[WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Discuss, get help with, or post new modifications, graphics or related tools for Locomotion in this forum.

Moderator: Locomotion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

[WIP/REL] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 16 Jul 2009 12:21

UK Steam V4.0 Update Pack Released

A little update containing new trains and a few fixes, avaliable here and on AMI Trains. This doesn't contain the full set, so if you don't already have V3.0 then install it first.

UK Steam Pack V3.0

Version V3.0 available for download on AMI Trains, big thanks to Andel and Plastikman.

Some shots of the locomotives in action:
Image


Enjoy :)
Attachments
UK Steam V4 Update.zip
(1.94 MiB) Downloaded 539 times
Last edited by DJC on 06 Jun 2011 16:09, edited 10 times in total.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
rdrdrdrd
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1423
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 15:38
Location: Virginia

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by rdrdrdrd » 16 Jul 2009 14:36

The only suggestion I have is to talk with some of the more experianced people about smoother graphics :wink:, but I think they could only slightly be improved, great work DJC
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Kevo00 » 16 Jul 2009 15:44

Wow, they look very neat.

User avatar
kingmush360
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 471
Joined: 02 Sep 2008 13:20
Location: At the computer, playing Locomotion!

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by kingmush360 » 16 Jul 2009 19:03

Ooh GWR Locos eh?

I have always loved the Castle class

I'll find some statistics for you!

Wheel arrangement: 4-6-0
Power: I'd say about 1,950 hp
Speed: Often achieved 100mph on Cheltenham flyer.
Inv date: 1923
Obsolete date: never (in my mind)
Capacity: (if you want) 2 passengers (fireman & driver (why didn't Chris count those?))
10tons coal (tender)
Reliability: Castles were known for their reliabilty so about 90% I'd guess
Weight: 125 tons

Thanks
Kingmush360
Kingmush, being awkward and trying to mod since 2008.

User avatar
mmarvelstrain
Director
Director
Posts: 612
Joined: 27 Nov 2008 18:41
Location: South US

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by mmarvelstrain » 16 Jul 2009 21:15

looking quite nice
Locomotion is kool with a capital k TM
Look what I Made (Name That Plane)
http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=41042

User avatar
noofnoof
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1889
Joined: 25 Mar 2008 10:11
Location: A house in Australia...

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by noofnoof » 17 Jul 2009 07:04

kingmush360 wrote:Capacity: (if you want) 2 passengers (fireman & driver (why didn't Chris count those?))
probably because the driver doesnt pay you to drive your train.

User avatar
60007
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 17:01

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by 60007 » 18 Jul 2009 15:02

Very nice, but what happened to the A4's and the Duchess you were making?
LNER and LMS, Kings of The ECML and WCML
GWR - Gresley Was Right
WIPS: Various UK Stuffs for Locomotion

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 20 Jul 2009 21:53

Don't worry, they are pretty much ready to go, but I plan to release them as part of a pack of British steam locomotives and stock. To be fair Plastikman did all the hard work on those getting the graphics looking so good. The screenshot below shows the 3 locos from him, plus the Silver Jubilee coaches converted by me. The green loco on the right is a GWR Dean Goods, the first tender engine I've had a go at, but I can't get it to make any steam. I think it might be something to do with not having the correct number of sprites, there's 360 in total, 32 non sloping and 16 sloping for both loco and tender. Any help would be really appreaciated.
Attachments
20_07_09.png
20_07_09.png (19.3 KiB) Viewed 15061 times
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

User avatar
rdrdrdrd
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1423
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 15:38
Location: Virginia

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by rdrdrdrd » 20 Jul 2009 23:02

great :D
it look rreally nice so people can see that this is not spam :?
Last edited by rdrdrdrd on 21 Jul 2009 15:41, edited 1 time in total.
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7032
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Badger » 21 Jul 2009 07:10

rdrdrdrd wrote:great :D
C'mon, that's just spam. 3 words at least please, you should know better.
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

User avatar
Kevo00
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5623
Joined: 07 Feb 2004 01:51
Location: East Coast MainLine

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Kevo00 » 21 Jul 2009 11:26

That is great. :D

(hopes post passes Badger quality test).

