GRF encoder tool: GRFMaker [under development]

Discussions about the technical aspects of graphics development, including NewGRF tools and utilities.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
ThorRune
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5762
Joined: 09 Oct 2003 14:00
Location: Nordland, Norway
Contact:

Post by ThorRune » 17 Oct 2004 12:32

How is that complaining?
Alcohol is not the answer, it just makes you forget the question.

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 22 Oct 2004 06:46

mdhowe wrote:Heres a Countrylink XPT & passenger car I'd like encoded, there should be no gaps between the carriages.

Stats:
Speed: 160 kph
Horsepower: 2000
Weight: 72 tonnes
Cost: 60,000
I'll need some other stats too:
- Introduction date
- Life
- What climates it's intended to
- Is this a diesel train? (I haven't seen any pantographs)
- In what currency is the 60,000. Because it would be way too much in Pounds
- Maybe some suggestions for running cost too

Otherwise, here it is, when you give me the proper stats, I'll correct them.
Attachments
countrylink.GRF
(3.99 KiB) Downloaded 622 times
Image please use email instead of PM

User avatar
mdhowe
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 07:12
Location: Hobart, Australia

Post by mdhowe » 22 Oct 2004 07:34

Thanks heaps for that and sorry about the missing stats. I'll post them now:

Cost: $60,000
Introduction date: 1981
Life: 30 years
Climate: Temperate
Engine: Diesel
Running cost: $6500
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 22 Oct 2004 07:46

Thanks heaps for that and sorry about the missing stats. I'll post them now:

Cost: $60,000
No problem about the missing stats, I just noted, that I need those for proper encoding.
The currency, though... Is it AUDs, or USDs?
Please, if you are able, convert it to GBP (Ł) 'cause TTD works in that currency internally.
Image please use email instead of PM

User avatar
mdhowe
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 07:12
Location: Hobart, Australia

Post by mdhowe » 22 Oct 2004 07:59

Szappy wrote:The currency, though... Is it AUDs, or USDs?
Please, if you are able, convert it to GBP (?) 'cause TTD works in that currency internally.
OK, lets say about 40,000 pounds. Thanks again
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3610
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 22 Oct 2004 22:37

Remember that the cost needs to be in 1920 pounds, not 1980 pounds. ;)

User avatar
mdhowe
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 446
Joined: 09 Jul 2004 07:12
Location: Hobart, Australia

Post by mdhowe » 23 Oct 2004 00:49

ChrisCF wrote:Remember that the cost needs to be in 1920 pounds, not 1980 pounds. ;)
Not sure how I'd figure out 1920 pounds :) I have no idea how much one would cost anyway, I just took the price from similar trains at the same time in the game.

BTW, the XPT is basicly the British HST reengineered for Aussie conditions. Are these stats somewhat similar?
"Set fashion, not follow. Spit vitriol, not swallow" - Marilyn Manson

ChrisCF
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer
Posts: 3610
Joined: 26 Dec 2002 16:39
Location: Over there --->

Post by ChrisCF » 23 Oct 2004 01:07

Small matter of inflation. Calculating the reverse effect of inflation is easy. Inflation of n over t years of sum x is x*((1+n)^t). Equally, the original value of something now worth y after the same period is y/((1+n)^t)

So, A$60k today is around £25k. Taking an average 5% over the 60 years, this gives 1338 or thereabouts.

Apologies in advance if my calculation or method are completely wrong - I'm a civil servant, so I'm supposed to get this kind of thing wrong :-)

CyberBoy
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 216
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 21:31

Post by CyberBoy » 08 Nov 2004 03:44

Would you try encoding this A4 recolor from the BR set:

Stats:

Name: A4 Class 4-6-2
Speed: 95 mph
Horsepower: 2200
Weight: 165 Tons
Introduction: 1925
Cost: 30000 pounds (Estimated)
Life: 45 Years
Engine: Steam
Climates: Temperate and Arctic

Note: I did get permission from the author (mnorman), but I made some changes after getting permission, so if he disagrees with this, he has full permission to stop this.

