Digitalfox NML Questions!
Moderator: Graphics Moderators
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
allowing NewGRF to provide the movement patterns ("state machines") for custom airport layouts was planned, but never fully implemented.
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Hi Eddi, I'm aware that, I remember topics about it, but to be honest the movement pattern is fine by me, it's just that movement pattern starts at 0,0 (If you know what I meanEddi wrote:allowing NewGRF to provide the movement patterns ("state machines") for custom airport layouts was planned, but never fully implemented.

Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
no, that is not possible either.
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Ok. Yeah yesterday I started changing aircraft_movement and airports tiles in source, but It's a lot of code that can in the future be changed in trunk and make my savegames incompatible... I'm divided on what to doEddi wrote:no, that is not possible either.

-
- Transport Coordinator
- Posts: 260
- Joined: 09 Apr 2014 11:10
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
If the tiles you are trying to add are purely cosmetic, why not simply modify the ogfx-airport-objects grf and extend your airports with NewObject tiles? It's a lot easier than re-defining state machines, etc in the game code, it also has the benefit of giving more flexibility with the layouts. For example this screenshot, somewhere in there is a real, usable small airport
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Yeah took that routeEddy Arfik wrote:If the tiles you are trying to add are purely cosmetic, why not simply modify the ogfx-airport-objects grf and extend your airports with NewObject tiles? It's a lot easier than re-defining state machines, etc in the game code, it also has the benefit of giving more flexibility with the layouts. For example this screenshot, somewhere in there is a real, usable small airport

- Attachments
-
- Airport.png (565.74 KiB) Viewed 1845 times
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Good night fellow TT friends!
I'm creating, as above is showed, NewGRF Objects.
I've been using opengfx-landscape as example successfully.
But now almost all my Objects (for Airports at this point) are created and I'm cleaning my code.
My question is:
What does "13" represent? 

I'm creating, as above is showed, NewGRF Objects.
I've been using opengfx-landscape as example successfully.
But now almost all my Objects (for Airports at this point) are created and I'm cleaning my code.
My question is:
Code: Select all
object_flags: bitmask(OBJ_FLAG_ANYTHING_REMOVE, OBJ_FLAG_NO_FOUNDATIONS, OBJ_FLAG_ALLOW_BRIDGE, OBJ_FLAG_DRAW_WATER, OBJ_FLAG_ON_WATER, 13);

- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Ah ok, many thanks Eddi 

Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Well, if you want to use that, better use "OBJ_FLAG_SCALE_BY_WATER" 
I guess the 13 is only a remnant from testing the feature.

I guess the 13 is only a remnant from testing the feature.
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
To be honest I did think it was something not needed in my case since I tried with and without it and had no effect, but instead of just removing and then a few months from now on a savegame some problem arise, I thout it was better to just make sure on what it didfrosch wrote:Well, if you want to use that, better use "OBJ_FLAG_SCALE_BY_WATER"
I guess the 13 is only a remnant from testing the feature.

- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
I'm trying to compile latest build of Zbase: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/zbuild/n ... T/?C=M&O=D r256
I get: ERROR: Indices 0xD7..0xE2 are not allowed in recolour sprites when the output is in the WIN palette
This a untouched source compile.
Command used: nmlc -c --grf zbase_base.grf zbase_base.nml
Version of NML used: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/nml/nigh ... -win32.zip
I've compiled zBase a few months ago, don't remember hitting this show stopper
I get: ERROR: Indices 0xD7..0xE2 are not allowed in recolour sprites when the output is in the WIN palette
This a untouched source compile.
Command used: nmlc -c --grf zbase_base.grf zbase_base.nml
Version of NML used: http://bundles.openttdcoop.org/nml/nigh ... -win32.zip
I've compiled zBase a few months ago, don't remember hitting this show stopper

- planetmaker
- OpenTTD Developer
- Posts: 9432
- Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
- Location: Sol d
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
You probably compiled using and forcing the DOS palette for it by additionally using the -p DEFAULT
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Yep it worked!planetmaker wrote:You probably compiled using and forcing the DOS palette for it by additionally using the -p DEFAULT

Strangely I don't recall using it before, but it was months ago, maybe after so many GRF's I've compiled this last 6 months I forgot

- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
How do you only disable NMLC output animation warnings, no other errors or warnings, just the "pixels are animated" ones?
- planetmaker
- OpenTTD Developer
- Posts: 9432
- Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
- Location: Sol d
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
you don't. Currently you cannot switch on or off individual warning types other than fixing them. In this case you fix all those warnings by either fixing the sprites (if they are not supposed to be animated) and especially by giving those real sprites the appropriate flags which indicates whether they contain animated pixels.Digitalfox wrote:How do you only disable NMLC output animation warnings, no other errors or warnings, just the "pixels are animated" ones?
http://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NML:Realsprites
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
Ok got it!
Thank you planetmaker

Thank you planetmaker

-
- Tycoon
- Posts: 2792
- Joined: 22 Feb 2011 18:34
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
If they are not supposed to be animated, you might want to look at TIQ, to convert the animation colors to their non-animated counterparts.
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
A year later, I'm back to my project 
So after updating all the tools and start right from I left I'm stumbling at this on my zbase compile, I've must messed something before my 1 year pause, this was my last change a year ago...
On game the sprites are fine, this is the Monorail depot sprites on temperate.

So after updating all the tools and start right from I left I'm stumbling at this on my zbase compile, I've must messed something before my 1 year pause, this was my last change a year ago...
Code using /nml/nightlies/v5850-426/:nmlc warning: "zbase_base.nml", line 3837: Sprites are already defined for base_graphics-block 'spr1145' for this zoom level / bit depth combination. This data will be overridden.
Code: Select all
base_graphics spr1145(1145, "gfx/X_OpenGFX/infrastructure\infra06.png") { [ 2, 5016, 12, 8, 15, 6] }
alternative_sprites(spr1145, ZOOM_LEVEL_NORMAL, BIT_DEPTH_32BPP, "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145.png", "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145m.png") { [0, 0, 52, 42, -25, -18] }
alternative_sprites(spr1145, ZOOM_LEVEL_IN_2X, BIT_DEPTH_32BPP, "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145_z1.png", "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145_z1m.png") { [0, 0, 103, 84, -50, -37] } //This is line 3837
alternative_sprites(spr1145, ZOOM_LEVEL_IN_4X, BIT_DEPTH_32BPP, "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145_z0.png", "gfx/X_EZ_GFX/base/1145_z0m.png") { [0, 0, 205, 167, -100, -73] }
- Digitalfox
- Chief Executive
- Posts: 710
- Joined: 28 Oct 2004 04:42
- Location: Catch the Fox if you can...
Re: Digitalfox NML Questions!
I eliminated .nmlcache folder and seems the error is gone...
It re-encoded everything and it seems it cleared the warnings...
It re-encoded everything and it seems it cleared the warnings...
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests