haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.2 release]

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.2 release]

Post by PikkaBird »

:lol:

Download
Image
Ford 'Model T' Bus - 1920 - 20mph - 14 px - 20hp - 1.5t
Leyland 'TD' Bus - 1927 - 30mph - 50 px - 40hp - 5.5t
AEC 'Regal' Bus - 1931 - 45mph - 30 px - 53hp - 7.5t
Leyland 'Titan' Bus - 1947 - 40mph - 60 px - 115hp - 9.0t
AEC 'Regal' Bus - 1950 (graphic update)
Bristol 'MW' Coach - 1958 - 55mph - 35 px - 150hp - 8.5t
Leyland 'Titan' Bus - 1977 (graphic update)
Volvo 'B12' Coach - 1995 - 75mph - 45px - 380 hp - 14.5t
Scania 'Omni' Bus - 2005 - 50mph - 70px - 260 hp - 12.0t

Ford 'Model T' Van - 1920 - 20mph - 12 b/mail - 20hp - 1.5t
Ford 'Model T' Truck - 1920 - 20mph - 10 c/goods - 20hp - 1.5t

1.1 update - see the top of pg3 for details.
Last edited by PikkaBird on 17 Jun 2005 13:26, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3904
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Coolies! Will try it soon.

User avatar
Sanchimaru
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1542
Joined: 05 Feb 2004 22:39
Location: Kobe, Japan
Contact:

Post by Sanchimaru »

Superb work, PikkaBird!

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4313
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.0 release]

Post by George »

PikkaBird wrote:Ford 'Model T' Bus - 1920 - 17mph - 14 px - 20hp - 1.5t
Leyland 'TD' Bus - 1927 - 30mph - 50 px - 40hp - 5.5t
AEC 'Regal' Bus - 1931 - 45mph - 30 px - 53hp - 7.5t
Leyland 'Titan' Bus - 1947 - 40mph - 60 px - 115hp - 9.0t
AEC 'Regal' Bus - 1950 (graphic update)
Bristol 'MW' Coach - 1958 - 55mph - 35 px - 150hp - 8.5t
Leyland 'Titan' Bus - 1977 (graphic update)
Volvo 'B12' Coach - 1995 - 75mph - 45px - 380 hp - 14.5t
Scania 'Omni' Bus - 2005 - 50mph - 70px - 260 hp - 12.0t
It looks like they use default TTD bus graphics. Shouldn't it be mentioned, like I do for toyland2mars, yellow faces, grey monorails?
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.0 release]

Post by PikkaBird »

George wrote:It looks like they use default TTD bus graphics. Shouldn't it be mentioned, like I do for toyland2mars, yellow faces, grey monorails?
They're based on the original graphics (like my trains), but considerably modified. None of those are the original graphics.

User avatar
George
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4313
Joined: 16 Apr 2003 16:09
Skype: george-vb
Location: SPb, Russia.
Contact:

Re: haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.0 release]

Post by George »

PikkaBird wrote:
George wrote:It looks like they use default TTD bus graphics. Shouldn't it be mentioned, like I do for toyland2mars, yellow faces, grey monorails?
They're based on the original graphics (like my trains), but considerably modified. None of those are the original graphics.
Yes, but they are not 100% modified, so, I think you should keep the original graphics copyrights :roll:
Image Image Image Image

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: haec omnibus vobis sunt - UK Bus Set [1.0 release]

Post by PikkaBird »

George wrote:Yes, but they are not 100% modified, so, I think you should keep the original graphics copyrights :roll:
I'm not entirely sure what you're asking me to do here, George. I'm not claiming that these graphics (and indeed, the point of this set is the statistics on the vehicles and the improvement to gameplay, rather than the graphics - I'm in no way saying "I'm a leet artist, look at me!") are not based on the original TTD graphics, because they are. The original copyright holder - whoever that may be - still has copyright over the original graphics, and nothing I say, or don't say, in the grf file is going to change the legal status of anything. Copyright laws are implicit, not explicit.

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13216
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus »

I tend to agree with what you replied to George but it can never hurt to be as explicit as possible.

I surely hope this doesn't end in yet another copyright issue because we had enough of them by now. It's up to Pikkabrid what he decides and when he made his decission there's nothing more to discuss.

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

I will now also use these in my games :D

Maybe you should have a big UK renewal set with everything :wink:

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir »

Awesome work PikkaBird! Absolutly brilliant!

Finally a set of busses which stick to the short-stubby scale used in TTD!

/me downloads
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

Aegir wrote: Finally a set of busses which stick to the short-stubby scale used in TTD!
Yes they fit right in! This is these are the truest busses to TTD style I have ever seen.

User avatar
Lightglobe
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 754
Joined: 25 Mar 2004 09:03
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by Lightglobe »

I like. It has the look that will fit perfectly into the TTD world.

Very well done PikkaBird
Yarr, thar princess is in 'nother castle!

[16:28] <marcf> lol cant u comine ttd and ottd
[16:29] <marcf> (please don't take me seriously)

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

Maybe some more modern British busses from Optare and Dennis would be nice?

User avatar
Endre
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1645
Joined: 20 May 2003 17:11
Location: Budapest - Theresienstadt, Hungary

Post by Endre »

Hehe, Optare is Hungarian, not British ;)
Or at least the company is owned by a group of Hungarians, but it's quite common in the UK that a company is owned by foreigners.
Indivisibiliter ac inseparabiliter

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird »

Born Acorn wrote:Maybe some more modern British busses from Optare and Dennis would be nice?
I agree, but there are only 6 available IDs... :(

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

are there? That sucks.

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11774
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor »

Lots of IDs would get freed up by a new LongVehicles version, I think, now that you can have just one slot with a vehicle that's refittable to everything. Right now you have to have, I think, three slots per truck (lorry) that can carry everything, at least that's the way LV3 is.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Post by PikkaBird »

krtaylor wrote:Lots of IDs would get freed up by a new LongVehicles version, I think, now that you can have just one slot with a vehicle that's refittable to everything.
You'd still only have 6 IDs for busses though - you can't use a truck ID for a bus, because they use different loading bays.

Or can you?

Patchman
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7576
Joined: 02 Oct 2002 18:57
Location: Ithaca, New York
Contact:

Post by Patchman »

PikkaBird wrote:Or can you?
You can, the cargo type is all that matters.
Josef Drexler

TTDPatch main | alpha/beta | nightly | manual | FAQ | tracker
No private messages please, you'll only get the answering machine there. Send email instead.

Aegir
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2753
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 10:02
Contact:

Post by Aegir »

PikkaBird wrote:
krtaylor wrote:Lots of IDs would get freed up by a new LongVehicles version, I think, now that you can have just one slot with a vehicle that's refittable to everything.
You'd still only have 6 IDs for busses though - you can't use a truck ID for a bus, because they use different loading bays.

Or can you?
Im quite sure you can.
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 43 guests