Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:40 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 704
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!
Thanks Kolijn Wolfaardt :)

Update: The bug still remains and appears, but now with a black box in the last nightly of openttd :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:13 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Somewhere
Hmmm, could you possibly post a screenshot? When I tested it seemed fine to me, but it's possible that I could have missed some possible setup.

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
Image

Toyland isn't a climate, its a mistake.
This message was transmitted on 100% recycled electrons

Don't pm, rather e-mail me.
New terrain graphics


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:12 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:42 am
Posts: 704
Location: Catch the Fox if you can... 15 years and counting!
The bug is in the same combination..

But before it was white, now black..

( No other newgrfs are loaded, and using the last nightly of openttd )

Ps: I am using the link for download in the first post on the topic you made!!

Update: after trying the other grf ( filename 299 ) i no longer have this problem..
I was using the grf 529, and what the first post points out is to 529 :oops:


Attachments:
File comment: Black box in bridge slope
Openttd Bug.PNG
Openttd Bug.PNG [ 88.88 KiB | Viewed 9800 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
Digital, think you'll find those numbers are randomly added by the forums when you download something. They arent part of the file itself.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 5:53 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 4:37 pm
Posts: 1804
Location: Britain
Hopefully when the phpbb3 becomes available this type of confusion will disappear.
(Since when you download a file, it doesn't have an extra parts to the filename).

~ Lakie

_________________
TTDpatch Developer 2005 - 2010 ~ It all started because of shortened vehicle not loading correctly, now look where I've gone with it!
Grfs coded ~ Finnish Train Set (Teaser) | Bm73 (Release 3) | Emu 680 (Release 3)| Glass Station (Release 1) | UK Roadset (Version 1.1a) | New Water Coasts (Version 7)
Pikka: "Lakie's a good coder, but before he'll add any feature to TTDP you have to convince him that you're not going to use it to destroy the world as we know it."


Top
   
 Post subject: Strange happenings
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:13 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Somewhere
Now this is getting strange. I tested the new terrain grf on OTTD version 0.4.7 and with the Mini Integrated Nightly, and in neither of them and boxes appeared.

digitalfox, does the boxes appear only when you use the new terrain grf, because I don't know what could be the problem :?


Attachments:
File comment: The two bridges in the Mini Integrated Nightly
Bridges in Mini IN.PNG
Bridges in Mini IN.PNG [ 22.79 KiB | Viewed 9575 times ]
File comment: The two bridges in OTTD version 0.4.7
Bridges in 0.4.7.PNG
Bridges in 0.4.7.PNG [ 19.61 KiB | Viewed 9576 times ]

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
Image

Toyland isn't a climate, its a mistake.
This message was transmitted on 100% recycled electrons

Don't pm, rather e-mail me.
New terrain graphics
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Strange happenings
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 11:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 11:05 am
Posts: 15415
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost
Kolijn Wolfaardt wrote:
Now this is getting strange. I tested the new terrain grf on OTTD version 0.4.7 and with the Mini Integrated Nightly, and in neither of them and boxes appeared.

Using the Latest Stable(tm) or the Latest Nightly(tm) is usually a better way to test newgrfs.

_________________
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:07 am
Posts: 64
Location: Salzburg
http://divzero.at/steph/pics/divzero%20industries%2C%2031.%20Dez%202499%20%231.png

use revision 10004 and file of first post.

but also with newest nightly bar shows up.

_________________
*<(:-}


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
You are using an old version of New Terrain (Digitalfox, you too!). Try this file: download.php?id=67661 It's from the fifth post in this topic. Unfortunately the first posts references an older version.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 11:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:07 am
Posts: 64
Location: Salzburg
thx A LOT.

but sadly now the white blocks apear bigger on other locations:
http://divzero.at/flake/whiteblocks.png

_________________
*<(:-}


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1505
I've done a quick de-code/re-code of the GRF, just linked above.

