[REL] Combined Roadset

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
c2R
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 26
Joined: 21 Sep 2005 22:30

Post by c2R » 02 May 2006 17:46

Hyronymus wrote:Can you tell me what grf's you had loaded beside the roadset, DarkVater? I had some glitches with the tubular bridge too but strangely not all the time. I never noticed the glitch with one of Purno's bridges. I'll have to look into it.
I'm getting the same problem with the tubular bridges.

grf settings as follows:

newgrf/arcticsetw.grf
newgrf/cargosetw.grf
newgrf/dbsetxlw.grf
newgrf/elrailsw.grf
newgrf/newshipsw.grf
newgrf/nsignalsw.grf
newgrf/tempsetw.grf
newgrf/trkfoundw.grf
newgrf/tropicstw.grf
newgrf/VolvoTrucksw.grf
newgrf/SpitzerTrucksw.grf
newgrf/ScaniaTrucksw.grf
newgrf/NavistarTrucksw.grf
newgrf/McTrucksw.grf
newgrf/LongBusesw.grf
newgrf/canalsw.grf
newgrf/combroadw.grf 0 1
newgrf/newstatsw.grf
newgrf/newcargow.grf
newgrf/onewayw.grf
newgrf/guiw.grf
newgrf/paperw.grf
newgrf/tramtrkw.grf
newgrf/ccol2w.grf

Kind Regards
Chris

User avatar
Chrill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 15292
Joined: 18 Dec 2004 17:35
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by Chrill » 06 May 2006 10:31

Is this compatible with OpenTTD?
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5391
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird » 06 May 2006 11:23

ChrillDeVille wrote:Is this compatible with OpenTTD?
afaik OTTD doesn't do grf parameters or new bridges, so no.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 06 May 2006 13:01

It does parameters in the nightlies, but not new bridges (unless something has changed really recently).
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
Purno
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 16663
Joined: 30 Mar 2004 12:30
Location: Almere, The Netherlands

Post by Purno » 06 May 2006 13:15

DaleStan wrote:It does parameters in the nightlies, but not new bridges (unless something has changed really recently).
It works quite well in the nightly, I'm using it. But some sprites are placed in front of the wrong sprites, and such. But it works quite well.
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn » 06 May 2006 14:10

DaleStan wrote:but not new bridges
It has newbridges, but it doesn't affect the bridge name (So, for example, Pikka's brick viaduct still displays "Wooden" as a name, but still has 80mph running)

Pillars are a bit off too.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 06 May 2006 14:16

I stand^Wsit corrected.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 » 31 Oct 2006 12:47

Are there any plans to get this set using GRM for the bridges? Would be nice to avoid the sprite conflict with DBSetXL...
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 01 Nov 2006 04:51

GRM is cooperative. Until or unless DBSetXL at least marks sprite 1213 (which I don't think it does), GRM won't do much.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 » 01 Nov 2006 07:07

Maybe I misinterpreted the spec, but with GRM it should be possible to allocate new sprites and thus not overlap that particular one. That would need a bit of action 6 magic though...
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 01 Nov 2006 07:14

I'll have to consult my coder to see what he can do for this set,

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 01 Nov 2006 09:21

Actually, it's NewStations, not DBSetXL. That doesn't change the material part of the discussion, though.

Feature 08 GRM (general sprites) does not create new sprites[0], it simply allocates TTD sprites that would otherwise be unused (eg the toyland building sprites in the non-toyland climates) to sets that request them. (Most commonly bridge sets, but recolor maps also must be placed in TTD's sprite space.)

Since NewStations doesn't reserve sprite 1213, the GRM implementation is free to assign that sprite to any set that requests it.

To borrow from the Perl documentation, "[GRM reservations] are analogous to green traffic lights: If you have a green light, that does not prevent the idiot coming the other way from plowing into you sideways; it merely guarantees to you that the idiot does not also have a green light at the same time."

(BTW: That's sprite 1213h, or 4627 decimal)

[0] In TTDPatch. AFAICT, allocating up to 14 bits[1] of "Action A" sprites would be conformant, provided that modifications to the first ~5k sprites continue to overwrite the sprites loaded from trg?[r].grf.
[1] But no more. Both sprite-number fields in most sprite dwords are 14 bits wide. Occasionally they may be wider, but GRM cannot know if the sprite is going to be used in such a location.

OT: I'm not aware of any (documented?) way to overwrite the sprites that Open loads directly from autorail.grf, airport.grf, and openttd.grf, with the possible exception of the character glyphs in openttd.grf. Action A sprite numbers above the TTD sprite space would be immediately compliant, and I expect Patchman would be willing give out as many action 5 types as are necessary.
Disclaimer: I do not speak for Patchman, he is quite capable of speaking for himself.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1646
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 » 01 Nov 2006 09:44

Ah, okay then. I implemented it differently, clearly.

For OpenTTD, it just "reserves" from the current sprite ID and returns that. The sprite replace will then just replace the blank entries. No marker is made for it because nothing would normally replace those sprites, and any future reservation would get a new block.

The vehicle reservation stuff works (mostly) in the same way though.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5552
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman » 01 Nov 2006 20:14

Just some clarifications...
DaleStan wrote:Feature 08 GRM (general sprites) does not create new sprites[0], it simply allocates TTD sprites that would otherwise be unused (eg the toyland building sprites in the non-toyland climates) to sets that request them.
As implemented, feature 08 GRM actually allocates sprites beyond the TTD sprite range to be safe, i.e. sprites 4900+ in the "other" range of the extended sprite limit, which corresponds to real sprite numbers 4900..16383.

Therefore if one file uses GRM, it is guaranteed[*] that no other file will mess with those sprites. The only collisions happen if neither file uses GRM, or uses it incorrectly.
[1] But no more. Both sprite-number fields in most sprite dwords are 14 bits wide. Occasionally they may be wider, but GRM cannot know if the sprite is going to be used in such a location.
For that reason GRM only returns sprite numbers below 16383. This is not documented; maybe it should be.

[*] An action A attempting to overwrite sprite numbers beyond 4900 will fail unless the file has previously reserved sprites, so it's impossible to overwrite these sprites unless the file uses GRM.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 01 Nov 2006 20:33

Oh. OK. In that case...
*sits down*
*shuts up*
*listens earnestly*
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
athanasios
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3138
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 00:09
Contact:

Post by athanasios » 15 Nov 2006 02:54

Seems that Combined Road Set is incompatible with the Newstations grf (newstatsw.grf).
My Windows TTD crushes when I try to build the first suspension Bridge. (So don't ask for a screensave.) This does not happen with DOS TTD. (A bit odd?)
* I loaded the game with only these 2 grfs to make sure.
* I tried the DOS grf (converted with grfcodec) of CRS in Windows but the problem appeared again. (I did not do the same with DOS Newstations grf, maybe I am lazy after all.)

I like this set, and I hope the new highways will be included in a future version.
http://members.fortunecity.com/gamesart
"If no one is a fool I am also a fool." -The TTD maniac.


I prefer to be contacted through PMs. Thanks.

DaleStan
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
Posts: 10285
Joined: 18 Feb 2004 03:06
Contact:

Post by DaleStan » 15 Nov 2006 04:15

Load them in the other order. CRS and NewStats use the same sprite for different purposes, so until at least one of them uses GRM, this is the only solution.
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3378
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Post by ISA » 08 May 2007 23:07

Bug report!
In tropic clime sandy road crossing have little bug! When train crosses the crossing only one light is plinking but they should plink by turns.
Hope You devs understand what I mean! :)

User avatar
m3henry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1984
Joined: 15 Feb 2006 12:00
Location: Hampshire

Post by m3henry » 09 May 2007 17:35

a dig scince the day after my previous birthday!
its just a missing action colour, and I didnt think anyone used this anymore...
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...

LoWang
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 93
Joined: 25 Jun 2005 21:17
Contact:

Re: [REL] Combined Roadset

Post by LoWang » 25 May 2008 13:37

I have the same problem with this graphics like with CS road set - all roads are still brown, regardless of the actual year :(
Besides there is a strange blue line on the road side when I build it on the SW-NE direction. I play OpenTTD so maybe it is not ment to be used in it?
Those that are last, can yet be first...

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests