Page 7 of 10

Posted: 31 Mar 2004 22:29
by krtaylor
Right, so rather than have each building having one permanent destination, you have each person pick a destination based on the algorithm I described above. More realistic.

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 07:49
by GoneWacko
MagicBuzz, totally off-topic but I just HAVE to know.

Is your avatar a drawing by Louis Royo, perhaps?? :)

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 10:32
by Villem
krtaylor wrote:Right, so rather than have each building having one permanent destination, you have each person pick a destination based on the algorithm I described above. More realistic.
I would prefer that wouldnt be implemented, one thing i hate in simutrans is that ya can just take something to where ya want, i would like that they keep the transporting model true toTTD.

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 11:05
by tmesisbob
Akalamanaia wrote:I would prefer that wouldnt be implemented, one thing i hate in simutrans is that ya can just take something to where ya want, i would like that they keep the transporting model true toTTD.
Hi, forgive me if I have missed something obvious, but does the passenger transport model of TTD not allow you to send passengers to any accepting station? (id est, you can take them to where you want).

Personally I like the idea of having some form of 'fixed' destination (set) for each passenger in the world, with this destination changing after a certain amount of time. This allows for the emulation of real life flows, where people have a regular routine of travelling to the same (set) of places, a routine which will inevitably change over time due to job and home relocations.

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 12:53
by GoneWacko
Prolly already proposed: Dragging diagonal tracks...
Dunno how it would look though, because two diags can be put on one square.

Hmm. yes... When building something the cell highlights in white.. Maybe make it highlight in a diagonal triangle when you place diagonal tracks? :roll:

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 13:01
by MagicBuzz
GoneWacko wrote:MagicBuzz, totally off-topic but I just HAVE to know.

Is your avatar a drawing by Louis Royo, perhaps?? :)
LOL
Yes, it is ;)
You can see a bigger picture here : http://roxon.koralka.cz/scifi/royo/royo21.jpg

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 19:14
by MagicBuzz
Another good stuff that should be great (but hard to code) :)

In real world, when trains pass throw complexe crossways, more than one train can run at the same time. In TTD, and OpenTTD, all trains stops even if there was no risk of collision.

Exemple :
Image

A train A (blue) and a train B (green) can pass throw the crossway at the same time without any risk, so they should not wait as they do now...

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 19:19
by GoneWacko
Indeed.

I think it just needs some crash colision in advance.

if (free platform reachable without crashing into other train) {
wait
} else {
go
}

or actually, it should also work without a station. So more like 'if possible destination reachable without crashing into other train' :)

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 19:32
by krtaylor
Yes, this is an interchange block. I suggested it for TTD here:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=4751
but it turned out not to be possible, because trains don't figure out their routes in advance. I would imagine there would be a way to arrange it in OpenTTD.

Posted: 01 Apr 2004 21:49
by Bjarni
GoneWacko wrote:Prolly already proposed: Dragging diagonal tracks...
Dunno how it would look though, because two diags can be put on one square.

Hmm. yes... When building something the cell highlights in white.. Maybe make it highlight in a diagonal triangle when you place diagonal tracks? :roll:
ludde already did that in the newest code on SVN :D

About MagicBuzz's idea, I though of the same, but it's rather hard to do. I don't think we will see that soon :(

another way to do it would be to place some sort of signal between the two tracks, but that would need a new definition of signals, so that's not easy either. I guess the best we can do for a while is planning tracks like we have gone used to with TTDpatch

Posted: 02 Apr 2004 08:13
by GoneWacko
hmm I don't know how CVS or SVN or whatever works...
I suck too much.. :roll:

I know I can just login to a CVS and do something like update or something, but it's just not completely clear to me how it works :)

Posted: 02 Apr 2004 12:54
by Bjarni
How to get the source from SVN

read this:
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=6664

Posted: 03 Apr 2004 12:53
by Villem
Trams in the distant shady future of OTTD...when someone decides to implement them..

Posted: 03 Apr 2004 16:04
by guyver6
Hi guys,

I'm new here on forums, but 've been playing TTD since its release. Well, ekhm... you know... Hello Everyone :)

I just thought of great feature that could come in handy: automatic tracks replacement. All about it's greatness is that it should allow you to automaticly change particular line of for example electrified railway with ie. monorail, when it's available. Just point-and-click one segment of track which belongs to line you want to upgrade, and all segments, depots and stations which are connected with it upgrades. Of course it should cost some $$$ :).

The one main problem which comes in mind is what 'bout trains? Hm... maybe all trains should be sent to a depot and when track upgrade occures all engines upgraded? I need to give it a little more thought, but the idea seams to me to be very helpful.

Guyver

Posted: 03 Apr 2004 16:57
by MagicBuzz
guyver6 wrote:Hi guys,

I'm new here on forums, but 've been playing TTD since its release. Well, ekhm... you know... Hello Everyone :)

I just thought of great feature that could come in handy: automatic tracks replacement. All about it's greatness is that it should allow you to automaticly change particular line of for example electrified railway with ie. monorail, when it's available. Just point-and-click one segment of track which belongs to line you want to upgrade, and all segments, depots and stations which are connected with it upgrades. Of course it should cost some $$$ :).

The one main problem which comes in mind is what 'bout trains? Hm... maybe all trains should be sent to a depot and when track upgrade occures all engines upgraded? I need to give it a little more thought, but the idea seams to me to be very helpful.

Guyver
This already exists in the ttdpatch.
-> You need to use cheat codes. Turn on cheat cost and then use the convert rails type cheat. All you lines will be upgraded for the cost of rebuilding theim. It's instantaneous, and trains don't change their way. By this way, you can convert steam train to maglev train also :)

Posted: 03 Apr 2004 21:59
by guyver6
Yeah, I know it's there, but it converts all tracks of one type to another, and i'm talking 'bout converting praticular, closed routes (lines, whatever :) ), like you can choose to convert your most profitable route to maglev, when it comes available, but leave rest as monorails, becouse in example you don't have enough money to convert all monorail engines to maglev ones, or for whatever reason you could thing of.

Guyver

Posted: 04 Apr 2004 09:52
by Villem
MagicBuzz wrote:
guyver6 wrote:Hi guys,

I'm new here on forums, but 've been playing TTD since its release. Well, ekhm... you know... Hello Everyone :)

I just thought of great feature that could come in handy: automatic tracks replacement. All about it's greatness is that it should allow you to automaticly change particular line of for example electrified railway with ie. monorail, when it's available. Just point-and-click one segment of track which belongs to line you want to upgrade, and all segments, depots and stations which are connected with it upgrades. Of course it should cost some $$$ :).

The one main problem which comes in mind is what 'bout trains? Hm... maybe all trains should be sent to a depot and when track upgrade occures all engines upgraded? I need to give it a little more thought, but the idea seams to me to be very helpful.

Guyver
This already exists in the ttdpatch.
-> You need to use cheat codes. Turn on cheat cost and then use the convert rails type cheat. All you lines will be upgraded for the cost of rebuilding theim. It's instantaneous, and trains don't change their way. By this way, you can convert steam train to maglev train also :)
You can also replace tracks in TTDPATCH with drawing i.e electric track over normal track.

Posted: 04 Apr 2004 11:58
by BJB
I think the gameplay is most importants so all those discussions about graphics dont mean much to me.

The biggest improvement for me would be bigger maps. If thats is added the game really differens from TTDpatch and more and more people will start to play openTTD. You can try to just catch up with patch but I think adding a few important features that the patch does NOT have will be really good for the game.

Posted: 04 Apr 2004 14:25
by guyver6
Akalamanaia wrote:You can also replace tracks in TTDPATCH with drawing i.e electric track over normal track.
Well yes, but changing through-whole-map route could be very time-consuming, and with one-click-upgrade you just select the route and viola. I'm lazy, you know :)

Guyver

Posted: 04 Apr 2004 16:30
by Telekoman
Hello guys i'm new in this forum but not to TTD. i've been playing for ages and seeing that people are trying to improve the game by rewritting the code is a wonderful piece of news. I'd love to help in this release of OpenTTD but i got no idea how to program in C. Anyone can drop a hint to web-pages or somewere to learn?¿

I have read through the discussion and i must say that some odf the ideas are great others not so much but it is nice to see people still on touch with this game.

My ideas are this: The maintenance system. It os really a bit weird that a train enters a depot and in less than 2 seconds leaves with its features improved. It would be better (and more realistic) if the time the train stays int he depot would be longer.
Also the depots are a bit unrealistic. I've seen that now changing the grafics is not the high priority but it would be nice to get BIGGER depots. Else how would a huge train get into a single depot¿? If that does not convince you all meaby changing the capacities of the depot. Maximum three trains or something.

Well hope to hear from you people and hope that my ideas might be taken in consideration. I'd love to learns C but i could help you if you are thinking to translate the game to spanish (im spanish :P ) so tell me if interested.

Be seeing you.

Telekoman