That is the result :

Code:
-------------------------------
NFO Renumber and linting v3.4.5
-------------------------------
-
NFORenum v3.4.5 - Copyright 2004-2007 Dale McCoy.
Processing file "TTDGame\newgrf\sprites\terrainC.nfo".
Processing complete.
-
------------------
GRF encoding v0.9.10
------------------
-
GRFCodec version 0.9.10 r1226E - Copyright (C) 2000-2005 by Josef Drexler
Encoding in temporary file newgrf\terrainC.new
Loading newgrf/sprites/terrainC.pcx100% (Transparency:100%, Redundancy:100%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 11 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 2496 pixels (20%) in sprite 34 are pure whiteedundancy: 58%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 36 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 37 are pure whiteedundancy: 59%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 40 are pure whiteedundancy: 60%)
Warning: 512 of 1984 pixels (25%) in sprite 41 are pure whiteedundancy: 60%)
Warning: 64 of 2496 pixels (2%) in sprite 53 are pure white Redundancy: 64%)
Warning: 512 of 2496 pixels (20%) in sprite 56 are pure whiteedundancy: 65%)
Warning: 64 of 1984 pixels (3%) in sprite 169 are pure whiteRedundancy: 61%)
Sprite  256  Done: 99%  Compressed: 39% (Transparency: 59%, Redundancy: 67%)
Deleting newgrf\terrainC.grf
Replacing newgrf\terrainC.grf with newgrf\terrainC.new

Done!

Now, the creator of this GRF needs to correct the sprite dimensions (ysize/xsize) or positions (xpos/ypos) in the NFO-file for the sprites listed above, that report pure white and the problem will go away for good.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Right, I remember. There are some sprites missing (three of them IIRC), producing glitches with maglev tracks. I fixed that in the version I'm using. Not really that hard to do using grfcodec and photoshop.

I'm not going to post my version here without permission of Kolijn Wolfaardt himself, because I don't think that's the way things should work around here.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 1:19 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 7:40 pm
Posts: 15
I wish he would fix them or you get permission to post them


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 3:08 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:09 am
Posts: 3138
At least PM to him to get him informed.

_________________
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:04 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:13 pm
Posts: 41
Location: Somewhere
You have my permission to post the grf file :-)

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
Image

Toyland isn't a climate, its a mistake.
This message was transmitted on 100% recycled electrons

Don't pm, rather e-mail me.
New terrain graphics


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 11:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Okay, here it is. Feel free to do with it whatever you like.

EDIT:
GRF removed, superseded by a new version

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Last edited by FooBar on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 4:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 109
Location: Poland
Why theres only 3 colours of the green grass? Originally theres a 4 colours for grass and empty tile. It makes you see a better deepth. I am pretty sure the grass would looks much better if author was consider this.

_________________
New Ship Depot | New Road Stations


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:38 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Posts: 42
Location: Perth, Australia
Ok not sure if anybody else has noticed this.

It seems to appear when raising the terrain. It only appears on the western slopes.
Its not a very bad glitch as once the grass grows back the slope is normal.

Attachment:
grf_error_1.png
grf_error_1.png [ 35.32 KiB | Viewed 7394 times ]

Attachment:
grf_error_2.png
grf_error_2.png [ 16.56 KiB | Viewed 7388 times ]


All other grfs were turned off

_________________
the dark is RYsiN
"The best thing since the proverbial bread with numerous vertical incisions."


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
I noticed that too.

The problem is that sprite 198 is a duplicate of sprite 188. In normal words that means that the wrong image is used for that slope. The correct image isn't in the grf.

I took myself the freedom to combine sprites 185 and 194 into a new sprite 198, which solves the glitch.
Because Kolijn probably won't mind me posting an updated version of his wonderful terrainset (he gave me permission earlier to post a similar updated version), here it is.

Updated version of New Terrain
The version you need depends on the version of the original game graphics (windows or dos). In case of trg1r.grf, you need the Windows version. In case of trg1.grf, you need the DOS version.


Attachments:
File comment: Windows version
newterrainw_fixed_v2.grf [181.74 KiB]
Downloaded 1048 times
File comment: DOS version
nterr_f2.grf [181.73 KiB]
Downloaded 149 times

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: New terrain grfs
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:47 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:20 am
Posts: 42
Location: Perth, Australia
Excellent,

Thanks for the update Foobar.
and of course Kolijn for the great terrain set.

_________________
the dark is RYsiN

"The best thing since the proverbial bread with numerous vertical incisions."


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tony Pixel and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.