Page 10 of 31

Posted: 18 Apr 2006 18:08
by gl2
Darkmast49 wrote:right.. now I need the basic files for TTDLX... Cuz when I start my version, it saids error reading registry.. and I don't even have an .exe files called transport tycoon deluxe.exe or something.. only ttconfig.exe
Hello Darkmast49!

Szappy sad:

The problem is, that GRFM is looking for a dir called 'newgrf' under the TTD directory. You can solve this problem by creating this directory in the openttd dir, then, after creating the grf file, you can move it to the proper openttd dir.
Also please note, that GRFM was not designed for OpenTTD, so not all of the functions in GRFM will work under OTTD.

Posted: 18 Apr 2006 18:39
by Samwise
aah thanks for that! Lets try it out..

EDIT: Same problem.. I think it's the OpenTTD being problem..

Posted: 18 Apr 2006 23:18
by DaleStan
GRFMaker can generate Open-compatible GRFs, but I strongly encourage you not to try that; Open's newgrf support is documented exactly nowhere, so you'll never quite know whether your code or Open's support is broken.

Posted: 19 Apr 2006 19:48
by Samwise
Ok, gonna try and find a PROPER download of TTDLX and TTDPatch, as now it gives an error reading registry.. But do you now how to solve the problem I have with GRFMaker, error (invalid filename)?

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 01:12
by krtaylor
If all you have is a registry error, you may be installed OK except for the registry. You can fix it easily with the registry tool, I think it's on the Patch website under tools.

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 02:09
by Patchman
If you get a registry error, you're trying to run TTD directly instead of the patch. So run the patch instead. The latest versions need no registry entries.

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 06:15
by Samwise
Thanks for the tips guys :)

EDIT: Now I have other problems.. TTDLOADW.OVL not found
GAMEGFX.exe: No such file or directory.. Gonna try and find them right now..

EDIT: GAMEGFX.exe found, and it works, TTDLOADW.OVL found as well, but it gives an error of ongeldige segmentlengte? (find a dictionary for dutch ;) cuz I can't translate this to english..

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 16:17
by Patchman
Most likely the gamegfx.exe is not the TTD/Win gamegfx.exe but some other random file. You have to get the gamegfx.exe that comes with TTD.

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 16:23
by Samwise
Ok Patchman.. where to download that? (I wish I still had the harddisk of my old pc, it was on there... :( )

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 19:58
by lws1984
I was trying to figure something out, and the Wiki isn't helping due to the diffrences in terms, but I've been trying to figure out how to set up a livery refit (where you can change the livery by using the Refit window). I have callback 19 on, but after that I'm hopelessely lost. Could one of you please help?

Posted: 20 Apr 2006 21:39
by DaleStan
In the CB19 section of the action 2 chain, check (byte) variable F2. For each value starting at 00, return the xx of one D0xx text that you want attached to the cargo type. Once you have returned all desired texts, return and FF for all other values of F2.

In the graphics section of the action 2 chain, check variable F2, and return the graphics that correspond to the D0xx text that is returned by callback 19 for the same value of F2.

Posted: 21 Apr 2006 08:24
by jonty-comp
Hey, would someone please mind giving me an idiot's guide to making steam engines with tenders? I downloaded the guide file but I can't understand it without instructions explaining it. :( I know it uses some kind of variational graphics, but I can't figure out how you make it attach to the rest of the engine when you buy it. Help would be greatly appreciated! :]

Posted: 21 Apr 2006 16:40
by krtaylor
Another budding coder? Great news!

Posted: 21 Apr 2006 17:05
by lws1984
ERm.... thanks DaleStan, but there appears to not be a CB19 section of an Action 2 chain, nor is there a place for variables in the graphics section.

Posted: 21 Apr 2006 18:37
by Samwise
At last I have TTDPatch.. but yet another problem.. Which buttons I have to input to change a trains graphic to my creation? And it still gives the problem of invalid filename..

Posted: 21 Apr 2006 18:46
by DaleStan
jonty-comp wrote:Hey, would someone please mind giving me an idiot's guide to making steam engines with tenders?
... I can't figure out how you make it attach to the rest of the engine when you buy it.
Callback 16
lws1984 wrote:ERm.... thanks DaleStan, but there appears to not be a CB19 section of an Action 2 chain, nor is there a place for variables in the graphics section.
"CB19" is my lazy way of referring to callback 19. Do something like:

Code: Select all

1*0 04 00 9F 02 00 D0 " first livery" 00 " second livery" 00
2*0 01 00 02 08
//sprites for first livery
//sprites for second livery
3*0 02 00 00 01 01 00 00 00 00
4*0 02 00 01 01 01 01 00 01 00
5*0 02 00 02 81 F2 00 FF 01 00 00 00 00 01 00 // Select graphics (first livery if F2==00, second livery else (if F2==01)) 
6*0 02 00 03 81 F2 00 FF 02 00 FF 00 00 01 FF 01 01 FF FF // return texts for CB19 ((D0)00 for F2==00, (D0)01 for F2==01, FF else)
7*0 02 00 04 81 0C 00 FF 01 03 00 19 19 02 00 // Check for CB19
8*0 03 00 01 XX 00 04 00
As I've mentioned, I don't use GRFMaker, but that's the NFO for doing two liveries.
To add a third livery, add a third string to sprite 1, a third set of sprites after sprite 2, a third copy of sprite 3/4, and an additional option to sprites 5 and 6.

Posted: 29 Apr 2006 19:24
by lws1984
Just a suggestion after coding some trams:

Perhaps you should update the "position" window with a road for RV's so that you don't have to approximate on the train tracks.

Posted: 25 Jun 2006 14:58
by jvassie
Szappy, i seem to get an error everytime i try to make a .grf file thorugh GRFMaker, it says 'Invalid filename' whilst trying to create it.

Got any ideas?

James

Posted: 14 Jul 2006 01:55
by DaleStan
WhiteHand wrote:Note: I coded these to be compatible with the nightlies. They might work with the betas.
DaleStan wrote:I'm probably just anal-retentive, but I'm of the opinion that any GRF released should have version-checking code, and that the specified minimum version should, in fact, be the first version that supports all the features that the GRF uses.
WhiteHand wrote:Ofcourse, something that advanced is out of my coding grasp :p
DaleStan wrote:You use GRFMaker, right? Maybe it's time for a feature request: "Automatic version checking code"?
It'd take a quite a bit of work, but the introduction date of most newgrf features is pretty well documented, IIRC.

Of course, an override would be necessary so people who insert literal NFO could change the minimum version correctly.

Posted: 06 Sep 2006 16:50
by uzusan
Is this project still being worked on?