Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Mar 20, 2019 4:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 610 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 531 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 12:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 2:00 pm
Posts: 5762
Location: Nordland, Norway
How is that complaining?

_________________
Alcohol is not the answer, it just makes you forget the question.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 6:46 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
mdhowe wrote:
Heres a Countrylink XPT & passenger car I'd like encoded, there should be no gaps between the carriages.

Stats:
Speed: 160 kph
Horsepower: 2000
Weight: 72 tonnes
Cost: 60,000


I'll need some other stats too:
- Introduction date
- Life
- What climates it's intended to
- Is this a diesel train? (I haven't seen any pantographs)
- In what currency is the 60,000. Because it would be way too much in Pounds
- Maybe some suggestions for running cost too

Otherwise, here it is, when you give me the proper stats, I'll correct them.


Attachments:
countrylink.GRF [3.99 KiB]
Downloaded 608 times

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:34 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:12 am
Posts: 446
Location: Hobart, Australia
Thanks heaps for that and sorry about the missing stats. I'll post them now:

Cost: $60,000
Introduction date: 1981
Life: 30 years
Climate: Temperate
Engine: Diesel
Running cost: $6500

_________________
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:46 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Quote:
Thanks heaps for that and sorry about the missing stats. I'll post them now:

Cost: $60,000

No problem about the missing stats, I just noted, that I need those for proper encoding.
The currency, though... Is it AUDs, or USDs?
Please, if you are able, convert it to GBP (Ł) 'cause TTD works in that currency internally.

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 7:59 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:12 am
Posts: 446
Location: Hobart, Australia
Szappy wrote:
The currency, though... Is it AUDs, or USDs?
Please, if you are able, convert it to GBP (?) 'cause TTD works in that currency internally.

OK, lets say about 40,000 pounds. Thanks again

_________________
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 10:37 pm 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
Remember that the cost needs to be in 1920 pounds, not 1980 pounds. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 12:49 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:12 am
Posts: 446
Location: Hobart, Australia
ChrisCF wrote:
Remember that the cost needs to be in 1920 pounds, not 1980 pounds. ;)

Not sure how I'd figure out 1920 pounds :) I have no idea how much one would cost anyway, I just took the price from similar trains at the same time in the game.

BTW, the XPT is basicly the British HST reengineered for Aussie conditions. Are these stats somewhat similar?

_________________
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 1:07 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
Small matter of inflation. Calculating the reverse effect of inflation is easy. Inflation of n over t years of sum x is x*((1+n)^t). Equally, the original value of something now worth y after the same period is y/((1+n)^t)

So, A$60k today is around £25k. Taking an average 5% over the 60 years, this gives 1338 or thereabouts.

Apologies in advance if my calculation or method are completely wrong - I'm a civil servant, so I'm supposed to get this kind of thing wrong :-)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2004 3:44 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 9:31 pm
Posts: 216
Would you try encoding this A4 recolor from the BR set:

Stats:

Name: A4 Class 4-6-2
Speed: 95 mph
Horsepower: 2200
Weight: 165 Tons
Introduction: 1925
Cost: 30000 pounds (Estimated)
Life: 45 Years
Engine: Steam
Climates: Temperate and Arctic

Note: I did get permission from the author (mnorman), but I made some changes after getting permission, so if he disagrees with this, he has full permission to stop this.

As for the GRFMaker, keep up the good work! I'm sure a lot of people will appreciate it.


Attachments:
a4red.png
a4red.png [ 3.92 KiB | Viewed 13153 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:01 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 4:30 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: Tiszavasvári, Hungary
I've split almost all recent posts from this thread since they were discussing another program. (This is the first time I've used my moderator powers BTW). Please talk about GRFMaker here and create new topics for other programs.

The splitted posts can be found in the new topic: NFOGRF (Jeb's GRF program)

_________________
Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.—Philip K. Dick


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 2212
Location: Newcastle, Australia
So, just a question from someone who doesn't know how to code:)
Can this thing like automate it so you just specify the sprites and the names, costs, etc. and out pops a grf?

_________________
Formerly known as Lachie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:35 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
NOPE

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 5:36 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 2212
Location: Newcastle, Australia
OK then. Maybe I'll ask a clearer/better question.
What advantage would a person have when using the program over doing it manually

_________________
Formerly known as Lachie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 7:22 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Many
-you don't have to count the lines, and the lengths of the nfo rows, it's automatic
-you work on a graphical interface
-you can set properties in text fields, and check/uncheck, whether you want to change a specific prop
-it has built-in testing tool for just your grf
-it's very easy to position x/yrel, and you don't have to worry about x/ysize or pos, it calculates them automatically
-you see a graphical representation of your sprites, you don't have to take notes, which id is which
-it has a built-in sprite editor
-you can copypaste rows
-there are a lot of built in conviniences (ex. the action7/9 has 2 entries, a start and an end, everything that you place between those two, will be effected by the action7/9)
-it generates the .nfo automatically
-able to make a dos grf file from the win sprites in one click
...and much more, that doesn't come to my mind now

all in all, you work with texts, and decimal numbers, and you don't have to go bithunting, the .nfo bytes are created and encoded by the program itself.

as for the
Quote:
So, just a question from someone who doesn't know how to code:)
Can this thing like automate it so you just specify the sprites and the names, costs, etc. and out pops a grf?

it's not a wizard, it wouldn't be possible to make one. You still have to understand how actions and properties work, but you don't have to code in .nfo language.

I'd say it's like .nfo coding is ASM and this program is like VB or Delphi (;))

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 7:25 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 11:26 am
Posts: 293
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O
........and when will we get it?? ok. when it is finished.......... do you know when? one week, two weeks??

_________________
Bernhard

http://ttdlxhq.raysworld.ch


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:28 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
I don't even dare to estimate now, everytime I made an estimation, it turned out to be way off.
Maybe in two weeks... damn subsilver ;)

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 8:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 9:10 am
Posts: 2212
Location: Newcastle, Australia
OK, So it's a lot easier to use then normal NFO coding. Ive used the sprite editor which was released by you before. I'll be following this program very closely.

_________________
Formerly known as Lachie


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 9:28 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 11:26 am
Posts: 293
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O
lille bit off topic.....
is there a programm to correct the position of the sprites that will work with win98???
The NFOEditor doesn't work.............

it is very pedantically to start the game for each change to control

_________________
Bernhard



http://ttdlxhq.raysworld.ch


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004 10:44 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
This is implemented, just wait...

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 1:40 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 2:35 pm
Posts: 689
Location: Budapest, Hungary
I've got a seemingly stable prealpha version.
Enyone interested, drop me a PM/email/post.
This is not intended for very thorough work, just testing/getting used to the interface, and suggesting usability features.

Szappy

_________________
Image please use email instead of PM


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 610 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 531 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.