GRFCodec 0.9.4 available

Post by Patchman » 23 Mar 2003 03:46

I've posted 0.9.4 now.

Changes in version 0.9.4:
  • fixed yet another crash while compressing
  • sprites no longer need correct numbers in the .NFO file; just use "-1" for each number and it will be assumed to be correct
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

GRFCodec 0.9.5

Post by Patchman » 17 May 2003 20:13

And here's GRFCodec 0.9.5.


Changes in version 0.9.5:
  • Self-extracting executables now work on Win2K etc., which doesn't pass the full path to the C library
  • GRFMerge will just skip .grf files it can't find, instead of aborting
  • Making sprites larger didn't work if they're at the right edge; it complained that ofsx too large; now it just uses the background colour
  • GRFDiff didn't work with e.g. "-l 1254" (single value in -l), it complained that there were no differences and made no output
  • Allow GRFMerge to read GRFDiff's .exe files, both for -l and other options

Alexey_Kiev
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 6
Joined: 01 May 2004 17:08
Location: Ukraine

Problem with RESIZE sprites...

Post by Alexey_Kiev » 01 May 2004 17:31

I installed grfcodec.exe. Perfectly! Editing sprites, decoding, encoding - I understanded, it`s easy. BUT HOW TO RESIZE SPRITES? How to make different size. May be this it is depends of _offsets_ in *.NFO-file?! Help me, please. Thanks (sorry for bad english:-)

User avatar
GoneWacko
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 8683
Joined: 10 Jul 2002 15:08
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by GoneWacko » 01 May 2004 20:19

one of the .txt files that comes with grfedit clearly tell you what to do. :roll:
GoneWacko. Making [url=irc://irc.oftc.net/tycoon]#tycoon[/url] sexy and exciting since 1784.

Post Reply

Return to “Transport Tycoon Deluxe”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests