Page 13 of 28

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 16:41
by skidd13
ctrl + c = copy
ctrl + p = paste

:)

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 16:45
by Cadde
skidd13 wrote:ctrl + c = copy
ctrl + p = paste

:)
Im using the 7502 MiniIN

And Ctrl + C and Ctrl + P doesn't work for me... Sorry ;)
(Yes skidd13, im a windows looser if that's whats causing the problem)

While im at it, a setting for multiplayer pasting would be very nice!
Some junctions and station layouts take 10 - 15 minutes to paste eaven with the "clear" option turned off...

So at my our own risk of desyncing the game we could speed things up?

Im at a 1 GBit Lan playing with my bro...

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 16:55
by skidd13
Cadde wrote:Im using the 7502 MiniIN

And Ctrl + C and Ctrl + P doesn't work for me... Sorry ;)
(Yes skidd13, im a windows looser if that's whats causing the problem)
I'm not sure, but the problem should be the MiniIN, which use a diffrent patch than that against the clean trunk. I read short through the trunk-patch and as I see the shortkeys are not removed in there.

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 16:59
by Cadde
skidd13 wrote:
Cadde wrote:Im using the 7502 MiniIN

And Ctrl + C and Ctrl + P doesn't work for me... Sorry ;)
(Yes skidd13, im a windows looser if that's whats causing the problem)
I'm not sure, but the problem should be the MiniIN, which use a diffrent patch than that against the clean trunk. I read short through the trunk-patch and as I see the shortkeys are not removed in there.

You mean this bit of code?

Code: Select all

+		case WKC_CTRL | 'C': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(4); break; /* Invoke Copy */
+		case WKC_CTRL | 'V': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(5); break; /* Invoke Paste */

It would seem the miniIN doesnt carry the latest copy paste patch...
Furthermore, im too darn lazy to compile a complete miniIN of my own and im to lazy to compile anything at all :D

Thanks for the help though ;)

Posted: 21 Dec 2006 17:00
by DaleStan
skidd13 wrote:ctrl + p = paste
Good grief. :roll:
It is OpenTTD's burining desire to ignore EVERY SINGLE STANDARD SHORTCUT!?

Or are you just oblivious to the fact that basically every other program in existance uses <ctrl-x/c/v>, or at least provides a way for the user to select such shortcuts?

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 07:56
by Frostregen
This was a typo i guess.
It is and always was "CTRL + V"

@Cadde: 10-15 minutes to rebuild a template? wow...
I will add a patch setting for this. (trunk)
(Was planned anyway, but nobody missed it so far)

Currently the mini-in version does not get updated,
as there are no new features developed.
I'm only keeping the patch compatible with trunk.
The compatibility stuff for mini-in is maintained by richk himself i guess.

If you somehow change your mind and start compiling for yourself,
you would have to change this code: (openttd.c, around line 900)

Code: Select all

//Process the command_queue.
if ((_tick_counter % 5) == 0) {
	//debug("FC: %u", _tick_counter);
	ExecuteNextCommand();
}

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 13:03
by skidd13
Frostregen wrote:This was a typo i guess.
It is and always was "CTRL + V"
:oops: you are damned right!

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 14:10
by richk67
Frostregen wrote:Currently the mini-in version does not get updated,
as there are no new features developed.
I'm only keeping the patch compatible with trunk.
The compatibility stuff for mini-in is maintained by richk himself i guess.
The MiniIN team (glx & Rubidium) are doing way more than me - Im having a bit of a sabbatical. Anyway, if you have a fresh update for MiniIN, post the patch into the MiniIN TODO list, and someone will add it. There is too much in keeping MiniIN in sync with trunk to have to chase patch updates. If you can supply a diff with the uptodate changes, it can be added easily. You know your patch far better.

Posted: 22 Dec 2006 20:29
by Cadde
Frostregen wrote:This was a typo i guess.
It is and always was "CTRL + V"

@Cadde: 10-15 minutes to rebuild a template? wow...
I will add a patch setting for this. (trunk)
(Was planned anyway, but nobody missed it so far)

Currently the mini-in version does not get updated,
as there are no new features developed.
I'm only keeping the patch compatible with trunk.
The compatibility stuff for mini-in is maintained by richk himself i guess.

If you somehow change your mind and start compiling for yourself,
you would have to change this code: (openttd.c, around line 900)

Code: Select all

//Process the command_queue.
if ((_tick_counter % 5) == 0) {
	//debug("FC: %u", _tick_counter);
	ExecuteNextCommand();
}
So that bit of code means that every five ticks it will draw a piece?
And what is that optimized for? 56 KBit or what?

I would love to see the same build process going ten times faster, eye candy and would only take 1 - 2 minutes...

The reason my templates are so excessively humongous is because we use Realistic Acceleration and turns have to cover 3 tiles wile we also have a 4 track per direction set-up, so there are eight tracks crossing eachothers in intersections and if we need a tunnel we make two to load balance sort of.


Our junctions are composed of atleast 7 customized parts that are pasted in order, and a full paste was timed at 15 minutes...


But we are just happy there is a copy paste tool in the first place!!! Imagine doing the same by hand... GOSH!


Thanks for the fast replies! It would be nice to have it in the Mini Nightly once we can select tick counts via the configure patches menu or likewise :D

CHEERS and Merry christmas to you all!

//Cadde


PS. I will upload an image of my latest junction project with templates just so you can understand why it's so important for us :D

Posted: 24 Dec 2006 03:58
by Cadde
Alright, as i promised!

Here follows the by far LARGEST crossing i've ever made in my life!
It is optimized for speeds of ~500 Km/H and should be very a very effictive load balancer providing the user issues working goto orders!
There are some other requirements for this to work as expected as well though...

I am using MiniIN r7502 at the moment...

Heres the two patches i've enabled/disabled that matters:

RA-T and no speed limits for trains is ON
NPF and YAPF is OFF


So on to the crossing then, first screenshots:

The center straights and tunnels.
Image

Left and right turn entraces and exits
Image

Track selection stations and waypoints
Image

The map viewer of the crossing, note that all waypoints and stations isnt placed yet
Image


So now you can see why it would take A LOT of time to paste this in multiplayer...
(My 10 - 15 minutes junction was a bit smaller though, i increased the track width to 10 squares because i wanted 3 square turns instead of 2 square ones...


Im not saying this junction is suitable for everyday TTDX gameplay, it's an attempt at making a junction that allow trains to flow without disturbance...


I've attached a ZIP with all templates used and a readme if you wanna have a go at putting it togeather yourself...

Cheers!


EDIT:

There was a FLAW in 4 templates...
I've managed to pack an older UNTESTED version of the junction...

But it's updated now!

The four parts updated are:

Track Switch Part 1.tmpl
Track Switch Part 2.tmpl
Crossing RT & LT Offramps.tmpl
Crossing RT Reciever Part 2.tmpl


Sorry for any inconvenience!

The problem was missing and faulty signals, easy to fix manually but i can recommend that you paste over the pieces that was faulty if you built one!

Redownload the ZIP, it's new!



EDIT #2:


Just a screenshot of the junction with !!! 300 !!! trains running through it...
Can you see any clogged trains?
Image


I also uploaded a savegame as an attachment... Remember, MiniIN r7502...

//Cadde


The meaning of this post is to say...

Build templates ROCK!!! Use them now!

Posted: 24 Dec 2006 11:33
by MeusH
Cadde wrote:

Code: Select all

+		case WKC_CTRL | 'C': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(4); break; /* Invoke Copy */
+		case WKC_CTRL | 'V': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(5); break; /* Invoke Paste */
Could you also make the patch sensitive for Ctrl+Insert and Shift+Insert?

Posted: 24 Dec 2006 13:33
by Frostregen
MeusH wrote:
Cadde wrote:

Code: Select all

+		case WKC_CTRL | 'C': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(4); break; /* Invoke Copy */
+		case WKC_CTRL | 'V': ShowCopyPasteToolbar(5); break; /* Invoke Paste */
Could you also make the patch sensitive for Ctrl+Insert and Shift+Insert?
Should be no problem....but:

Ctrl+Insert = copy?
Shift+Insert = paste?

I never saw those shortcuts so i don't know what is used for copy and what for paste.

Posted: 24 Dec 2006 14:12
by QtanJ
Frostregen wrote: Ctrl+Insert = copy?
Shift+Insert = paste?
Yes

Posted: 24 Dec 2006 14:41
by MeusH
Yes, Ctrl copies and Shift pastes

Posted: 25 Dec 2006 07:44
by DaleStan
And, FWIW, <shift-delete> cuts.

Posted: 28 Dec 2006 15:53
by Frostregen
@MeusH: CTRL+Insert and SHIFT+insert shortcuts added

@Cadde: Serverside option for paste-speed added.

Since MiniIN is discontinued, it is only available for trunk.
If you continue to play a specific version of mini-in (tell me which revision) I could compile a modified version for you. (if you are using windows)

Posted: 28 Dec 2006 16:00
by MeusH
Oh thanks DaleStan :)
Frostregen, seems you're close to finishing the patch, aren't you?

Posted: 28 Dec 2006 17:19
by Frostregen
Yup, it is quite complete (since a long time actually) from a users point of view.

Stations will not make it into copy&paste for various reasons,
but I don't think this is crucial.

TODO:
Loading & Saving needs a rework.
(there is no version numbering, or error checking at all)

But this is something which will be done, if it will be added to trunk. (Which I don't think will happen ;))

-an error with bridges over bridge-ramps (easy to fix, but i forgot it this release)

Posted: 28 Dec 2006 17:29
by skidd13
Frostregen wrote:But this is something which will be done, if it will be added to trunk. (Which I don't think will happen ;))
I think it ist worth to add it into trunk, but not for the regular gameplay. It should be a cheat option or at least as option so that a server's admin can decide to allow it or not. ;)

Posted: 10 Jan 2007 22:04
by Dissy
i really miss that feature in the last dozen nightlies :( keep copy&paste in there plz! it's bea-utiful feature :)