Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:30 pm
Posts: 5619
Location: Atlantic Ocean
indeed, a bit too bright, but adorable at the same time. :) it needs a fair bit of work, but seen the progress, you'll het there. you could team up with these guys and do a full, awesome set.

_________________
"On the other hand, I have different fingers" -- The rascal formerly known as astath, loathing you and more specifically your religion. Anti-theist, be like it. -- Last.fm -- Official TT-Dave Worley Fan Club -- Good times.

Image

Image

<orudge> make love to me while I surf, dear lobster


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:08 am
Posts: 1037
Location: Perth, Western Australia
A little darker platform and a bit of texture on it as well would not go amiss. But great work so far. :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 2:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
Thanks for your suggestions! :D

I have made some changes:
- Name of GFR: "Tropical stations 2" (Here is Tropical stations), also, It will be available in all climates.
- Add platforms without roof (with some trash bins).
- Use company colors and a darker platforms.
- Allow building 2×4 tiles in one click.
- Creative commons license (BY-SA)


Attachments:
File comment: Screenshot
tropical stations2.png
tropical stations2.png [ 18.58 KiB | Viewed 17074 times ]
File comment: I must rename it as tropicalstations2.grf
madera.grf [3.47 KiB]
Downloaded 398 times
File comment: Sourcecode and PCX file.
Tropical stations0_2a.tar.gz [4.32 KiB]
Downloaded 251 times

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 8:33 pm
Posts: 2141
may i suggest that the "bar" of CC also run in front of the station, simulating that it will be a "ring" of CC-painted boards at the bottom? it also seem to be a px to tall in my eyes... I Mean, look at the "front" support board, it should perhaps be the same size as that one, plus paint that frontboard CC :)

_________________
Member of the
ImageImage


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
This is the next release of new station.
I have added some new elements, a underpass and some lights. The trash bins are smaller (1 px)
There are some things to do:
  • Try other colors
  • Draw some benches
  • Draw the CC in the front of wooden roofs(*)
  • Draw some buffers and other not track tiles.
  • Allow 7×7 stations
  • Allow other custom layouts...


Attachments:
File comment: GRF file
tropical_stations_2.grf [4.91 KiB]
Downloaded 2118 times
File comment: Screenshot
tropical stations2_03.png
tropical stations2_03.png [ 13.43 KiB | Viewed 16910 times ]
File comment: Sourcecode
Tropical stations0_3a.tar.gz [5.82 KiB]
Downloaded 1019 times

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:25 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 8:48 am
Posts: 130
Location: Wismar, Germany
It looks nice, light wooden roofs are very fitting for tropical.
But the underpass looks very... flat. Like a gradient with a white border around it drawn onto the platform. I actually had to think a few seconds before finding out what these things are supposed to be. Maybe you should look at underpasses from other station sets, or maybe my head is too heavy and my eyes too tired ;) . Also, in my opinion, the platforms could still use some more texture/noise.

_________________
halbmoki.tumblr.com <- my blog


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 6:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 11:40 pm
Posts: 23
Location: Norway
I love the roofs! Very nice for tropical passenger stations. Add a bit more texture to the platforms (perhaps especially the grey edges) and you're really getting somewhere :)

_________________
My GRFs:
NH Foundations v0.1 - Foundation replacements
NH Train Depot v0.1


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Sorry to dig up a rather old topic, (old indeed, I know :oops: ), but has anyone else besides me tried this Tropical Station? I just did for the first time, and while the Wooden Roofs work as supposed, the platforms don't. Instead when placing the platforms some of them are airport tiles - and cannot be removed afterwards. I'm running TTDP so that might just be the problem...

Thought I should make a note of it though... :))

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 1:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:43 am
Posts: 1808
Location: Spain
SAC wrote:
Sorry to dig up a rather old topic, (old indeed, I know :oops: ), but has anyone else besides me tried this Tropical Station? I just did for the first time, and while the Wooden Roofs work as supposed, the platforms don't. Instead when placing the platforms some of them are airport tiles - and cannot be removed afterwards. I'm running TTDP so that might just be the problem...

Thought I should make a note of it though... :))

I don't know, but I release the sprite and the coded GRF files under Creative commons BY license (If someone wants to create a set with them).

I can try to fix the GRF file.

_________________
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 6:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2004 4:35 pm
Posts: 1519
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Well, if I'm the only one trying out the .grf I wouldn't bother at all. It's been awhile since you released it, and it could very well be that it simply doesn't work properly under TTDP. I just found it lying there inside my "Library Folder" and wanted to check what it was... :))

_________________
Simuscape - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | Visual Studio | INFRA Diary

INFRA Downloads - Chose Your Destination;
Simuscape | INFRA - A World of its own


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:29 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9036
Location: Sol d
Thanks for digging this up - or I probably would never have found this newgrf. Especially the roof looks rather nice while I'd add a bit more greeble to the ground. With OpenTTD it works as expected for me wrt station building and removal.
EDIT: There's a small odditiy I just noticed in the station build window: the "Tropical Station 2" category is not highlighted when selected; but I'd not expect that to be a NewGRF error - even though it works for other sets like ISR.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Wooden roofs
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 10:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7120
my guess would be an incorrect use of a colour code in a newgrf-string

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Katve and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.