Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 1:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 5:59 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2134
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
It should work in similar fashion.

Delta(0-255) / Trunc(0-255) / Patch size(0-255)

ferinstance cht:landgen 10 60 200

I remember chagning the patch wiki to include new values...

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 2:57 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:09 pm
Posts: 751
Location: Kromeriz, Czech Republic
I see, the range for roughness parametr was changed. Ok, thanks for quick response.
M.

_________________
Image
Mickeye on devArt | Last.fm || Winner of "Best TT-Forums signature, 2006" award


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:13 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Twente
When should we expect a wiki update? I tried some values, and it appears that having a value for Patch size < value Trunc gives a lockup.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:58 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 339
Skype: dan.masek
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
uzurpator wrote:
I remember chagning the patch wiki to include new values...

I'm sorry, but what is it you remember changing on the wiki? Because as much as I try, all I can see in the history of the LandGen documentation page is the first version written by DaleStan.

_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. --Albert Einstein
Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 7:49 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Twente
maybe he meant to say 'I should remember'


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:23 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2134
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
I _did_ change the wiki. Dunno why the changes are not listed tho :/

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:26 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 339
Skype: dan.masek
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Well, for some reason they don't show up in there. Could you please do it again?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:08 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
Probably, you either failed to click "Save changes", or did so after your session timed out.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:57 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 339
Skype: dan.masek
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
uzurpator wrote:
I _did_ change the wiki.


Looking at the history, I still can't see any updates. Could you please do that, instead of debating the reasons why your last attempt did not succeed?

minime

_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. --Albert Einstein
Image Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:25 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 215
Location: Twente
Maybe it's possible to add a quantity-of-trees bit to the cheat? When I generate a map most cities are surrouded by dense woods, so I can't terraform followed by planting trees to make the local authority happy again.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:23 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
maartenvanheek wrote:
Maybe it's possible to add a quantity-of-trees bit to the cheat? When I generate a map most cities are surrouded by dense woods, so I can't terraform followed by planting trees to make the local authority happy again.
That shouldn't be to hard, but I won't touch that code until it agrees with the documentation, except possibly to roll back to the most recent version that did what the docs say it should do.

If someone else wants to fix the documentation instead, then by all means, do so.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4306
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
As we remember trgir.grf has some landscape templates (sprites 52-88), which were used by default land generator.
New industries, like castles, require specific landscape to be build.
So, I would like to suggest the following idea for the new land generator:
A GRF can provide some landscape templates (in the same format as trgir.grf for example, or in a more complex format that can also specify water, trees, desert) and the map generator reads and applies them on the generated map and than places specified industries on these specially prepared places.

Would it be hard to do?

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 2:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
It may be of interest that in OTTD when we created the Terragenesis generator, I also had to add code to prepare ground sites below industries. Otherwise, with rough terrains, almost no industries were placed (or they congregated en mass onto the arctic plateaus etc.)

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4306
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
richk67 wrote:
It may be of interest that in OTTD when we created the Terragenesis generator, I also had to add code to prepare ground sites below industries. Otherwise, with rough terrains, almost no industries were placed (or they congregated en mass onto the arctic plateaus etc.)
Can grf manage that place? For example, if the industry requires sloped land inside town, would it be prepared inside town?

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
All the ground sites for industries in OTTD were flat land, so it wouldnt work for your rather nice, but exotic terrain requirement for the castle. All the coding for it was done directly... no newgrf was required then.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4306
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
richk67 wrote:
All the ground sites for industries in OTTD were flat land, so it wouldnt work for your rather nice, but exotic terrain requirement for the castle. All the coding for it was done directly... no newgrf was required then.
Would it be possible to improve the code to work with predefined sloped land?

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 5:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
I see no reason why you couldnt use something similar to the Prop 23 Placement Mask I developed for use with my NewGRF airports. It allows definition of a required land shape. All that would be needed would be a) TTDP support, b) OTTD to support the format within its main industry placement code.

I would suggest that if the terrain meets all other requirements, and can be terraformed to the required shape, then it should auto-terraform it. But it isnt at all straightforward. (Currently, I have only added land/sea placement difference. I intend to add height requirements to the NewGRF Airports to allow for more irregular shapes, but its a low priority even in the NewGRF_ports branch.)

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:57 pm 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
You're confusing two different things. "Industry placement", and "force generator to make a land shape where the industry can be placed".

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Err... nope. No confusion here.

George said earlier:
Quote:
A GRF can provide some landscape templates (in the same format as trgir.grf for example, or in a more complex format that can also specify water, trees, desert) and the map generator reads and applies them on the generated map and than places specified industries on these specially prepared places.
So, the template (ie. Placement Mask) is read from the .grf, and used by the landscape generator to prepare places for the industry placement. It sounds exactly the situation - George wants to have a way of auto-terraforming to prepare places for industry placement. Or at least thats how I read what he was after...

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:09 pm
Posts: 4306
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
richk67 wrote:
So, the template (ie. Placement Mask) is read from the .grf, and used by the landscape generator to prepare places for the industry placement. It sounds exactly the situation - George wants to have a way of auto-terraforming to prepare places for industry placement. Or at least thats how I read what he was after...
Yes, that is the way I suggested. But it may be not the unique solution.
It is possible, theoretically, have auto-terraforming that terraforms land when the industry is being build. But how would it found, what terraforming should it use?

Just to clarify things. The AIM I have is to help random map generator to place "exotic" industries. The way to do it is not important for me.

_________________
Image Image Image Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.