[OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

willsym22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 112
Joined: 03 Mar 2014 23:14
Location: Essex

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by willsym22 » 05 Apr 2018 11:30

Will the format of the set stay the same, with the choice to choose liveries in refit, accurate capacities, purchasing a whole train rather than the end carriages then trailers.

There were several things that made me dislike the old brsets before BR trains was made. Such as the end carriages and high speed carriages and them only having a capacity of 40 or something.

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 698
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Gwyd » 05 Apr 2018 11:32

We're going to copy over virtually all the code: it will work in a similar way but with more consistent graphics.

User avatar
Redirect Left
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 6580
Joined: 22 Jan 2005 19:31
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Redirect Left » 05 Apr 2018 13:07

Leanden wrote:
Redirect Left wrote:Hopefully this means i can finally punish the north of England as much as they are in real life and shove Pacers everywhere on lines they're too small and slow for :twisted:
Pacers will be in the 1.0 release so yes you can :twisted:
Goooooood. My only issue with UKRS was no Pacers. So they either got something a bit too rubbish, or something a little bit too good, like a Sprinter >:(

Hopfully the coloring on the redo will be better too. No offense, but some of the units I found a little dull colored, coming across as stupidly dirty looking, and the quality often varies hugely between units. This is why I generally use UKRS, despite loving the additional units that BRT has that UKRS does not.
Last edited by Redirect Left on 05 Apr 2018 13:24, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 698
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Gwyd » 05 Apr 2018 13:21

The release with all the gfx contributed will be a bit slap-dash. There may be many issues. It may take a couple of months. It shall be known as the corpse of BRTrains.

User avatar
TrainLover
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 90
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 15:03

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by TrainLover » 08 Apr 2018 19:37

How come only the BR08, and the BR13 are the only ones that are showing up on the dev.openttdcoop page? I'm looking through the repository to check how you did your livery overrides for one of my own projects.

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 698
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Gwyd » 08 Apr 2018 20:03

A better place to look is our Dropbox repo: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/f06kuxqgb67s ... RlODa?dl=0

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Leanden » 08 Apr 2018 23:07

Indeed, i unfortunately lost the ssh key when i updated my PC and found it a nuisance to get a new one added, so defaulted to drop box :P
Image

willsym22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 112
Joined: 03 Mar 2014 23:14
Location: Essex

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by willsym22 » 12 Jun 2018 17:40

Hello,

Been no update in a while, does the statement above still apply and is there any more updates on current progress?

Thanks

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 698
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Gwyd » 12 Jun 2018 17:44

There's been no updates because this isn't being developed much more. We're currently having a break and in a couple of months we'll release a "final" version before this GRF is "replaced" by BORTS. When the final version is released, we'll change this thread to say the GRF is unmaintained. For now though, we are able to do stuff. We're just not.

willsym22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 112
Joined: 03 Mar 2014 23:14
Location: Essex

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by willsym22 » 14 Jul 2018 18:05

Any idea why some trains slow down through tunnels? Happens with e320s and hsts and some more that i cannot remember. Is this a br trains issue?

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 698
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Gwyd » 14 Jul 2018 18:36

Afaik it happens with every train

Supercheese
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1660
Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Supercheese » 14 Jul 2018 19:21

willsym22 wrote:Any idea why some trains slow down through tunnels? Happens with e320s and hsts and some more that i cannot remember. Is this a br trains issue?
Air resistance! :wink:
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Leanden » 14 Jul 2018 19:26

IIRC tunnels have a speed limit hardcoded into the game.
Image

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by acs121 » 14 Jul 2018 20:25

Leanden wrote:IIRC tunnels have a speed limit hardcoded into the game.
They don't, although all trains slow down in tunnels. This works for e320s as well as for Class 66s.

willsym22
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 112
Joined: 03 Mar 2014 23:14
Location: Essex

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by willsym22 » 14 Jul 2018 20:30

Any reason this happens to everything apart from 373s?

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by acs121 » 14 Jul 2018 21:09

This, because 373 have such power they don't deccelerate as fast. I may be wrong...

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Leanden » 15 Jul 2018 00:12

Rechecked the game mechanics to confirm. Air drag coefficient is doubled for vehicles inside tunnels. The e320 (and i expect the e300) have so much power they can overcome this easily.
Image

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by acs121 » 15 Jul 2018 00:45

Leanden wrote:Rechecked the game mechanics to confirm. Air drag coefficient is doubled for vehicles inside tunnels. The e320 (and i expect the e300) have so much power they can overcome this easily.
This, also because their aerodynamism allows them having very low air_drag_coefficient.

User avatar
TrainLover
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 90
Joined: 01 Jul 2015 15:03

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by TrainLover » 19 Jul 2018 14:38

What is BORTS?

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: [OTTD] BRTrains - Development Thread

Post by Leanden » 19 Jul 2018 18:25

TrainLover wrote:What is BORTS?

BORTS??
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests