Trans Oceanic

Got a nice scenario or saved game for Locomotion? Post it here!

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Trans Oceanic

Post by DJC » 28 Jun 2005 18:51

I've made a new scenario where you have to join the industries on either side of a deep ocean. you have to deliver 50,000 tons of steel, beginning in 1934. No competing companies, no mods.
Attachments
Trans Oceanic.zip
(92.45 KiB) Downloaded 1227 times
Trans Oceanic Screen.JPG
(458.67 KiB) Downloaded 1685 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
metalangel
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1091
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 14:41
Location: Toronto

Post by metalangel » 01 Jul 2005 12:47

Very interesting idea. It reminds me of the 'ocean assault' maps from Total Annihilation, where you were forced into making massed D-Day style aerial and amphibious assaults. In fact, I think I'd be playing this map and wanting to build battleships and hovercraft :o
Image
"(Locomotion is) one of the best-playing games of its type." -Chris Sawyer

Northeast Corridor - South Wales & the Southwest

User avatar
chevyrider
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3285
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 09:52
Location: Amersfoort The Netherlands

Post by chevyrider » 01 Jul 2005 13:00

Mind that you need a possibility to earn money on one side of the ocean, before you can make an attempt to reach the other side.
-
-
39 years experience with trains and still driving.
-
-

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 01 Jul 2005 18:12

You can make money on both sides of the ocean with passengers
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Severous
Director
Director
Posts: 542
Joined: 26 Oct 2004 20:52
Location: Hertfordshire, England

Post by Severous » 01 Jul 2005 18:28

Are Oil Tanker ships available ? Make money from the Ocean perhaps. :D
Regards

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 01 Jul 2005 20:58

Severous wrote:Are Oil Tanker ships available ?
Yes, but you have to wait for them to be invented.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

adn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 10 May 2005 02:46
Location: New York

Post by adn » 08 Jul 2005 03:06

Man this scenario is giving me a hard time!
13 years and not even 40% done.

adn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 10 May 2005 02:46
Location: New York

Post by adn » 09 Jul 2005 22:26

17years 5months :?
The beginning is really hard. I couldn't find a way to bypass the ships for the first years. Thing speed up dramatically with the first bridge. I guess there's a reason why this game is not called floatomotion ;)
I ended up with 6 bridges to run 3 not connected rings. One for the 3 south mines, One for the 3 north mines and one for steel of course.
This entry is very perfectible, mostly because I'm sure the early cash management can be dramatically improved.
Attachments
TransOeceanic-17y5m.PNG
(111.94 KiB) Downloaded 654 times

User avatar
chevyrider
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3285
Joined: 16 Sep 2004 09:52
Location: Amersfoort The Netherlands

Post by chevyrider » 25 Jul 2005 23:33

Nice scenario.
Like ADN said it's hard at the beginning, but after the first bridge you have plenty of money.
I started in Coalhampton with trams.
After that, ships to the oilplatforms and goods to Coalhampton.
After that coal, iron and at last steel.
I've build 8 bridges, top get maximum speed.
Used some mods to transport the cargo with the trains.
Thanks again DJC, :wink:

I needed 32 years, 4 months, but speed wasn't the goal, only nice lines.
Image

The steel mill and the ÖBB coilwagons.
Image

The eight bridges to the other side.
Image
-
-
39 years experience with trains and still driving.
-
-

adn
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 10 May 2005 02:46
Location: New York

Post by adn » 26 Jul 2005 00:41

Very nice design!

Antilles
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 8
Joined: 16 Aug 2005 19:00
Location: Denmark

Post by Antilles » 20 Aug 2005 14:49

28 Years and 1 month. Well I used some 4-5 years on optimizing my train lines, so I might have been able to cut of about 2-3 years. I started out by building trams, then a ship coal line (feed by trains), and I think that was my major mistake! I say, keep with the trams untill you have enough money for a bridge, after that, money is no longer an issue.

Anyway, I'm going to try this approach now... I'll get back and tell you how it turns out!

Image

User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 02 Jun 2006 17:13

Hey, it was a very challeging and fun scenario to play. I did a few screenees with it because i think it's way to long to explain what i've done with it and all.
Attachments
Screenshot80.JPG
Screenshot80.JPG (163.14 KiB) Viewed 16024 times
Screenshot47.JPG
Screenshot47.JPG (159.03 KiB) Viewed 16078 times
Screenshot69.JPG
Screenshot69.JPG (167.91 KiB) Viewed 16079 times

User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 02 Jun 2006 17:15

The Burton on Sea Side of the map and the Middlesburg Side on the map.
Attachments
Middlesburg.JPG
Middlesburg.JPG (96.11 KiB) Viewed 15962 times
Burton.JPG
Burton.JPG (79.43 KiB) Viewed 15978 times

User avatar
Train-a-Mania
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2838
Joined: 02 Mar 2006 22:56
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
Contact:

Post by Train-a-Mania » 02 Jun 2006 22:50

These screenshots are very tempting. I'll download it.
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image

User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 03 Jun 2006 09:41

you're right, the first screens of the scenario where really goog looking, but to build it as far as did until now took me about a week.

And i use really all kind of trains. Some from the Dutch NS and NL pack, some DB, some OBB, some SBB and lots of US and Amtrak.

I never use computer AI, because the AI is really dumb. I tried it out once with 14 compitors against me. I didn't do anything in that game but i don't get the logic of the computer. I mean the way they lay on tracks and roads terrible...

Here I got 1 final example of a "Main Load Station" with extra platforms and continuing lines.
Attachments
main load station.JPG
main load station.JPG (176.58 KiB) Viewed 15887 times

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Post by DJC » 03 Jun 2006 12:00

Nice screens, thanks. I like seeing people enjoying my work :)
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
Samo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 415
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 01:02
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by Samo » 03 Jun 2006 17:43

fun map, but very hard to get enough income to get rid of loan quickly

how'd u guys start?

User avatar
Illegal_Alien
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7824
Joined: 29 Sep 2004 20:07
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Contact:

Post by Illegal_Alien » 03 Jun 2006 18:23

Hmm, i will give this one a try too; but then with airbridges :) I will refuse to use mega bridges. :)
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of: LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...

User avatar
Emperor Darth Sidious
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1097
Joined: 07 May 2006 20:22
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Emperor Darth Sidious » 04 Jun 2006 08:08

Ok, I gotto admid when I worked on the scenario in the editor i changed a few things and I got the money with the use of the pizza-trainer and all the vehicles in 1920 orso because I used the LocoMod.

But that is what I do with every scenario I build or download because I like to build those lines and can never wait to begin big time.

User avatar
Samo
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 415
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 01:02
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by Samo » 04 Jun 2006 18:59

cheater :p

the most i'd ever cheat on a scenario is lower the intrest rate to 5% and start it earlier so i have more money ehwne the better trains are avalible

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Scenarios and Saved Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests