[RFD] Constructing roads

Development discussion about Transport Empire. Other discussion to General forum please.

Moderator: Transport Empire Moderators

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 16 Nov 2006 14:30

I can only agree.

2x2 it is then!

Now we've got that sorted, can we move onto selection of construction?

Or does that come under GUI?

And also, cost differences between "Dirt", "Normal Road" and "Dual Carriageway"

EDIT: Incidentally - I do wonder about how many styles of road there will be.

The one problem I always found with TTD was that there was just city and country, which meant if you'd edited the sprites to look more countrylike, things looked weird in the Suburbs of cities.

Has anyone got any ideas on this?

I think "Urban", "Suburban" and "Country" should do the trick.

And also - Pedestrianised roads... Just for a bit of realism.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1984
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Post by m3henry » 16 Nov 2006 17:29

one thing; the M11 is 2 lanes, the A11 is 2 lanes wide, but when it joins the A14 its 3 lanes wide until they diverge ~10 miles later. so we could have motorways 2 and 3 lanes wide but they have 70mph limits, and dual carridgeways are 2 lanes but only 60mph, DAVE dont rant at me for that, its just otherwise how do you tell the difference. also only motorways have hard shoulders, which means if a lorry/bus breaks down, it would pull over leaving the motorway clear, but on a dual carridgeway it would block the left lane. this also sparks a very good question, CARS and VANS!
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...

m4rek
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 801
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 08:06
Location: Plymouth, England

Post by m4rek » 16 Nov 2006 19:36

M4rek wrote:can we have traffic actually going round? that would be cool...
and i got scolded for going off topic...

and here we are, on topic.

i vote that we have traffic going round and therefore need more lanes.
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC » 16 Nov 2006 20:20

I vote for 2x2, if you want more you should just put 2 motorways next to each other.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 16 Nov 2006 21:36

m3henry wrote:one thing; the M11 is 2 lanes, the A11 is 2 lanes wide, but when it joins the A14 its 3 lanes wide until they diverge ~10 miles later. so we could have motorways 2 and 3 lanes wide but they have 70mph limits, and dual carridgeways are 2 lanes but only 60mph, DAVE dont rant at me for that, its just otherwise how do you tell the difference. also only motorways have hard shoulders, which means if a lorry/bus breaks down, it would pull over leaving the motorway clear, but on a dual carridgeway it would block the left lane. this also sparks a very good question, CARS and VANS!
Henry - be quiet.

I wasn't trying to advocate EVERY difference and I did point out "GENERALLY!".

Grr!

Speed limits tho, are a valid idea. Anyone?
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13190
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 16 Nov 2006 21:43

Speed limits are fine with me if they are the same for all roads, that is regardless of their owner.

User avatar
nicfer
Director
Director
Posts: 529
Joined: 03 May 2005 20:50
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina

Post by nicfer » 16 Nov 2006 22:01

I thinked in 1(lenght)x2(wide) size for motorways, which is more flexible and with the same usability than 2x2 but it looks too complicated to build curves with it. If someone has got an idea for building curves with 1x2 then post it so we can have an own motorway building method :).

And what will we do with the end of the motorways? If we let them end in the air that will look too dangerous. Maybe an finishing on-ramp will fix it.
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity

User avatar
aarona
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 221
Joined: 26 May 2006 15:54
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by aarona » 17 Nov 2006 07:33

UnderBuilder wrote:And what will we do with the end of the motorways? If we let them end in the air that will look too dangerous. Maybe an finishing on-ramp will fix it.
That's assuming an American style motorway which is elevated. British (and Aussie) motorways are usually on the ground (except for flyovers). Hence they can end at a regular junction.

m4rek
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 801
Joined: 03 Sep 2006 08:06
Location: Plymouth, England

Post by m4rek » 17 Nov 2006 17:34

speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
Toyland isn't a climate, it's a mistake.
Everyone has a photographic memory - Some just don't have film
No matter how hard life gets, remember there is always light at the end of the tunnel. Let's just hope it's not a train.

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 17 Nov 2006 20:48

M4rek wrote:speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
No - Roads should be limited universally.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
aarona
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 221
Joined: 26 May 2006 15:54
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by aarona » 18 Nov 2006 02:16

M4rek wrote:speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
If we allow this, then we will have to allow the speed of rail to be changed. Micromanagement!

TomausRP
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 80
Joined: 10 Aug 2006 23:13

Post by TomausRP » 18 Nov 2006 02:37

Dave Worley wrote:
M4rek wrote:speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
No - Roads should be limited universally.
As a german I do not agree for motorways!

I would say:

Dirt roads: 60km/h (37,5mph)
Concrete/Asphalt roads: 90km/h (55mph)
Dual Carriageways: 110km/h (70mph)
Motorways: no limit (or minimum 160km/h (100mph)


If this is possible: Roads in towns: 50km/h (30mph)

TomausRP
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 80
Joined: 10 Aug 2006 23:13

Post by TomausRP » 18 Nov 2006 02:47

aarona wrote:
M4rek wrote:speed limits, same for all roads but can be changed by the owner at the owners own risk
If we allow this, then we will have to allow the speed of rail to be changed. Micromanagement!
I wouldnt say that the speed is micromanagment...

Or is it micromanagment if you buy a faster train????

I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.

I miss such a possibility at TT and Loco!

User avatar
XeryusTC
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 15415
Joined: 02 May 2005 11:05
Skype: XeryusTC
Location: localhost

Post by XeryusTC » 18 Nov 2006 09:55

TomausRP wrote:I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.
Speed limits are suppose to keep vehicles traveling at a save speed so they can't get off the road or get involved in other accidents. So setting different speed limits for different train/road vehicle types won't help IMO. Ofcourse are tilting passenger trains capable of a higher speed than your average freight train, but you can set the maximum speed to the maximum speed of the fastest train to avoid this.
Don't panic - My YouTube channel - Follow me on twitter (@XeryusTC) - Play Tribes: Ascend - Tired of Dropbox? Try SpiderOak (use this link and we both get 1GB extra space)
Image
OpenTTD: manual #openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | NewGRF pack | DevZone
Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17203
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Post by Dave » 18 Nov 2006 13:01

Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

TomausRP
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 80
Joined: 10 Aug 2006 23:13

Post by TomausRP » 18 Nov 2006 14:27

Dave Worley wrote:Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.
And India and North Korea 8)

The Rest of the World has speed limits between 90km/h (Norway) and 160km/h (Dubai).

It's not so easy if you will have fixed limits which can't be managed by players...

And today's motorways are a german invention... :D

TomausRP
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 80
Joined: 10 Aug 2006 23:13

Post by TomausRP » 18 Nov 2006 14:30

XeryusTC wrote:
TomausRP wrote:I would like the possibility to create own speed limits on rails and roads with a fixed maximum speed for the individual types.
Speed limits are suppose to keep vehicles traveling at a save speed so they can't get off the road or get involved in other accidents. So setting different speed limits for different train/road vehicle types won't help IMO. Ofcourse are tilting passenger trains capable of a higher speed than your average freight train, but you can set the maximum speed to the maximum speed of the fastest train to avoid this.
If i can set the speed limit for all trains to maybe 80km/h on a line, this line will have more capacity against a line where train 1 travels with 200km/h, train 2 with 140km/h and train 3 with 80km/h....

And to manage the capacity of a line is not micromanagment!

User avatar
nicfer
Director
Director
Posts: 529
Joined: 03 May 2005 20:50
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina

Post by nicfer » 18 Nov 2006 14:43

Where I live the speed limits are:

- Dirt roads: 20-30km/h (12.5/19mph) (here the dirt roads are almost all in terrible conditions)
- Concrete/asphalt roads and dirt roads in good conditions: 40km/h (25mph)
- Dual carriageways: 60kmh (37.5mph) or 80 km/h (50mph)
- Motorways: 100km/h (62.5kmh), 110km/h (69km/h) or 130 km/h (81mph)

Some of these speed limits are ridiculous (mainly the concrete/asphalt roads) but the dual carriageways and motorways ones looks fine. And the speed limits that TomausRP proposed looks too high. Well, I go for the mines.
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity

User avatar
aarona
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 221
Joined: 26 May 2006 15:54
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by aarona » 18 Nov 2006 14:51

TomausRP wrote:And to manage the capacity of a line is not micromanagment!
Uh, you would think that...your German!

Oh by the way, this is the second time in this thread that you have double posted. This is against the forum rules. Please refrain from double posting in the future. Your opinions are not worth double of everyone else.
TomausRP wrote:If i can set the speed limit for all trains to maybe 80km/h on a line, this line will have more capacity against a line where train 1 travels with 200km/h, train 2 with 140km/h and train 3 with 80km/h....
Are you sure?? I don't agree with this at all.

maquinista
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1809
Joined: 10 Jul 2006 00:43
Location: Spain

Post by maquinista » 18 Nov 2006 16:00

Dave Worley wrote:Only Germany has sections of Autobahn with no speedlimit.

I think there's a wider base than German users.

Speedlimits for motorways should be included.

I also think that rail speed limits SHOULD apply, alas this is for a different topic. I'll bring it up at the meeting.
I am from Spain, and we have a speed limit of 120 KPH, but I think that is better in this game not have speed limit in motorways because this is a reason to buy faster vehicles or build it.
For dual carriageways 110kph is a good option.
Sorry if my english is too poor, I want learn it, but it isn't too easy.[/list][/size]

Locked

Return to “Transport Empire Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests