Page 8 of 31

Posted: 05 Dec 2005 03:12
by DaleStan
GRFMaker wrote:"And mask: 255"
OW!!!

Surely there's a config option so hex numbers are acceptable there?
I'm pretty sure I've used an and-mask of 22h, or something similarly obscure, at least a couple times, and converting such things between hex and decimal on a regular basis is not my idea of a good time.

VarAction2Advanced support, and 60+x support, if existant, are non-obvious. I know I've used both of them:

Code: Select all

-1 * 34 02 09 ED 81 60 00 33 1F 00 60 00 60 FF 0F 10 01 60 01 33 1F 01 60 01 40 FF 0F 10 01 EC 00 00 00 00 FF
                    If you're trying to read this, I'll help you out a bit. nvar is here ^^.
(Not to be interpreted as feature requests; I don't intend to use GRFMaker even if such things do get implemented. At least not until it can read all NFO.)

Posted: 29 Dec 2005 21:12
by gl2
Hello!

In the next days I want to update the program.

Currently these changes are ready:
- Error corrected: "data" variable in Action D now WORD. (for Csaboka)
- In the Variational graphid block the AND mask can switch between HEX and DEC.** (for DaleStan)
- Effect block (Action 11)
- Missing callbacks
- Missing action 0 properties
- Enhanced variational graphid block (advanced variable action 2)

** In the feature if Anybody want, I will make other block's other fields to be switchable between hex and dec. :)

If need some other modification, or there is any missing thing, please tell Szappy or me.

Laci

Posted: 29 Dec 2005 21:51
by goalie
where can i download the tool

Posted: 29 Dec 2005 23:19
by jvassie
pm szappy or gl2 for a link to the download plus the code to download it!

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 17:16
by Szappy
GRFMaker updated to 3.0

There has been a major change in the sprite block storing format, and due to this, GRFM won't be able to read pre-2.17 version lst files.
You can correct this by simply saving the lst with any of the post 2.17 versions.


Due to the major internal change, it's imperative, that you save your previos work, in case anything goes wrong

changelog follows...

3.00 (2006 Jan 30)
============================
1. internal structure of the sprite blocks was modified, that's the cause of the major version change.
2. incorporated the changes of the unpublised 2.22

2.22 (2006 Jan 1)
===========================
1. added missing variables for road vehicles
2. added missing callbacks
3. added action11
4. dev: changed creation of variational blocks (CreateVariationalGraphidBlock)
5. dev: changed creation of randomized blocks (CreateRandomizedGraphidBlock)
6. actionD "data" field changed to word
7. AND mask in variational block can be set to HEX in settings

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 18:23
by DaleStan
Szappy wrote:6. actionD "data" field changed to word
Um... Are your definitions of "word" and "doubleword" different from mine? I was under the impression that those were pretty universal.

In any case, the data field is four bytes wide. If that's just a typo, or is what you mean by "word", that's fine, but having only two bytes where TTDPatch wants four may cause problems, either now or sometime in the future.

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 18:51
by minime
Dale:
gl2 wrote:Error corrected: "data" variable in Action D now WORD. (for Csaboka)
Now why would Csaba want that?
DaleStan wrote:...having only two bytes where TTDPatch wants four may cause problems, either now or sometime in the future.
It's an outright error - you're no longer able to set the value of variable 9F, which is 4 bytes. I mean something like this:

Code: Select all

   -1 * -1	 0D 9F 00 FF FF 15 01 04 00
There are other DWORD variables there too, and having the upper word undefined is hardly desireable.

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 19:29
by Csaboka
minime wrote:
gl2 wrote:Error corrected: "data" variable in Action D now WORD. (for Csaboka)
Now why would Csaba want that?
I was coding some GRF with GRFMaker (I forgot what it was, probably just a quick test), and I wanted to do an action D that sets a variable to a value higher than 255. When pressing OK, GRFMaker died with some ugly Delphi exception. I've looked into the source code and found that the value is stored in a byte and Delphi dies when it wants to store a too big value in it.

Since I have gl2 in my YIM contact list, I could report the error directly without coming here. All in all, the bugfix isn't specially for me, I was just the one who reported it.

