Page 37 of 147

Posted: 04 Aug 2004 14:29
by 459
Updated techlist with Embraer 190 and A340-600. Let's try to use these values for the planes.

Posted: 04 Aug 2004 16:52
by 459
Crap, does that STR2HEX converter require internet connection to be open or is there any workaround to get that functionality offline? Or how much is it needed anyway? I only have a modem and I'm not planning to keep it connected all the time ;)

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 07:21
by zero1000
@459: you need the hex converter only to convert strings like the plane name. the plane specs (speed, ...) you can also convert with your calculator. the online hex converter only works online (like any online program :lol: )

@all: no bug reports ?

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 10:54
by 459
I decided to take the trip to the wonderful world of coding and after two or three hours of work I came across with this plane. It is my first test version for Embraer 190 for "internal testing and learning purposes". Replaces DC-3, introduced around 2005. There's still questions to be asked and recommendations to be heard before this plane can be called complete.

Any idea why is there compression flag of 01 instead of 09 in left sideview?

Do you have any good tips for tweaking xrel and yrel? Zero1000's planes don't seem to be positioned as well as the original game planes (the buy menu, airfield) but mine is so offposition that any help is appreciated.

We should assign respective ID slots for all planes, probably in time order. Any suggestions?

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 11:19
by krtaylor
459 wrote: Do you have any good tips for tweaking xrel and yrel? Zero1000's planes don't seem to be positioned as well as the original game planes (the buy menu, airfield) but mine is so offposition that any help is appreciated.
Ask Oracle when he gets back from holiday.
459 wrote:We should assign respective ID slots for all planes, probably in time order. Any suggestions?
Yes. I don't know what the IDs are for planes, but if you do, we can make a list and I'll just assign them in order in the tables. That worked in the US set.

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 12:51
by fire87
@459:
I've fixed the plane, but I don't know wich file is right? :cry:
I really like to give you the right plane back, if you're not mad at me because I just modified it now without asking.. The plane is very good btw :wink:

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 13:23
by zero1000
yes, the relative positioning (xrel, yrel) is a pain to find out. i don't know how to compute these values from the other ones, so i set them by try and error method, and thats not good enough :cry:

for the id usage we have two options i think:
1. time order, as proposed by 469
2. grouping by manufacturer and model/time, similar to TTD
the order of id's will be also the order in the buy window (i think there is no possibilty to adjust that via grf coding).

for my set i use id's of toyland planes, because i want not overwrite the TTD planes at the moment:

Code: Select all

ID   NFO ID   TTD Plane            Zero Plane
248  21       Ploddyphut 100       Bombardier CRJ 100
249  22       Ploddyphut 500       Boeing 747-100
250  23       Flashbang X1         Saab 2000
251  24       Juggerplane M1       Lockheed L-049 Constellation
252  25       Flashbang Wizzer     Airbus A380  
and Dinges overwrites following planes:

Code: Select all

ID   NFO ID   TTD Plane            Dinges Plane
227  0C       Darwin 200           Boeing 747-400
218  03       Yate Haugan          BAE Concorde
i think, it's better for the first small sets to use toyland ids and then future plane id's for new planes and overwrite TTD planes only if the new ones replaces them.

free are following future plane ids (all toyland ids are already used by me :mrgreen:)

Code: Select all

239  18  AirTaxi A34-1000  
240  19  Yate Z-Shuttle  
241  1A  Kelling K1  
242  1B  Kelling K6  
243  1C  Kelling K7  
244  1D  Darwin 700  
245  1E  FFP Hyperdart 2  
246  1F  Dinger 200  
247  20  Dinger 1000  
complete TTD plane id list can be found here.

about compression flag: wiki nfo tutorial says: forget about that :wink:

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 19:03
by 459
Time order is one possibility but I think the TTD alphabetical manufacturer-time way as zero1000 said is better. Once we get this decided I'll put the ID's to the planelist. From that moment on we can assign correct ID's for all planes that are done.

zero1000: Is there anything special in adding multiple vehicles in one GRF file? Your line 1 with 190 hex entries seems quite... scary and I haven't yet gotten to have a look to it.

I've PM:d fire87. He hopefully should post some further edited Embraer 190 stuff here for reference soon.

BTW. Of modifying my works: I love when you fix the works AND point out how it was fixed so I can make better work next time! As we get something done well, our spirits raise, leading to better effort and we'll get this thing done faster.

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 21:04
by krtaylor
Time order seems to be more sensible, it's what we used for the US set.

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 21:10
by SHADOW-XIII
sorry for bringing up this so late but:
all planes are good but don't you think they missing something?
they all look the same ... mainly white and blue ...