As for the GRFMaker, keep up the good work! I'm sure a lot of people will appreciate it.
Attachments
a4red.png
a4red.png (3.92 KiB) Viewed 13644 times

User avatar
Csaboka
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1202
Joined: 25 Nov 2002 16:30
Location: Tiszavasvári, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Csaboka » 16 Nov 2004 08:01

I've split almost all recent posts from this thread since they were discussing another program. (This is the first time I've used my moderator powers BTW). Please talk about GRFMaker here and create new topics for other programs.

The splitted posts can be found in the new topic: NFOGRF (Jeb's GRF program)
Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away.—Philip K. Dick

BobDendry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2213
Joined: 06 May 2004 09:10
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Contact:

Post by BobDendry » 16 Nov 2004 08:57

So, just a question from someone who doesn't know how to code:)
Can this thing like automate it so you just specify the sprites and the names, costs, etc. and out pops a grf?
Formerly known as Lachie

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 16 Nov 2004 09:35

NOPE
Image please use email instead of PM

BobDendry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2213
Joined: 06 May 2004 09:10
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Contact:

Post by BobDendry » 17 Nov 2004 05:36

OK then. Maybe I'll ask a clearer/better question.
What advantage would a person have when using the program over doing it manually
Formerly known as Lachie

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 17 Nov 2004 07:22

Many
-you don't have to count the lines, and the lengths of the nfo rows, it's automatic
-you work on a graphical interface
-you can set properties in text fields, and check/uncheck, whether you want to change a specific prop
-it has built-in testing tool for just your grf
-it's very easy to position x/yrel, and you don't have to worry about x/ysize or pos, it calculates them automatically
-you see a graphical representation of your sprites, you don't have to take notes, which id is which
-it has a built-in sprite editor
-you can copypaste rows
-there are a lot of built in conviniences (ex. the action7/9 has 2 entries, a start and an end, everything that you place between those two, will be effected by the action7/9)
-it generates the .nfo automatically
-able to make a dos grf file from the win sprites in one click
...and much more, that doesn't come to my mind now

all in all, you work with texts, and decimal numbers, and you don't have to go bithunting, the .nfo bytes are created and encoded by the program itself.

as for the
So, just a question from someone who doesn't know how to code:)
Can this thing like automate it so you just specify the sprites and the names, costs, etc. and out pops a grf?
it's not a wizard, it wouldn't be possible to make one. You still have to understand how actions and properties work, but you don't have to code in .nfo language.

I'd say it's like .nfo coding is ASM and this program is like VB or Delphi (;))
Image please use email instead of PM

User avatar
Bernhard
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 293
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 11:26
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O

Post by Bernhard » 17 Nov 2004 07:25

........and when will we get it?? ok. when it is finished.......... do you know when? one week, two weeks??

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 17 Nov 2004 08:28

I don't even dare to estimate now, everytime I made an estimation, it turned out to be way off.
Maybe in two weeks... damn subsilver ;)
Image please use email instead of PM

BobDendry
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2213
Joined: 06 May 2004 09:10
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Contact:

Post by BobDendry » 17 Nov 2004 08:33

OK, So it's a lot easier to use then normal NFO coding. Ive used the sprite editor which was released by you before. I'll be following this program very closely.
Formerly known as Lachie

User avatar
Bernhard
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 293
Joined: 11 Mar 2004 11:26
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O

Post by Bernhard » 17 Nov 2004 09:28

lille bit off topic.....
is there a programm to correct the position of the sprites that will work with win98???
The NFOEditor doesn't work.............

it is very pedantically to start the game for each change to control

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 17 Nov 2004 10:44

This is implemented, just wait...
Image please use email instead of PM

User avatar
Szappy
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 689
Joined: 29 Mar 2004 14:35
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Contact:

Post by Szappy » 06 Dec 2004 13:40

I've got a seemingly stable prealpha version.
Enyone interested, drop me a PM/email/post.
This is not intended for very thorough work, just testing/getting used to the interface, and suggesting usability features.

Szappy
Image please use email instead of PM

Post Reply

Return to “NewGRF Technical Discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests