Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 11:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
Attachment:
IMG0001.png


Have you got problems with, or would like to report any issues about Canadian Graphic Files; i.e. regarding any of the following GRFs :

» Canadian Trains and Railways (CanRail)
» Canadian Stations (CanStn)
» Canadian City Buildings (CanCity)
» Canadian Town Names (CANames)
» Canadian (International) Roads (CanRoads)
» Canadian (BK) Tunnels (BKTunnel)

or any other forthcoming graphic files; then post your query here in this topic ...


Last edited by OzTrans on Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 12:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:03 am
Posts: 1423
You tricked me that those words in yellow are hyperlinks :lol: . So still no download links in the forums? And how's that other project, Infra or something like that, going?

_________________
Formerly known as UseYourIllusion.
Java Scenario Found Here - Version 2 out
[tweɪ̂ pû tɕʰì wɔ̀ mǐlɤ lû tɕʰìŋ nì pɑ́ŋmɑ̌ŋ]


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
UseYourIllusion wrote:
You tricked me that those words in yellow are hyperlinks ... So still no download links in the forums? ...
Can't wait, can you ? I'm sorry for the confusion, I changed the colour.

For downloads go to your local green grocer, the bee-store, provided you are a player of OpenTTD v1.2.3 (minimum required version, except CanRail requires v1.3.0) or v1.3.0. TTDPatch players or OpenTTD players of v1.3.1, nightlies, beta's or RC's can go here (the link in the download column).

End-User discussions go here in this topic and a website is currently under construction ...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue May 04, 2010 5:59 pm
Posts: 122
Location: Germany
It must be some kind of strange coincidence that you post a thread about enduser queries here the same day an idea came up about your proposed Canadian Road Vehicle Set (ore containers on trucks similar to your narrow gauge ore containers used by the WP&Y both on rail and truck). Shall we wait for your site under construction to be finished, or can we post here already - as you seem to have left your recent place of creation?

Anyway, glad to see there is progress / movement in CanSets. *thumbs up*

_________________
The pessimist sees the darkness in the tunnel.
The optimist sees the light at the end of the tunnel.
The realist sees the light coming closer...
The engineer sees three fools in front of his train on the track in the tunnel.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
Ogre wrote:
It must be some kind of strange coincidence that you post a thread about enduser queries here the same day an idea came up about your proposed Canadian Road Vehicle Set ...

I have created a new topic here and answered your suggestion there.

This topic should be used only for End-User Queries about already released Canadian Graphic Files ...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:32 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:36 am
Posts: 259
How to disable original houses when using the canadian city buildings set? (in openttd using opengfx)

cheers

_________________
My screenshots
A fractal heightmap generator for openttd


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3523
Location: West Java
I don't see these NewGRF's in the ingame BaNaNaS, in fact i'm using quite latest nightlies. Is this due to the game itself or due to the NewGRF requirement ?

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
zooks wrote:
How to disable original houses when using the canadian city buildings set? (in openttd using opengfx)
CanCity is not a complete town replacement set yet. There are not enough buildings in the set to cover all TTD 'original' buildings. The GRF needs to take care of old houses, you cannot do that. The next version of CanCity will cover all houses. If you don't like the ones from the base set, you may want to add TTRS v3.0 (I believe it is) too, which will give you a mix of buildings from both sets.

YNM wrote:
I don't see these NewGRF's in the ingame BaNaNaS, in fact i'm using quite latest nightlies. Is this due to the game itself or due to the NewGRF requirement ?


slaca wrote:
The new 1.6 files arent shown in openttd 1.3.1 content download, I had to download manually and extract it myself to work it. Maybe because they are not just .tar but tar.gz ??


a) NewGRF requirements are minimum game version v1.2.3 (except CanRail, it requires v1.3.0) or higher, including any nightlies, beta's and RCs.

b) GRFs are supposed to be downloadable from the Content Downloader within games with OpenTTD versions v1.2.3 through to and including v1.3.1 (CanRail v1.3.0 - v1.3.1). However, there is still this bug, that downloads are not available from the OpenTTD version that is specified as "Maximum OpenTTD Version", only from the immediately lower one; i.e. v1.3.0.

Players not using stable versions (as indicated above) or v1.3.1 need to do what slaca did; go to http://bananas.openttd.org/en/newgrf/ and download it from the link(s) in the 'Downloads' column. Then, unzip the .gz and place the .tar file into your 'newgrf' or whatever folder you are using. The same applies for TTDPatch players for the time being.

There is a reason why Canadian Graphic Files are not available for download from within OpenTTD nightlies, beta's and RC's, but they work nonetheless with those releases.

A better solution is being worked on ...


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1651
Location: Idaho, USA
Why is a "Maximum OpenTTD version" even needed?

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 1:15 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3523
Location: West Java
Supercheese wrote:
Why is a "Maximum OpenTTD version" even needed?

Agree with this one. As long as I see in the NewGRF development, there are only new features, or bugfix added.

Also, I think there's a way to disable default things, including houses ?

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 7:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
Supercheese wrote:
Why is a "Maximum OpenTTD version" even needed?
It is still a fact, that I dislike that local green grocer. But, to meet the player community half-way, I decided to release the Canadian graphic files via the Content Downloader, but for stable releases of the game only.

This should make those multi-player gamers happy and a few newcomers too, that normally start with a stable release of the game.

For the forseeable future, they will not be available for download from nightly, beta and RC versions of the game. Once a new stable release is out, I will shift the "Maximum OpenTTD version" one notch up, provided there are no issues outstanding that still need fixing; i.e. anything that has been found during the development phase of that stable release.

YNM wrote:
Also, I think there's a way to disable default things, including houses ?
Of course, there is a way, but disabling the default houses and then use an incomplete building set spells trouble for your cities. This issues will be fixed in the next issue of CanCity. In the meantime, you just have to live with some TTD 'original' buildings showing up at times.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:05 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6299
Location: Eastern KY
You realize that this means that players of some very popular patch packs will be prevented from using your graphics, yes?

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1651
Location: Idaho, USA
kamnet wrote:
You realize that this means that players of some very popular patch packs will be prevented from using your graphics, yes?

Well, they won't be prevented from using the grfs, as they can still download them manually, but they might be excluded from using BaNaNaS as it is primarily intended.

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
Supercheese wrote:
kamnet wrote:
You realize that this means that players of some very popular patch packs will be prevented from using your graphics, yes?

Well, they won't be prevented from using the grfs, as they can still download them manually, but they might be excluded from using BaNaNaS as it is primarily intended.
I have at least three OTTD installations on my system: Stable [1.3.1], Nightly [whatever is current], cirdan's patch compiled by Supercheese [ :bow: ].
Stable will get the latest BaNaNaS files into my system.
Then my other installations will see the latest files in the NewGRF status window.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
kamnet wrote:
You realize that this means that players of some very popular patch packs will be prevented from using your graphics, yes?
They are not prevented from using them. Canadian graphic files are not restricted as such; they work with beta, RC and patched versions. They just cannot be dowloaded via the Content Downloader.


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 1867
Skype: squirejames5
Location: Stoke-on-Trent
So, you actually wanted to make downloading and using your work arbitrarily harder?

_________________
Image


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 11:10 am
Posts: 3523
Location: West Java
OzTrans wrote:
They are not prevented from using them. Canadian graphic files are not restricted as such; they work with beta, RC and patched versions. They just cannot be dowloaded via the Content Downloader.

Gaah, don't you aware the major attraction of using the latest nightly/trunk these time ?

_________________
YNM = yoursNotMine - Don't get it ?


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:58 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 910
Location: Beer
I have to express that I find it absolutely ridiculous that you take the extra effort to
1. make the restriction of maximum version for no reason what so ever, and
2. answer all the obvious questions because people do not understand why did you do that

Also, may I ask in what way is a Stable version better than nightlies or even patches? Nightlies are vital for testing features which can eventuall get in stable versions, and people should be encouraged to play with nightlies, not vice versa :)

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5381
Location: Canada
V453000 :) wrote:
Also, may I ask in what way is a Stable version better than nightlies or even patches? Nightlies are vital for testing features which can eventually get in stable versions, and people should be encouraged to play with nightlies, not vice versa :)
My suspicion would be that a stable is essentially bug free so if there is an issue it would probably lie with the GRF. For the player who is not into nightlies and patches.
Nightly and Patch players tend to be more tolerant of the occasional bug. If the GRF is known to work in stable, then a problem would probably be due to a bug or a change in the nightly or patch. Not for the feint of heart.
Personally, I have 1.3.1 stable as well as cirdan's patch and several nightlies on my system. Although the online content system is very convenient, getting BaNaNaS files through the web site is not such a big issue. My main concern is that the GRF work as advertized.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 1:07 am
Posts: 1498
An update for Canadian Trains + Railways (CanRail) v1.6a and Canadian (International) Roads (CanRoads) v1.6a have been released.

They are available from your local green grocer, the bee-store.

Canadian Trains + Railways (CanRail) :

v1.6a - Update [18 June 2013]
  • fixed freight wagon availability in arctic for bauxite, iron ore and clay for FIRS industry set.
  • added cargo type GRAI (grain) in arctic for FIRS industry set.
  • fixed compatibility issue of NG rail bridges with OpenGfx Base Graphics.

Canadian (International) Roads (CanRoads) :

v1.6a - Update [18 June 2013]
  • fixed compatibility issue of road bridges with OpenGfx Base Graphics.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.