I would like to make them alive ... to see them alive ... like in real life
so I'm asking all planes developer .... please provide liveries ...
liveries of the real companies, without TTD-player-color dependancy ....

who agress with me? maybe a poll ?
my opinion is that: those liveries will change planeset, really ...
f you don't belive me ... just try some experiments with that

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 21:17
by krtaylor
I absolutely agree, and you'll note on my tracking tabel I frequently note the liveries the planes "should" be in. And some of them are. But not all of them, nor as many as I'd like. However, I'll take what I can get, and once all the planes are done, I imagine we'll take another pass to give them all liveries that don't have them.

Posted: 05 Aug 2004 21:51
by fire87
I'm just a totally newbie in graphics editing so I used the NFO-editor and compared it with one of the TTD-plane, and editing it's positioning after that.. x-rel and y-rel yeah.. Didn't touch it by hand, so I believe it's getting automaticly ( :?: ) updated when I edited the plane in NFO-editor.. I'm sorry for not using an another method.. But you can crack it and see the code, hope you guys know what I mean :)

Anyways, here's your lovely plane :bow:

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 08:53
by zero1000
@469:

line 1: Action 8: Giving your .grf file an ID: wiki (i only have a long text for my file :) )

line 0 depends on how many planes you include, because there is the total number of nfo file lines.

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 08:59
by zero1000
SHADOW-XIII wrote:... they all look the same ... mainly white and blue ...
[joke] just change the players color, and they look the same, but different ... white and e.g. red :lol: [/joke]

at the beginning i loved the design with the players color, because my transport company will give to all their planes the same company livery. same as in real life :D . but meanwhile i changed my mind and i see the problem, that many planes will not be very distinguishable, if they have all the same color. therefore my latest plane - the connie - follows krtaylors proposal for early TWA livery, as provided in his list. if i will have time, may be i will change the other planes too.

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 11:36
by 459
It appears that the graphics must be added from "up to down" in the NFO file, so that ypos values are descending. If done any other way, I get wrong sprites. The only thing to affect the order of the aircraft list is the plane's NFO ID (I verified it with swapping ID's of two planes). This means that I can just add new planes to the end of this template and they'll work. Also, as soon as we decide how the list order goes I can just change the ID's and all should be fine. I believe that I'll be able to code pretty much the whole set this way, at least for the airplanes if I don't come across some serious problems. I've started to code my planes and I've progressed nicely (I've coded nine planes thus far) although there are still some values (cost factor, running cost factor, model live in years, vehicle live in years) to be decided and specified. I also found out from a doc that xpos and ypos values should be respective xsize and ysize values divided by 2, some tweaking might still be needed. See these files. The fire87 changes haven't been included at least yet since I haven't got to look into them yet.

Is the acceleration scheme shown in the attached .NFO which I build the GRF's from (don't decode the GRF) good for zero1000 and krtaylor?

I also slightly repaired Embraer 190, A320 and A321 sprites.

Of liveries: As I've said before, we'll need two versions of the set. One with liveries and one with company colors since I'm planning to see this set work in OpenTTD multiplayer games...

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 11:50
by fire87
It's ok that you didn't include my changes.. :) As I said, the only thing I did was to move the planes position so it fits with the other :)

But I'm gladly to help with the positioning with the planes :wink:

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 11:53
by 459
Reason why I haven't included your changes: I have a modem Internet connection and I did that set before I got your fixed Embraer (which I haven't looked at yet). When I'll press that "disconnect" button, probably the next thing is that I'll take the look into it and see whether it's better and if it is, the changes will be included :) .

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 12:04
by fire87
That's just if :lol:
Well, the plane looks a bit better with the positioning, it doesn't seems like it's going trough the airport any more :lol:

But do you guys have a release date for the planeset? I'm just wondering because it would be nice with these planes, instead of the standard TTD ones :wink:

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 12:10
by Szappy
Might I remind you, that, although it's not a must, it would be nice to see cargo planes (I mean planes refit to carry cargo) appear differently from passenger planes (without side windows, and such).

That should be added as a cargo override, if I'm not mistaken. If so, then maybe it goes after the passenger plane sprites, so leave place in the nfo, if you plan to include such thigs.

I'm not demanding anything, don't get me wrong, just making a remark though.

Posted: 06 Aug 2004 13:29
by zero1000
wow, good work! even if some adjustments are open.

the acceleration scheme sounds reasonable, but i have to test in game.
459 wrote: I also found out from a doc that xpos and ypos values should be respective xsize and ysize values divided by 2, ...
that is what i was looking for. where did you found that?