How to make money on goods?

Are you a beginner with Locomotion? Learn the basics here.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

cdkeyleo
Engineer
Engineer

How to make money on goods?

Post by cdkeyleo »

I am a pretty newbie to the Chris Sawyer's Locomotion.

In the game, I transport oil to oil refiner, steel to factory to produce goods, then transport goods to the town. But the station in the town doesn't accept goods. So I can't make money on it. Is it caused by the station is not close enough to the office? Can I use truck to delivery the goods to offices to make money?

Thnaks for your advice!
metalangel
Tycoon
Tycoon

Post by metalangel »

Build a station where it says it will accept goods - this will be in any area with several large buildings like offices, shops and apartments.
"(Locomotion is) one of the best-playing games of its type." -Chris Sawyer

Northeast Corridor - South Wales & the Southwest
Lute Skywatcher
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Lute Skywatcher »

I miss being able to know what a station will accept before it's built. We need to have an idea of what a particular square will accept before we lay track down.
Olli
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Olli »

It simply depends on the buildings inside the stations area, each has its own "producing and accepting behaviour".
Most buildings are only available from a given year, and most of them accept goods, so there is no good aceptance of goods early in the game.

Learn the buildings, klick them.
RangaKoo
Engineer
Engineer

Post by RangaKoo »

Lute Skywatcher wrote:I miss being able to know what a station will accept before it's built. We need to have an idea of what a particular square will accept before we lay track down.
Look closely when you build the station. In the station window below where it says what the station's name will be it lists the symbols of what the station will accept and what it will produce/generate.