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 19:34
by minime
Csaboka wrote:
minime wrote:
gl2 wrote:Error corrected: "data" variable in Action D now WORD. (for Csaboka)
Now why would Csaba want that?
I was coding some GRF with GRFMaker (I forgot what it was, probably just a quick test), and I wanted to do an action D that sets a variable to a value higher than 255. When pressing OK, GRFMaker died with some ugly Delphi exception. I've looked into the source code and found that the value is stored in a byte and Delphi dies when it wants to store a too big value in it.

Since I have gl2 in my YIM contact list, I could report the error directly without coming here. All in all, the bugfix isn't specially for me, I was just the one who reported it.
That's understandable, but it's not what I was asking (it makes no difference whether you reported the bug here or when you saw him in the pub). My (and Dale's as well) point is that it's still wrong - it should be a doubleword, not a byte neither a word.

Posted: 11 Feb 2006 21:10
by Csaboka
minime wrote:That's understandable, but it's not what I was asking (it makes no difference whether you reported the bug here or when you saw him in the pub). My (and Dale's as well) point is that it's still wrong - it should be a doubleword, not a byte neither a word.
Well, I haven't told him to make it be a word. I think I told him to make it a doubleword, but I might have forgotten about that part. Anyway, he said he'll fix it soon.

Posted: 19 Feb 2006 02:27
by Aegir
Recently, in either GRFMaker v3.00 or Wine 0.9.8, the mysterious .lst deletion on GRFMaker exit bug has dissapeared.

If this is a fix in GRFMaker v3.00, then THANKYOU THANKYOU THANKYOU! Now I don't have to use convoluted scripts to fix restore backups etc...

If not, remind me to offer the Wine devs a beer.

Posted: 19 Feb 2006 17:29
by DeletedUser21
maybe that I'm blind or anything, but where can I find grfmaker to install it on my pc?
Can someone tell me please? :)

Posted: 19 Feb 2006 17:32
by jvassie
PM Szappy for it!

Posted: 19 Feb 2006 17:48
by DeletedUser21
hmmm, okay, I will do that!
thanks!

Posted: 20 Feb 2006 21:44
by jvassie
No problems Mr. X, got it working?

Szappy, i think there is a bug ive found in the program that stops you having a HP larger than 10000...

James

Posted: 11 Mar 2006 20:26
by jvassie
Sorry for the double post, but any idea if this is fixable Szappy? The Swiss Set has several engines over 10k HP and i cant program it! :P

Posted: 18 Mar 2006 14:51
by DaleStan
http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... ion0Trains

AIUI, GRFMaker provides a method of entering arbitrary NFO.

Posted: 11 Apr 2006 22:47
by lws1984
Thanks, I love GRFMaker, but I encountered an error and I can't quite figure it out....

"Error loading new graphics:
File "newgrf\01800w.grf" has invalid sprite
#24 (code 10/ 8)"

There shoudn't be a space inbetween the slash and 8, that's just to prevent smilies.

Here's the GRF in question.

Posted: 11 Apr 2006 23:39
by DaleStan
lws1984 wrote:Here's the GRF in question.
No it isn't. That file has invalid sprite #25 (code 10/8)

http://wiki.ttdpatch.net/tiki-index.php ... riteErrors

Code: Select all

Code	Meaning
10	  Action 2 (var./random) or action 3 refers to an action 2 cargo-id that hasn't been defined yet
So either (1) you coded an action 2 or 3 that refers to an ID you did not previously define, or (2) GRFMaker is broken, and debugging this will require the .lst, and maybe the png/pcx/whatever too.

(And you can prevent smilies without adding extra characters to your post; there's a useful little "Disable Smilies in this post" checkbox.)

@Szappy/gl2: Putting one-byte pseudos in an action 1 block is considered bad style, and doesn't actually save any real-sprite space over having real-sprites. Please don't do that; if you only need 1 sprite, only output one sprite.

Posted: 12 Apr 2006 00:39
by lws1984
Hmm, thanks DaleStan.

Here's the .lst file and .pcs, zipped because the forums won't all .lst or .pcx extensions.