I need help with template coordinates

Discussions about the technical aspects of graphics development, including NewGRF tools and utilities.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Abydos
Engineer
Engineer

I need help with template coordinates

Post by Abydos »

<<<Sorry for my bad english!>>>

Hi, I am new to creating NewGRFs, and I would like to ask a question as I wanted to know how I configured a basic 4-view template for a locomotive sprite, since I could not understand the tutorial available on the wiki (https://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NMLTutoria ... pritegroup).

Below is the sprite I did:
MAFERSATREM.png
MAFERSATREM.png (2.46 KiB) Viewed 1896 times
Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Re: I need help with template coordinates

Post by Alberth »

Please be more specific.
"I don't understand X" is a good start, but for us X is fully understandable, that is, we fail to see what you cannot understand.

Show us what you made, show us what the compiler says, or show us what the documentation says, and explain to us why that is not what you expect, and why it is a problem that you cannot make sense of.
Basically give us enough information such that we can replay your problem ourselves.
Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Abydos
Engineer
Engineer

Post by Abydos »

Alberth wrote:Please be more specific.
"I don't understand X" is a good start, but for us X is fully understandable, that is, we fail to see what you cannot understand.

Show us what you made, show us what the compiler says, or show us what the documentation says, and explain to us why that is not what you expect, and why it is a problem that you cannot make sense of.
Basically give us enough information such that we can replay your problem ourselves.
I did not understand the process of aligning the sprites, as below:

Spriteset (<identifier>, <graphics_file>) {
[Left_x1, upper_y1, width1, height1, offset_x1, offset_y1]