FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5705
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth »

The rate of recyclables production per inhabitant could be reduced. Or larger towns could have multiple recycling depots, splitting production between them. Or I could leave it unchanged :)

Not currently working on FIRS, but discussion is useful - all attempts so far at waste/recycling chain have not resulted in win.
User avatar
3iff
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1103
Joined: 21 Oct 2005 09:26
Location: Birmingham, England

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by 3iff »

This is the code I use for SPI. It sets a limit of 15,000 population as the controlling factor for recyclables production. This gives a max production of 135 per month and a minimum of 36 per month.That's enough to get players interested and they have an incentive for building up the town, but by the time they become available the town is likely to be fairly big anyway.

I find that manageable. I can't remember if I allow multiple depots per town...but I think it is permitted.

Changing it to 'population / 2000' would make the town need to get to 30k population to get max production...which might be better.

Code: Select all

produce(recycling_depot_production, 0, 0, 0, LOAD_TEMP(1), 0, 0);

switch (FEAT_INDUSTRIES, PARENT, recycling_depot_produce, [STORE_TEMP(min(15, max(4, (population / 1000 ))), 1)]) {
  0: recycling_depot_production;
     recycling_depot_production;
}
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

Doesn't capping it encourage people to just throw stuff away instead of recycling? ;)

I like the large volumes, but my gameplay is pretty casual and I don't try to max out my efficiency.

What a variable rate, where the rate for a smaller town is higher/population then lowered as the size increases?
User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4001
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by NekoMaster »

Wouldn't it be possible to scale the output of Recycling with train service provided? I'm pretty sure a City and/or waste managment company isn't going to send tons of waste/recycling your way if you can't handle all of it. Instead a city/company would probably look elsewhere to send their waste/recycling to (like another city or company to send to another transport company)
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!
User avatar
supermop
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1104
Joined: 21 Feb 2010 00:15
Location: Fitzroy North - 96

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by supermop »

NekoMaster wrote:Wouldn't it be possible to scale the output of Recycling with train service provided? I'm pretty sure a City and/or waste managment company isn't going to send tons of waste/recycling your way if you can't handle all of it. Instead a city/company would probably look elsewhere to send their waste/recycling to (like another city or company to send to another transport company)

But currently this is no different than the other primary industries in FIRS. The coal mine will happily dig out hundreds of tons every month to go nowhere, and the fisherman will catch and throw back thousands of fish - completely indifferent to the fact you are only running a metro on the opposite side of the map and have no plans to service them. You can imagine that some invisible smaller actors are contracting for the service in the background instead - maybe the mayor is driving the recyclables out in the trunk of his car?
User avatar
Simozzz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 140
Joined: 09 Aug 2008 12:29
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Simozzz »

NekoMaster wrote:Wouldn't it be possible to scale the output of Recycling with train service provided? I'm pretty sure a City and/or waste managment company isn't going to send tons of waste/recycling your way if you can't handle all of it. Instead a city/company would probably look elsewhere to send their waste/recycling to (like another city or company to send to another transport company)
That's how primary industry works in ECS. If you transport more than 75% of cargo produced, more will be produced following month/year. It is hard to maintain that for majority of players, and that's why ECS considered as hard to understand and play.

And some questions for Andy:
How CASS, NITR, PHOS are supposed to be transported?
Are they bulk and needed to be covered?
Sorry for my bad English.
User avatar
Wowanxm
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 28
Joined: 09 Jul 2010 18:07
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Wowanxm »

andythenorth wrote:
Simozzz wrote:How CASS, NITR, PHOS are supposed to be transported?
Are they bulk and needed to be covered?
Yes bulk. No, covered isn't needed ;)
Many types of nitrates (maybe even majority?) are considered to be dangerous cargo.

And what is phosphate in your conception? Is it an ore (apatite for instance, 1850 kg/m³ — suitable for open gondolas and platforms) or some mineral fertilizer (superphosphate, 960 kg/m³ — only for special hoppers)?
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4765
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Alberth »

Clearly, the cargo is not dangerous, as it's no cover.

