Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 195 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 510 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Fake diagonal Airport
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 4:37 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
I have an idea but i don't know how good or bad the idea is.
I know that it's too hard to make diagonal runwaysbut i was thinking about a fake diagonal airport witch you can look like the way you want it and the size you want it.
I use the freight container staition and harbour set often to make my airports look bigger and more realistic.
If you had something called airport between where all the new stations are, like the freight container staition and harbour set and just add that to an real airport. I think that would look really cool. I made some sprites allready.
There are some things wrong with it like the fact that I used the shadowed grass and not the normal (I just dicoverd that when the 2 hours of drawing where done :? )

But what I would like to know is if it would look nice and if it's worth the hard work because someone has to code this And I can't code this kind of things because I'm still learnig it and all i can is code buildings.

EDIT: (11 April 2006:) Here is the grf:

EDIT: (again) (10 May 2006:) I know its fast but within a month version 2 is done!
There where so many improvements in my head that I couln't wait to draw. :D
Thanks for the coding Juzulkim! :D


Attachments:
Fake diagonal Airport.PNG
Fake diagonal Airport.PNG [ 34.05 KiB | Viewed 39691 times ]
fakeap.grf [15.69 KiB]
Downloaded 3186 times
fakeapV2.grf [28.11 KiB]
Downloaded 4545 times

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.


Last edited by RSpeed tycoonfreak on Tue May 09, 2006 10:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:02 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:36 pm
Posts: 16
the Airport looks really cool!
I also use the harbour/container freight to make my stations look more realistic. I looked at the pictures at your website. Very cool man! have you coded them yourself? How did you get those airports? The one with the inverted arc as a roof kinda looks like Washinton Dulles. Is it possible to download somwhere?

/Davidoff


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 1734
Do you mean this one? http://www.freewebs.com/rspeed/SCR2.png
I really wonder why people keep asking about that airport... :shock:
It's part of the Total Town Replacement pack, available here: http://users.skynet.be/florisjan/ttd/ttrs.html

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:21 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
:D I wish it whas mine!!! But This belongs to Zimmlock (I'm sooo jalous :wink: )

If you want some more airports :
http://users2.tt-forums.net/ttdur/ttdur.htm
http://www.tt-terminal.co.uk/downloads.shtm

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 7:15 pm
Posts: 1734
BornAcorn.com wrote:
Error 404 - No such page

You nutter! Trust you to go and find the imaginary page, but if you followed a link here I advise you get someone to change it

Proper link: http://www.bornacorn.com/downloads.shtml

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:11 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
I'm making good progress with my diagonal airport.:D
It's starting to look like a real airport.
But I need to change some things like you can see at the screenshot.


Attachments:
SCR1.png
SCR1.png [ 37.88 KiB | Viewed 39264 times ]

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:48 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
Working on it for several hours now but this looks better I think.


Attachments:
SCR2.png
SCR2.png [ 58.49 KiB | Viewed 39237 times ]

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 2212
Location: Newcastle, Australia
so, this is being coded as a station? cool!

_________________
Formerly known as Lachie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:00 pm
Posts: 992
Location: Jerusalem, Israel
I think that it will be better if it sorrounded by an asphalt,
somthing like this (I'm not a good artist, but you certain do it better):


Attachments:
scr2_118.png
scr2_118.png [ 60.4 KiB | Viewed 39142 times ]

_________________
Death

Spain set - taster 1.24v - Japanese Station Set - Tropic Refurbishment Set
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:47 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
WhiteHand wrote:
so, this is being coded as a station? cool!

It's not yet coded (I used someone elses NFO :oops: )
That's why I'm not gonna relese it yet.

Death wrote:
I think that it will be better if it sorrounded by an asphalt,
somthing like this (I'm not a good artist, but you certain do it better):


Thats a good idea I gonna work on it. :D

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: West Midlands
and the point of this is?
If it cannot be used then why are you making it, oh wait, it _is_ RSpeed, ah well. Waste your time, be my guest. :D

_________________
Last known as: Weirdy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 1:00 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
I only used someone elses nfo to make sure that it looks good in de game if everything looks good I ask someone to code it.

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:48 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17150
Location: Harringay, North London
Isn't that a bit harsh Weirdy?

I think he's been round enough to KNOW it's not possible to do it yet - but we're all allowed to dream aren't we?

Fair enough his reputation is a little tarnished, but come on - give him a break?

OTOH RSpeed, I see his point. How will these be used? For a start I see no terminal? Or will it be an extension of the existing airport.

Nice to see you've drawn a diagonal runway - even if it is impossible?

EDIT: Though the way you've drawn the diagonal lines, they look wobbly. I see what you've TRIED to do, to keep em in line, first four pixels then a skip to the right and a further four pixels to form one line - then the same mirrored for the next line. This gives the impression of a wonky or drunk line painter :D.

Still. I don't see what's wrong with trying...