User avatar
Martin1990
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 363
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 09:10
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Martin1990 » 21 Jul 2009 11:33

Kevo00 wrote:(hopes post passes Badger quality test).
ok, that line made me laugh hehe...

and i like the looks of the loco's, especialy the blue one...
Image

User avatar
Badger
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7032
Joined: 10 Sep 2006 19:12
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Badger » 21 Jul 2009 16:55

Just obeying the rules.
The Rules wrote:1j. Spam of any kind is not tolerated here under any circumstance. The term "spam" includes, but is not limited to, unsolicited commercial marketing, flooding, boasting about post counts and single-word posts (for instance, a post only containing a smiley). Users posting spam will be warned and their post removed.
1k. Further to the previous rule, posts of under three words are considered spam (with the exception of the word games)
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||

User avatar
Martin1990
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 363
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 09:10
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Martin1990 » 21 Jul 2009 17:26

still, it sounded funny hehe
Image

User avatar
uktrackbuilder_loco
Director
Director
Posts: 573
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 18:57

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by uktrackbuilder_loco » 21 Jul 2009 18:36

DJC wrote:I've been working on some GWR tank engines. From left to right we have: 2-6-2 Large Prarie, 0-4-2 14xx Class and 0-6-0 57xx Pannier Tank.
I'm planning on doing some earlier locos and carriges too, including the famous 'City of Truro', as the game is a bit lacking in that department. Also planning to do engines from other companies too, I just started with GWR as Chris Sawyer didn't do any of their locomotives for the game. Any suggestions/requests would be welcome, I'll see what I can do. :)

sorry mate walter beat you to it

http://www.locomotion-fanpage.net/forum ... ileid=1197

User avatar
rdrdrdrd
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1423
Joined: 09 Mar 2008 15:38
Location: Virginia

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by rdrdrdrd » 21 Jul 2009 19:48

we all know walters trains are, um 8o , that explains it i think :wink:
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image

User avatar
Martin1990
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 363
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 09:10
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Martin1990 » 21 Jul 2009 20:43

dont realy like the looks of that one...
Image

User avatar
Plastikman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3941
Joined: 24 Dec 2005 03:14

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by Plastikman » 21 Jul 2009 20:51

uktrackbuilder_loco wrote:
sorry mate xxxxx beat you to it
that was posted that because that is what he does. watches other threads then releases the same items.

It happens over and over and over....
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!

User avatar
60007
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 82
Joined: 14 Jun 2008 17:01

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by 60007 » 21 Jul 2009 21:13

These look Fantastic!

I can just see a scenario with a map of Great Britian, with LNER locos thundering up the ECML, and Westerns working in wales, with LMS Locos on the WCML!


I really wish I could help in some way, I just wish I could learn how to make some damn locomotion sprites (the furthest I've got is getting models in, but the dimensions are wrong, which often has another loco/tree jammed under the model)

If I could make some Gresley Teaks, could I send the PNG's to you to or Plastikman to convert to locomotion to be released with this set?

~Andy
LNER and LMS, Kings of The ECML and WCML
GWR - Gresley Was Right
WIPS: Various UK Stuffs for Locomotion

User avatar
DJC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1384
Joined: 04 Jun 2005 14:34
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: [WIP] British Steam Locos

Post by DJC » 22 Jul 2009 00:11

uktrackbuilder_loco wrote:
DJC wrote:I've been working on some GWR tank engines. From left to right we have: 2-6-2 Large Prarie, 0-4-2 14xx Class and 0-6-0 57xx Pannier Tank.
I'm planning on doing some earlier locos and carriges too, including the famous 'City of Truro', as the game is a bit lacking in that department. Also planning to do engines from other companies too, I just started with GWR as Chris Sawyer didn't do any of their locomotives for the game. Any suggestions/requests would be welcome, I'll see what I can do. :)

sorry mate walter beat you to it

http://www.locomotion-fanpage.net/forum ... ileid=1197
Yeah I saw he had done some UK locos, not bad either. But I'll still do my own version, City of Truro is one of my favourite engines. You guys shouldn't really be criticizing when someone spends their own time making free add-ons for the game. Plus I don't see you not doing any better.

@Andy - Sure I don't mind helping. Sounds like your x and y offsets or the 'bogeypos' value in the xml aren't right. Show us a screenshot of the problem.

Oh yeah, and the problem I had earlier has been solved, my Dean Goods is now happily chuffing away.
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr

Post Reply

Return to “Locomotion Graphics, Modifications & Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests