[Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock + binary 25 (r27452)

Forum for technical discussions regarding development. If you have a general suggestion, problem or comment, please use one of the other forums.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
Chris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 05 Oct 2009 16:36
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock

Post by Chris » 07 Sep 2010 21:19

Wasila wrote:That too...
Vitus wrote:Likely because of forum limitation (4 MiB maximum size of attachment).
Wasila wrote:Class 165, I prefer uploading on Rapidshare because I can see the progress of the upload and see if it's working instead of the mysterious 'Uploading' pop-up on the forums.
Three good reasons :D . Also thanks for doing the compiling :P .
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165

bwong
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 681
Joined: 06 Feb 2009 02:46
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock

Post by bwong » 07 Sep 2010 21:20

just wondering, Wasila, is that fancy grf picker thingy at the start menu standard?
Check out some of my work

hthhs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 03 Sep 2010 12:58
Location: London, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock

Post by hthhs » 07 Sep 2010 21:54

bwong wrote:I might be going a little bit off topic, but talking about the departure board, is it possible to incorporate which platform the train will be using?
That would be really cool. Unfortunately, doing it would be incredibly difficult if not impossible as you'd have to work out from the layout of the station what platforms it has, and furthermore predict which platform each train will go to (including signals and the effects of other trains, some of which may not be stopping at the station.) Sorry :(
Wasila wrote:http://rapidshare.com/files/417711813/D ... r20762.zip

THIS is the proper compiled patch. Enjoy :).
Thank you again! :D
Wasila wrote:As a matter of interest, do you get an error message about GRFs on start-up?
Yes :(

Wasila
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1498
Joined: 15 Mar 2008 07:02

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Wasila » 08 Sep 2010 05:53

Thanks for helping me fix my error... downloading the latest OpenGFX and replacing the old one with it fixes the message.

User avatar
AndersI
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1732
Joined: 19 Apr 2004 20:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock

Post by AndersI » 08 Sep 2010 08:46

hthhs wrote:
bwong wrote:I might be going a little bit off topic, but talking about the departure board, is it possible to incorporate which platform the train will be using?
That would be really cool. Unfortunately, doing it would be incredibly difficult if not impossible as you'd have to work out from the layout of the station what platforms it has, and furthermore predict which platform each train will go to (including signals and the effects of other trains, some of which may not be stopping at the station.) Sorry :(
You could cheat: Generate a random platform number 1-6 and when people complain that the wrong number is displayed in the departure board just tell them "it's simulating reality"...

:-)
Sorry, couldn't resist.

User avatar
Chris
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1985
Joined: 05 Oct 2009 16:36
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Chris » 08 Sep 2010 17:28

AndersI wrote:You could cheat: Generate a random platform number 1-6 and when people complain that the wrong number is displayed in the departure board just tell them "it's simulating reality"...

:-)
Sorry, couldn't resist.
Only put up the platform number 5 minutes before departure - that is reality.
Screenshots

Formerly Class 165

bwong
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 681
Joined: 06 Feb 2009 02:46
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by bwong » 09 Sep 2010 00:00

like openttd shows reserved track, which usually dictates which track will be open, and which isn't, right?
so with that information, can't it say which track the train will be going to?
Check out some of my work

hthhs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 03 Sep 2010 12:58
Location: London, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by hthhs » 09 Sep 2010 11:26

bwong wrote:like openttd shows reserved track, which usually dictates which track will be open, and which isn't, right?
so with that information, can't it say which track the train will be going to?
Tracks are only reserved when using pbs, and even then only the track to the next signal is reserved, so the platform would only be definitely known a couple of days/minutes before the train pulls into the station. That isn't enough to make me want to go to the trouble of implementing it.

bwong
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 681
Joined: 06 Feb 2009 02:46
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by bwong » 10 Sep 2010 01:56

I will find a way to pay you, if you could
but....
that again would depend on prices.

I'm kindof kiding. anyways, thanks
Check out some of my work

User avatar
Dwight_K._Schrute
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Dwight_K._Schrute » 10 Sep 2010 08:54

Wow that looks amazing!!! I'll try to patch my CargoDist-Game which is r20721... I hope it works anyway...