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 2:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13179
Location: The Netherlands
Weirdy wrote:
and the point of this is?
If it cannot be used then why are you making it, oh wait, it _is_ RSpeed, ah well. Waste your time, be my guest. :D


Forum Rules wrote:
c Members should post in a way that is respectful of other users. Flaming or abusing users in any way will not be tolerated and will lead to a warning. Remember that some users may be more easily offended than others.

Your reply doesn't add anything but a flame bait to this topic, Weirdy. If you choose a more constructive way noone would probably have complained about it. Giving constructive feedback is mentioned in the rules too, btw.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:23 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
RSpeed tycoonfreak wrote:
I only used someone elses nfo to make sure that it looks good in de game if everything looks good I ask someone to code it.


I think it looks good, just hand me the sprites when they are ready and I'll code them.

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:40 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:17 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Azewijn The netherlands
Jezulkim wrote:
RSpeed tycoonfreak wrote:
I only used someone elses nfo to make sure that it looks good in de game if everything looks good I ask someone to code it.


I think it looks good, just hand me the sprites when they are ready and I'll code them.


Here are the sprites, but I'm not sure about the colours because I converted it to BMP format once by accident, but if they are coded I still can do some small changes at the colours.

Thanks already!! :D :D :D


Attachments:
Fake diagonal Airport.PNG
Fake diagonal Airport.PNG [ 18.65 KiB | Viewed 38846 times ]

_________________
Visit The Fake Airport Website
Image
Hobbys: being 18 years old, soccer, go karting, and transport tycoon.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:52 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 3:06 am
Posts: 10285
You need to separate the ground and building sprites.

_________________
To get a good answer, ask a Smart Question. Similarly, if you want a bug fixed, write a Useful Bug Report. No TTDPatch crashlog? Then follow directions.
Projects: NFORenum (download) | PlaneSet (Website) | grfcodec (download) | grfdebug.log parser


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 2:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11773
Location: Washington DC, USA
I think that is an interesting idea, but honestly, I don't see it as very practical. Ordinarily, when I build airports, they are very very cramped as to room. I hardly have enough space to put in the airport as it is, let alone an extra nonfunctional runway. But there's no harm in playing with it, I am sure you will get some takers.

_________________
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 2:55 pm
Posts: 2236
Location: West Midlands
I would like to here-by retract my earlier statement. RSpeed, it looks very good, but as Krtaylor said, it is rather impractical. However, contuinue with the graphics and someday in the close future you could be as good as Michael Blunck.
Good Luck Dude

_________________
Last known as: Weirdy


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:07 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 9:40 am
Posts: 844
Location: Finland/Suomi
The coding is going fine exept this, buses and trains are glued over tiles!
If someone knows how to fix this please help.

I'm also having problems with the action 4, I can only make one name to show up.

A part of the nfo:

Code:
2 * 20    00 04 06 01 00 
                 08 "FAAP"
                 0C FE
                 0D FE
                 11 00
                 14 FF
                 15 FF 
    4 * 4    01 04 01 02
    5 sprites/fakeap.pcx 98 8 09 31 64 -31 0
    6 sprites/fakeap.pcx 178 8 09 31 64 -31 0
    7 * 7    02 04 00 00 01 00 00
    8 * 7    03 04 01 00 00 00 00
    9 * 20    04 04 9F 01 00 C5 00 "Runway NE/NW" 00
   10 * 20    00 04 06 01 01
                 08 "FAAP"
                 0C FE
                 0D FE
                 11 00
                 14 FF
                 15 FF 
   12 * 4    01 04 01 02
   13 sprites/fakeap.pcx 354 8 09 31 64 -31 0
   14 sprites/fakeap.pcx 434 8 09 31 64 -31 0
   15 * 7    02 04 01 00 01 00 00
   16 * 7    03 04 01 01 00 01 00
   17 * 20    04 04 9F 01 00 C5 01 "Runway Zebra" 00
   18 * 20    00 04 06 01 02
                 08 "FAAP"
                 0C FE
                 0D FE
                 11 00
                 14 FF
                 15 FF 
   20 * 4    01 04 01 02
   21 sprites/fakeap.pcx 610 8 09 31 64 -31 0
   22 sprites/fakeap.pcx 690 8 09 31 64 -31 0
   23 * 7    02 04 02 00 01 00 00
   24 * 7    03 04 01 02 00 02 00
   25 * 20    04 04 9F 01 00 C5 02 "Car Entrance" 00
   26 * 20    00 04 06 01 03
                 08 "FAAP"
                 0C FE
                 0D FE
                 11 00
                 14 FF
                 15 FF 
   28 * 4    01 04 01 02
   29 sprites/fakeap.pcx 66 56 09 31 64 -31 0
   30 sprites/fakeap.pcx 146 56 09 31 64 -31 0
   31 * 7    02 04 03 00 01 00 00
   32 * 7    03 04 01 03 00 03 00
   33 * 17    04 04 9F 01 00 C5 03 "D. Runway" 00


Attachments:
untitled1.png
untitled1.png [ 10.73 KiB | Viewed 38645 times ]

_________________
Image
In order to protect the visitors of this site,
TTO Full Conversion!
This post has been lol 1337 times.
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 195 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 510 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.