Page 6 of 40
Posted: 25 Jan 2007 10:51
by DaleStan
Which step are you having troubles with?
Posted: 25 Jan 2007 11:31
by gigajum
If your not a programmer, you better forget about adding diff/patch files because you need to compile the source yourself. Ok that should not be hard. But if there are problems in the source which must be fixed before you can compile, you should own programming knowledge.
For me it was clear after i read the
post of MeusH, how to work with TortoiseSVN. Maybe the
wiki helps in addition. See
http://wiki.openttd.org/index.php/Categ ... ng_OpenTTD
Posted: 25 Jan 2007 11:42
by MagicBuzz
The biggest problem with compiling isn't really eventual bugs.
Most of the time you can get an older version of the source code that can compile, or find easy ways to fix the bugs (adding comments and deactiating the concerned patch).
The big deal comes with external libs and links you need to compile the game.
Documentation isn't really clear on wiki, and I remember spending like 3 hours to be able to compile the game for the first time.
After this, I had to find where the help my compiled binary was (in the middle of thousands useless pre-compiled files), and thinking about compiling languages files at the same time.
May be the wiki documentation should be improved to help people compiling with VS 2005 C++ Express, as it's free and a project file is compatible with this GUID.
Posted: 26 Jan 2007 08:06
by Fee
DaleStan wrote:Which step are you having troubles with?
I have no clue...
Let's say I want to apply a patch, any patch to MiniIN, and I can only find a .diff or .patch file. Will I be able, stupid as I am, to apply this patch to the game, if so, how?
So far the only thing I got was that I have to compile it, but where do that file go?
Looked at the wiki, but it seemed to be just a lot of links to god knows where.
Posted: 26 Jan 2007 08:19
by DaleStan
The patch file goes wherever you please.
And you follow the directions; there are several sets at the beginning of this thread. Which one is correct depends on which other software you have. Which one are you using?
Posted: 27 Jan 2007 23:44
by Fee
DaleStan wrote:The patch file goes wherever you please.
And you follow the directions; there are several sets at the beginning of this thread. Which one is correct depends on which other software you have. Which one are you using?
I am using windows, and just dlled tortoiseSVN, I'll follow one of the instructions for that, saw it on page one on this thread.
Is it posible to install a patch if I don't have any programming exp at all?
Posted: 04 Feb 2007 21:10
by Donoteat
Patch files aren't working for me.
TortoiseSVN keeps giving me errors for every .patch or .diff I give it. I've been following MeusH's instructions, but it keeps saying "C:\...ai\trolly is not a working entry. Can't open file C:\...ai\trolly\.svn\entries. The system cannot find the files specified.[/quote]
Posted: 05 Feb 2007 03:57
by DaleStan
You need to apply the patch to an SVN checkout, not just any arbitrary directory.
EDIT: Now I'm suddenly getting that error for no good reason. I think my TSVN install got Ideas™ from you. Please don't do that.
I'll post again if I figure out what's going on.
Posted: 05 Feb 2007 14:24
by hertogjan
It seems like TortoiseSVN messes up sometimes. You may have to do a cleanup. If all is right, then the cleanup should succeed (it shows "clean-up successful" or something similar). Then do a checkout and all should be okay.
If the cleanup fails (which happens sometimes), you'll have to fix it manually, for instance by deleting the file or folder that is causing the problems, and then attempt to check out again. If there are more files or folders with problems, then you may have to repeat these steps.
If that doesn't help either, then it may be better to delete the folder entirely and to do a new checkout.
Posted: 05 Feb 2007 16:10
by DaleStan
Another trick that sometimes works is to kill the TSVNCache.exe process. Sometimes the cache just breaks, and this is the only way to reset it.
I noticed that my cache was broken not long after I got that error. cum hoc, ergo propter hoc, right?
Posted: 18 Feb 2007 22:29
by Aerond
For non-programming users, could anybody add a few steps to Meush post with screenies from a clean OpenTTD install??
Posted: 05 Apr 2007 13:35
by matrixs
maybe for programers beginers too can be made the small "how to do it"
because Im learning just 1 year C# an we havent told yet how to create
something.exe

Posted: 05 Apr 2007 13:37
by belugas
Posted: 09 Apr 2007 12:23
by ColdIce
Hy... I want to add tramroads patch to openttd! now: I`ve downloaded
Patch: drive trough road stops, the exe version wich I supose is already patched. I want to use both patches: tramroads and road stops! Can I do that? and if I can, do I need the sourcecode of the game (
THIS one ) ?
Posted: 09 Apr 2007 13:22
by DaleStan
Yes, Yes, and Not that. You want the nightly source. [url]svn://svn.openttd.org/trunk[/url].
Posted: 09 Apr 2007 18:33
by ColdIce
Ok.. that link doesn`t work ! I`ve tried openttd.org :
http://www.openttd.org/downloads.php Can I use something from here??
Posted: 09 Apr 2007 19:21
by Wolf01
that link is to download the sources by a subversion client, like tortoiseSVN under windows
Posted: 09 Apr 2007 22:54
by ColdIce
I haved installed TurtoiseSVN ! Followed steps from page 1, but I have a major problem and it looks like this:
Does this mean I did something wrong, the patch is wrong ? and what can I do because I really want to use tramroads.
Posted: 10 Apr 2007 00:00
by DaleStan
ColdIce wrote:Does this mean I did something wrong, the patch is wrong ?
You need the revision specified by the patch file. It's not guaranteed to apply to any other revision. Update to that revision. (The "Update to revision..." option.)
That, or this is the second patch you're applying, in which case you need to learn C/C++, so you can determine the correct resolution for that conflict.
Posted: 10 Apr 2007 01:02
by ColdIce
ok I did that thx... now the big question: how can I make the thing .exe ?

Only thing I konow is that I have to compile the entire folder, but I don't know what program does that and what should I do! I'm using Windows