This is fully within OpenTTD regulations, where cargo is forbidden to explode or do otherwise harm to innocent nearby pixels.
Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
User avatar
Simozzz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 140
Joined: 09 Aug 2008 12:29
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by Simozzz »

andythenorth wrote:
Simozzz wrote:How CASS, NITR, PHOS are supposed to be transported?
Are they bulk and needed to be covered?
Yes bulk. No, covered isn't needed ;)
Nitrates are easly dissolved in water, so transporting them uncovered is quite reckless. Single rain and your train/truck is empty.
Sorry for my bad English.
User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5705
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth »

Wowanxm wrote:And what is phosphate in your conception? Is it an ore (apatite for instance, 1850 kg/m³ — suitable for open gondolas and platforms) or some mineral fertilizer (superphosphate, 960 kg/m³ — only for special hoppers)?
Cargos in FIRS aren't precise. But to give a guide, phosphate is a primary cargo in FIRS, and needs processing before it can be used in fertiliser or chemical production. So ore is a better representation.

Iron Horse transports phosphate in open gondolas and open hoppers, Road Hog transports it in dump trucks. Other sets of course make their own choices about best vehicle to use. :wink:
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

I decided to try to add a new economy to FIRS for my own use. Essentially industries focused northern central and eastern US and Canada. I've looked through the FIRS code, and it looks like I need to:
  • add a new economy file to the economies folder
  • update the economy init file
  • enable the economy in each industry I want to appear
  • update the lang file
Is there anywhere else?

Also, have you considered moving the industry enable flag to the economy file instead of each industry?
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

oftcrash wrote:I decided to try to add a new economy to FIRS for my own use. Essentially industries focused northern central and eastern US and Canada. I've looked through the FIRS code, and it looks like I need to:
  • add a new economy file to the economies folder
  • update the economy init file
  • enable the economy in each industry I want to appear
  • update the lang file
Is there anywhere else?
I've answered my own question. Turns out it works a lot better when you spell things correctly :roll:
User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5705
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth »

oftcrash wrote:Also, have you considered moving the industry enable flag to the economy file instead of each industry?
Yes. But economies can optionally over-ride industry properties, so it makes more sense to keep the flags in the industry file, alongside any over-rides. ;)

The html docs are useful when developing an economy, especially the cargo flow diagrams. 'make html_docs' will build them quickly in isolation.
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

andythenorth wrote:The html docs are useful when developing an economy, especially the cargo flow diagrams. 'make html_docs' will build them quickly in isolation.
Yeah, I like the diagrams. I'm having some problems getting Graphviz to run properly, but I haven't had a chance to diagnose it yet.

All in all, the build scripts are slick and make it pretty easy to make changes. I was able to create a new economy to test out in about an hour yesterday.
User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5705
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth »

oftcrash wrote:All in all, the build scripts are slick and make it pretty easy to make changes. I was able to create a new economy to test out in about an hour yesterday.
:D

Might be worth putting it on devzone?
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

andythenorth wrote:
oftcrash wrote:All in all, the build scripts are slick and make it pretty easy to make changes. I was able to create a new economy to test out in about an hour yesterday.
:D

Might be worth putting it on devzone?
That would probably simplify things for me :)

I have two economies:
  • Northeastern US based - Fishing, Coal, Textile production, Wood harvesting, Lumber, Paper, but not much farming aside from some Dairy to cover Vermont and Ben & Jerry's, fruit orchards, plus some other stuff I forget now that I'm at work :). It would probably fit for the Pacific Northwest too.
  • Upper Midwest US (Ohio across to the Dakotas) - lots of farming, iron ore, metal production, vehicle production, orchards.
I had insomnia last night, so I played a 30 year test of the Northeast economy. Needs some tweaking, but I like it. I upped the forest spawn rate quite a bit - something about hauling wood that I really enjoy.

I started off trying to figure out if I could just make an add-on grf that would ride along side FIRS and just tweak settings, disable certain industries, and so on. It was just easier to recompile it though.
User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5705
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by andythenorth »

oftcrash wrote:Might be worth putting it on devzone?
There's no quick way to fork a project on devzone afaik, but you can make a new project and push your changes to it http://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/new

Getting the repo initialised isn't always straightforward, you might need to ask for help in irc #openttdcoop.devzone (be patient for replies, the channel isn't very active)

Interesting to see these FIRS forks, this is the 3rd major fork that I am aware of :)
User avatar
oftcrash
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 304
Joined: 03 Jan 2013 17:20
Location: New England, USA

Re: FIRS Industry Replacement Set - Development & Translations

Post by oftcrash »

I'm pretty much doing it for myself - I don't know that anyone else would find it as interesting. I'm going to futz around with it some more and see what I come up with. If I think its any good I'll see about putting it up on devzone. I think it needs to be differentiated more from FIRS to make it worth it, especially as you make updates.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Google [Bot] and 14 guests