Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4530 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1124 125 126 127 128227 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:40 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
Thanks, everybody!

I followed Patchman's advice and made a trick to make the tunnel look higher than it is. However, I didn't angle the beams.
Let's see how it goes.
I can't test it in a real screenshot, so I have no idea how would it go with the catenary. But I made a file so that someone can code it and make a test file for it.


Attachments:
File comment: the sprites ready to be coded
tunnelscm.png
tunnelscm.png [ 3.86 KiB | Viewed 4032 times ]
File comment: faked screenshot
newtunnel.png
newtunnel.png [ 12.61 KiB | Viewed 4043 times ]

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Right, I'll add those to the pile to be coded with the rest of the landscape .grf.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
However, these are still test sprites, we don't know if they will really look good in a game...
Is there a possibility of a quick-coding work on a test GRF file just for these? ;)

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 2:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
*checks the clock*

Indeed there is that possibility. Let me get cracking and see what I can pull off in the next 40ish minutes :D.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 8:17 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 7:46 pm
Posts: 644
Location: Berlin, Germany
The problem with the slope of the rice paddies is, the ground sprites must not overlap. I made a terraced version for one season, but the drawing order was really random and it looked even more ugly.

The color of young rice is really very bright; it just looks strange, becuase no seasons are enforced. (I made once a patch for OTTD enforcing seasons and snow, and in phase the fields looked better.) But I admid, that I am not really a skilled artist (but head coder simutrans) and I would really like to see some useful rice paddies.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 9:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11773
Location: Washington DC, USA
I don't think those are very attractive tunnel portals, or realistic, at all. I think that you could improve the perspective a bit by moving the well in closer to the tracks - it will make the whole thing look proportionately taller.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
yes but, the problem is thaht the must be connected so that rails can go over them. Actually there are a lot of tunnel entrances like that in Japan. Precisely, near where I live there are a lot, since the JR and Hankyu tracks are ellevated, and in certain parts, there is a road under them. Actually the horizontal beams in the frame are painted in a very very bright color and have the heighth indication.

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 11:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11773
Location: Washington DC, USA
Yes, when there's something on top of the entrance, the way you've drawn them is quite realistic. I was just hoping there was a way to make them look not quite so odd when there isn't. Perhaps eventually it will be possible for enhanced-tunnels to tell the difference, and swap sprites accordingly.

_________________
Development Projects Site:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd

Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 5:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:34 am
Posts: 1389
Skype: toni_babelony
Location: Sagamihara-shi, Japan
I think a solution to the problem will be to make the entrance not so wide. The entrance of the tunnel looks like the entrance of a bridge, and not of a long tunnel under some massive mountain. (or somn')

_________________
Retired JapanSet developer and creator of TIAS.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:19 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
maybe a stupid question but i is a long time ago since i was on the forums but why are the japan set buildings not working with open ttd?
I use r5722 MiniIn.
Every townset I used so far did work with openttd : ttrs v1, ttrs v2, ttrs v3 beta and Urban Renew [beta 2].

EXEPT japan set buildings.
:?

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 11:14 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
... because they're made for TTD Patch? :wink:

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 7:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:56 pm
Posts: 2838
Location: Some town in Pennsylvania
The enterance of the tunnel does look wide.

Have you seen the tunnels on the Hisatsu line in MSTS? Those are a bit more round. You could also look at the Tokyo commuter line.

_________________
Nick - Creator of the virtual railroading review series:

Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 8:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:38 am
Posts: 3311
Their wide so the tracks can go above them on the trackbed, and Sanchimaru himself said he saw tunnels like that in Japan, and i think they look fine myself.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11773
Location: Washington DC, USA
The Japanset buildings are scheduled for a complete recoding anyway. Maybe they'll work with OTTD next time round.

_________________
Development Projects Site:

http://www.as-st.com/ttd

Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 3:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
No, they will not work next round. Not until OpenTTD implements the NewHouses feature properly. Which it still shows no indication of doing within the timeframe I will be working on recoding the .grf.

Anyways, heres the tunnel, I really like how they've come out. Now we just have to change the grass over to match the rest of the Japanset landscape. If you're ready to give the go-ahead, Sanchimaru, I will change the grass over (Quick easy edit) and add them to the Japanset landscape.

Theres a few clipping issues with the tunnel, but I'm inclined to think that they are related to the enhancedtunnels feature rather than the graphics. Still, the clipping isn't anywhere near as bad as, for instance, bridges. So it's not all bad.


Attachments:
jpset_tunnelw.GRF [6.15 KiB]
Downloaded 229 times

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 6:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:39 pm
Posts: 1542
Location: Kobe, Japan
I just tested them, and they looked quite fine!
As for what it concerns to me, you can proceed with them. What do the others think?

_________________
Image Image
Image New game intro


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 6:49 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Moderator
Transport Empire Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 2134
Location: Wroclaw, Poland / Katowice, Poland
Out of sheer curiosity - is it set aimed at replacement of toyland? IT sure looks like a strong contender for that.

_________________
All art and vehicle stats I authored for TT and derivatives are as of now PUBLIC DOMAIN! Use as you see fit
Just say NO to the TT fan-art sprite licensing madness. Public domain your art as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 7:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Well, that's more something that I have to worry about, but yes, I suppose we are getting nearer to the point where we will have enough material to replace Toyland entirely. All the patch-code is there to support it now, we can change strings, sounds, and code our own industry chains as we want. I don't see any reason why we cannot replace Toyland.

Perhaps I will look into it at a later date, it would be a rather collosal coding project to replace the entirity of Toyland.

Sanchimaru: Good to hear, I will get to work on that soon.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:34 am
Posts: 1389
Skype: toni_babelony
Location: Sagamihara-shi, Japan
The tunnels look fine to me too *adjusts opinion on them. I don't think they need more work. They look really good in a cityscape and double-track lines!

Anyway. I think I'm not gonna animate steam engines or something. But, methinks the industries need attention! I'll start with a Japanese factory soon. They don't look really different from other factories in the world, but are definately different from the original TTD ones!

_________________
Retired JapanSet developer and creator of TIAS.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
I look forward to seeing what you can produce, Tony, Good to finally get some new-blood into the Japan-set!

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 4530 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1124 125 126 127 128227 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.