EDIT:

Oh s***.... this is SVN right? And I have the CargoDist-version in GIT... I'm really not a pro... so I don't know how to mix it... ;(

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7420
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Eddi » 10 Sep 2010 09:45

Price list:

Interesting problems: 30€ per hour or 10 lines of code

Boring problems: 120€ per hour or 10 lines of code
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

welshdragon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2145
Joined: 27 Jul 2007 15:45
Location: Sunny Wales, Boyo!
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by welshdragon » 10 Sep 2010 10:29

hthhs wrote:
bwong wrote:like openttd shows reserved track, which usually dictates which track will be open, and which isn't, right?
so with that information, can't it say which track the train will be going to?
Tracks are only reserved when using pbs, and even then only the track to the next signal is reserved, so the platform would only be definitely known a couple of days/minutes before the train pulls into the station. That isn't enough to make me want to go to the trouble of implementing it.
I think you'll find that in real life platforms can be assigned as late as when the signaller has set the route (here in the uk anyway) so your point is moot.
Semi-Retired TT-Forums Member.
These days I'm:
[list][*]A Local Transport Representative for Bus Users Cymru
[*]Social Media Advisxer for Bus Users Cymru
[*]Volunteer and Fundraiser for Guide Dogs[/list]
flickr | twitter | YouTube | Facebook | Steam

I used to be an idiot called tycoonmarkj.

hthhs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 03 Sep 2010 12:58
Location: London, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by hthhs » 10 Sep 2010 11:45

bwong wrote:I will find a way to pay you, if you could
but....
that again would depend on prices.

I'm kindof kiding. anyways, thanks
I really hope my post didn't come across as implying that I wanted paying to do it! :( I meant that the extra enjoyment I'd get from the game personally with the feature added isn't worth the effort I'd have to put in to implement it.
Dwight_K._Schrute wrote:Oh s***.... this is SVN right? And I have the CargoDist-version in GIT... I'm really not a pro... so I don't know how to mix it... ;(
Sorry, I can't help with patching a cargodist build. I don't expect that the patches overlap much though, except in the language and settings files (and even then it will probably be that the line numbers to be patched have moved around due to cargodist also having inserted lines.)
welshdragon wrote:I think you'll find that in real life platforms can be assigned as late as when the signaller has set the route (here in the uk anyway) so your point is moot.
My point was more that it'd only be shown for a few seconds of real time, regardless of whether it corresponds to the real world. Sorry, I should have been more explicit.

Wasila
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1498
Joined: 15 Mar 2008 07:02

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Wasila » 10 Sep 2010 12:54

You don't need to use git to download CargoDist - there are numerous diffs scattered around the thread which you can use to patch the game as well.

User avatar
Dwight_K._Schrute
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 209
Joined: 01 Sep 2010 11:29

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Dwight_K._Schrute » 10 Sep 2010 16:13

It's really great... Thank you :D

But instead of the name of the company I would prefer the train's name... e.g ICE 280 or BUS Line 1 or something like that.. so you can see if it's a bus, train metro.... in big stations

But that's only a detail... GREAT JOB :)

hthhs
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 107
Joined: 03 Sep 2010 12:58
Location: London, UK

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by hthhs » 10 Sep 2010 19:54

Dwight_K._Schrute wrote:It's really great... Thank you :D

But instead of the name of the company I would prefer the train's name... e.g ICE 280 or BUS Line 1 or something like that.. so you can see if it's a bus, train metro.... in big stations

But that's only a detail... GREAT JOB :)
Thank you :) I'm glad you like it!

It's not quite what you're asking for, but you can filter departures by vehicle type (road vehicle, train, ship, plane) using the little buttons at the bottom right of the window.

bwong
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 681
Joined: 06 Feb 2009 02:46
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by bwong » 10 Sep 2010 22:52

err... I was kiding.
:(
Check out some of my work

zde-nek
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 15 Jun 2008 20:34
Location: Prague

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by zde-nek » 11 Sep 2010 10:32

i would also like to see vehicle name. it contains vehicle category and number in my games - like first two columns in this photo Image

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock

Post by Zuu » 12 Sep 2010 09:03

bwong wrote:just wondering, Wasila, is that fancy grf picker thingy at the start menu standard?
Do you refer to the new NewGRF settings dialog? In that case, it is included in trunk (nightlies) since one or two months ago or so.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

Wasila
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1498
Joined: 15 Mar 2008 07:02

Re: [Patch] Departure boards, 24h clock (+ binary)

Post by Wasila » 12 Sep 2010 15:28

Oh, sorry, I missed that post. What Zuu said <_<.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests