V4 CEE Train Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

Version 6661 was downloaded to bananas server.
I added bunch of Prussian steam locomotives (using repainted sprites from CETS project) and some Austrian early steam locomotives, thus now set is playable from the second half of the XIX century.
060DA locomotive was repainted to more resemble the prototype, and original sprites were reused as 060DA1 (CFR 63 series).
Steam locomotives have "fake" repaint depending on company colour, if default 2cc recolour is chosen, to avoid badly look of wheels (wheel are always red, red/white or black/white, eventually brown, not yellow/blue/pink whatsoever).
Running costs and purchase costs are tweaked.
I added popularity bonus to purchase price, thus some worldwide know locomotives are slightly cheaper, and some overpowered but outnumbered series are more expensive.
I added also voltage parameter to electric trains. Currently it have no meaning except that higher voltage: higher purchase costs but cheaper running cost.

Project is open for translations.
I splitted locomotive name from traction designation, traction designation (Steam, DMU etc) is defined separately, so it is easy now to translate all names (just ignore them or copy original).
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

New version uploaded to bananas.
Besides of new locomotives, I made mockup of freight wagons.
There are two kinds of these wagons: with station autorefit capability or with fixed refit (depot only). Appropriate information is provided as additional text. The rule of thumb is, that carriages with autorefit doesn't change its livery while refitted. Despite of 2cctt set, where liveries were changed at the station, here it is possible only inside depot.

Wagons without autorefit:
mixed train (concept similar to Australian trains set by Gerry)
broad gauge boxcars
silo wagons
general tankers
service cars

Wagons with autorefit:
general normal gauge boxcars
grain boxcars
open wagons/gondolas
hoppers
flat cars
petroleum tankers

I also sorted vehicles into subgroups (normal gauge, dual gauge, broad gauge, or different traction voltage groups), it have no effect yet but will be used in future together with native tracks set planned.
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by Maddog45353 »

Request: I'd like to see a parameter for disabling broad gauge engines and wagons, or maybe a parameter that sets broad gauge wagons to normal gauge stats for mixing play styles.
LoneBlackWolf
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

You can disable broad gauge vehicles simply by disabling (ex) Soviet Union fleet.
Excluding of mixed attach is needed, because:
1. game balance (broad gauge carriages have larger capacity)
2. I would like to introduce broad and normal gauge types.

PS. new version is available on Bananas.
I introduced new feature: freight wagons running costs depend on cargo weight, which allow better balance between passengers (which give revenue forth and back) and freight cargo (less payment for empty turns).
Additionally freight wagons have decreased costs while waiting in depot.
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by Maddog45353 »

McZapkie wrote:You can disable broad gauge vehicles simply by disabling (ex) Soviet Union fleet.
Excluding of mixed attach is needed, because:
1. game balance (broad gauge carriages have larger capacity)
2. I would like to introduce broad and normal gauge types.

PS. new version is available on Bananas.
I introduced new feature: freight wagons running costs depend on cargo weight, which allow better balance between passengers (which give revenue forth and back) and freight cargo (less payment for empty turns).
Additionally freight wagons have decreased costs while waiting in depot.

Does this set stack well with 2cc in nml?

EDIT: RZD Ov doesn't get disabled with soviet union parameter off.
EDIT2: Seams a few broad gauge stuff are there even with that parameter off.
LoneBlackWolf
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

Maddog45353 wrote: Does this set stack well with 2cc in nml?

EDIT: RZD Ov doesn't get disabled with soviet union parameter off.
EDIT2: Seams a few broad gauge stuff are there even with that parameter off.
It should be treated as a standalone set, otherwise switches would not work properly, overpowered vehicles.
Similar problem with 2cc set itself, its multiple units works fine unless not mixed with other sets.

Especially this set should not be mixed with 2cc, because it rely mostly on 2cc set therefore many engines and cars would overlap.

Ov locomotive was used in Poland, therefore it exist even with Russian stock excluded.
I have plans to add new category - steam locomotives which can be re-gauged in depot, thus can run both on normal and broad gauge track, similar to some diesel (M62, TEM2 etc) or electric locomotives.
It is probably not realistic (not sure if even possible to re-gauge steam locomotive), but useful for playability.
Wide used locomotives such RZD Ov, KPEV G10, DRG 52 or UNNRA S160 would be in such roster.
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by Maddog45353 »

McZapkie wrote:
Maddog45353 wrote: Does this set stack well with 2cc in nml?

EDIT: RZD Ov doesn't get disabled with soviet union parameter off.
EDIT2: Seams a few broad gauge stuff are there even with that parameter off.
It should be treated as a standalone set, otherwise switches would not work properly, overpowered vehicles.
Similar problem with 2cc set itself, its multiple units works fine unless not mixed with other sets.

Especially this set should not be mixed with 2cc, because it rely mostly on 2cc set therefore many engines and cars would overlap.

Ov locomotive was used in Poland, therefore it exist even with Russian stock excluded.
I have plans to add new category - steam locomotives which can be re-gauged in depot, thus can run both on normal and broad gauge track, similar to some diesel (M62, TEM2 etc) or electric locomotives.
It is probably not realistic (not sure if even possible to re-gauge steam locomotive), but useful for playability.
Wide used locomotives such RZD Ov, KPEV G10, DRG 52 or UNNRA S160 would be in such roster.


Ah thats why they are still showing up.
LoneBlackWolf
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

New version uploaded to bananas. Beside of additional railway stock and some fancy features (tank engines not flipping after driving reverse), I fixed some bugs.
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

New version is available. Fixed some bugs, sorted up wagons. Ov locomotive was used both on normal and broad gauge, thus it is visible with broad gauge excluded, but now it is really universal (as well as DRG 52). Few new locomotives from XIX century added.

I have question about track type labels:
  • which labels should be assigned to:
  • 3 kV DC electrified track
  • 15kV AC electrified track
  • 25kV AC electrified track, each in slow, medium and high speed version,
  • universal electrified track (slow)
?
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
User avatar
nirasa
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 69
Joined: 03 Sep 2015 07:11
Location: Czech republic

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by nirasa »

En: You're doing a very good job. Thank you
Cz: Děláš velmi dobrou práci. Děkuji
User avatar
Maddog45353
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 97
Joined: 26 Jun 2013 09:00

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by Maddog45353 »

Still being updated or no?
LoneBlackWolf
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

Yes, it will be updated, I got stuck at infrastructure issues.
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

At least, huge update comes with 7592 version on bananas: I introduced custom native trackset to the V4 CEE trainset.

First of all, I want to acknowledge all authors of infrastructure newgrfs (Nutracks, JPtracks, Swedishrails, Dutchtracks, CE-tracks, Rail-CS, Dutchtracks, xUSSR, MLSD)
which sprites and templates were used as base for this project - there is 19 track types, each one has own distinctive appearance (including tracks with/without catenary) - amount of work exceeding my patience, thus I used graphics from another project.
My intention was to get clear sight which track is electrified or not (especially these pesky diagonal tracks missing overhead wire are no more annoying) - thus large number of different track sprites:
example of v4 CEE track types
example of v4 CEE track types
v4trackset.jpg (185.28 KiB) Viewed 652 times
  • There are following track types:
  • normal gauge, not electrified (3 speeds)
  • normal gauge, electrified DC 3 kV (3 speeds)
  • normal gauge, electrified AC 15 kV (3 speeds)
  • normal gauge, electrified AC 25 kV (2 speeds)
  • normal gauge, multisystem AC/DC, low speed (for sheds/joint stations)
  • dual gauge (normal/broad), not electrified, low speed (for sheds/interoperability)
  • broad gauge, not electrified (3 speeds)
  • broad gauge, electrified DC 3 kV (2 speeds)
  • third rail metro track (normal gauge)
Of course all railroad vehicles provided within this set are designed to run and be powered on appropriate tracks, for example DR/OBB electric locomotives can be powered from 15 kV AC electrified tracks, but can only passively run on 3 kV DC tracks. There also some multisystem rolling stock available later.
Different voltage systems not only mimic mess of real european railroad system, but also give some decisive opportunities (especially on servers with hard economy settings): building of low voltage track/locomotives is cheap, but instrastructure/running costs are higher, in contrary to high voltage track/vehicles (higher purchase price, lower operational costs).
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

I got "fatal NewGRF error... attempt to use invalid ID (sprite ...)" when running v4 CEE on 1.7.2 openttd
(no problem with 1.9.x) - probably something related with track types, because no such error if they are disabled.
Any idea, in which version it was changed (I just want to fix minimum version constrains on bananas)?
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension, V4 CEE train set.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.
User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3985
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by NekoMaster »

McZapkie wrote: 19 Oct 2020 12:08 I got "fatal NewGRF error... attempt to use invalid ID (sprite ...)" when running v4 CEE on 1.7.2 openttd
(no problem with 1.9.x) - probably something related with track types, because no such error if they are disabled.
Any idea, in which version it was changed (I just want to fix minimum version constrains on bananas)?
Why are you playing with 1.7.2? Current vanilla version is 1.10.3.

It might be that because your using more than 12 rail types it can't load in older versions as that was only added in recent versions (allowing more than 12 rail types to be loaded)
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!
McZapkie
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1210
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 18:10

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by McZapkie »

I'm not playing with 1.7, I just noticed that this version is not compatible, thus I want to restrict lowest version on bananas service.
You are right, it is railtype count issue, but prior which version it was changed?
User avatar
spajdy
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 28 Jan 2018 12:59

Re: V4 CEE Train Set

Post by spajdy »

Hi, I really like what you have done here, it is beautiful and I like to play with this.

Anyway, I hope you don't mind that I've made one of my trains compatible with your trucks.
viewtopic.php?p=1237839#p1237839
It is actually DB PushPull for my set in the future, but for now, anybody can download it from the forum.
It actually works only on 15 kV tracks as real Škoda 109E (DB 102) and it should behave as PushPull if set correctly.
Špajdy | Slovakia | languages: slovak, eneglish | I code in NML |

| My projects: DB PushPull https://bit.ly/3l9MIzf | Slovak Transport Graphic Set https://bit.ly/38jEHo1

Image
The first BETA version of the Slovak Bus Set is planned for the end of the December of 2020 or the first days of 2021.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests