Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 131 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Dutch Road Furniture 0.7.0
Dutch Road Furniture is an eyecandy object NewGRF that features road furniture which can be found alongside Dutch roads.

Downloads?
Get it from the ingame content download or the DevZone.

This NewGRF requires OpenTTD 1.2.0 or nightly r22723 (or newer).

What's new?
Check the changelog.

Problem?
If you find any problems with this NewGRF, please report them to the issue tracker or post in this topic.

Source?
This NewGRF is licensed GPLv2+ and you can get the source from the repository at the DevZone.

Screenshots?
Let's have a contest! Post your screenshots showing this set off in this topic. The best screenshot will be displayed here in the first post. There are more screenshots in the development topic.

Our current contest winner is Quast65. He's even made an add-grf, Highway End, shown in the screenshot!
Image

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Last edited by FooBar on Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:23 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 9:59 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
UK Signs Add-on

There is an add-on for this set available, providing UK style motorway signs. These signs are modified from the normal signs in the main set by Leanden.
Only in left hand drive version and with UK Roads support.

Download?
Get it from the ingame content download or the DevZone.

This NewGRF requires OpenTTD 1.2.0 or nightly r22723 (or newer).

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Last edited by FooBar on Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
Nice to the fruits of our combined labour :D

Excellent coding my Foobar :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
An add-on for this set has just been released: UK style motorway signs, on special request of Leanden. More details in the second post.

EDIT: also there's now a bugfix release of the main set, the standalone motorway signs were missing UK roads support

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Nice work!! :bow:

I've included a screenshot and a small thank you GRF, Highway End. See if you can spot them in the screenie ;-)


Attachments:
File comment: Dutch Roadfurniture in use close to Schiphol Airport, The Netherlands
Dutchroadfurn.png [432.57 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times
File comment: graphics to end a highway (3 lane to 2 lane)
highwayend.grf [15.97 KiB]
Downloaded 1222 times

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
Good job with the highway end, does that work with UK roads and normal roads?

EDIT: Removed my request, i believe we have a 3->2 lane tile in development, still good stuff though so sit in place until we have something within the GRF itself. :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
I've drawn it to match the righthand drive version of UK roads. I'm not very good at drawing, so maybe its better if you guys redraw it. But I think it will be a nice add-on for V0.5.2 ;-)

EDIT: Just read your edit, cool that you are also working on something like that!

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
Te devzone currently shows this implementation, although currently uncoded, its just graphics:

Image

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Nice screenshot, Quast65!
I'll add it to the first post, along with a link to your highway end grf.

Similar ends are indeed planned for the next version (which will be 0.6.0, not 0.5.2 ;)). What I have in mind is some sort of combination of what you have in your grf and what oberhuemer has drawn (in the screenshot Leanden posted). They will support variable length and will have the guardrail dive into the ground.
I already started work on end pieces for the shoulders.

For now your grf is a great addition. And of course people can keep using it next to my implementation if they like yours better! Did you upload it to the content download?

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Thnx! I've not uploaded my GRF to the content download, It's badly drawn and only supports righthanddrive UK roadset. But it works fine now until you guys are ready for a next release ;-)

By the way, just some ideas now there are Matrix boards, How about some tiles with roadworkers in them or a carcrash? :twisted:

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:21 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 5:02 pm
Posts: 26
Add Dutch Yield signs, Please?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Read my reply on that matter in the development topic.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
Quast, im liking your highway end signs, although ive noticed that there arent enough different orientations to cover every direction of slope.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Thats correct, It's only for flat surfaces or a perfect slope to a tunnel (picture highwayend01).
But that is all I need for my highways. I only play on a Dutch scenario that is 95% flat. And to be honest even if you play rougher terrains, you want your highways as flat as possible to keep up the speed.
I wouldn't want highways where one side is on sealevel and the other below (picture highwayend02), I would terraform that to be flat.
One side through a mountain is no problem by the way (picture highwayend03)


Attachments:
File comment: highwayend01
highwayend01.jpg
highwayend01.jpg [ 157.62 KiB | Viewed 28982 times ]
File comment: highwayend02
highwayend02.jpg
highwayend02.jpg [ 38.21 KiB | Viewed 28982 times ]
File comment: highwayend03
highwayend03.jpg
highwayend03.jpg [ 38.15 KiB | Viewed 28982 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
I was more thinking that my motorways are built in trenches, and at the end of one going from NE to SW, the last tile of the motorway goes up a hill, but i cant place a highway end there :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Ahh, I see!

Only answer I have is to go from 2 to 3 lanes (and viceversa) in the trench, but that doesn't look very nice, or build highways on slopes. They are not called HIGHways for nothing ;-) See picture below.

I don't think I will draw/encode a better solution for you, as it is no use to me and you guys are getting close to a better drawn way to make the 2 to 3 lanes transition.

ONTOPIC: Is it possible to draw/encode 2 extra activators? One with 3 green arrows (indicating 3rd lane is open) and one with 3 white circles (indicating end of speedlimit/close down of 3rd lane due to accident)


Attachments:
highwayend04.jpg
highwayend04.jpg [ 144.79 KiB | Viewed 28933 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2544
Location: Kent
Motorways in the UK tend to have enbankments built around them to contain the noise.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Quast65 wrote:
They are not called HIGHways for nothing

Actually a highway can be anything. The US Route 66 for instance is in many places just a simple single carriageway with one lane in each direction, but still a highway. Much like our provincial roads.

But that's just semantics :)

Quast65 wrote:
Is it possible to draw/encode 2 extra activators? One with 3 green arrows (indicating 3rd lane is open) and one with 3 white circles (indicating end of speedlimit/close down of 3rd lane due to accident)

That's certainly possible. Three green arrows is easy, as that's just copy/paste. The "end of all by matrix signs indicated restrictions" one is slightly more work, as that involves with possible scale problems, but I'll try.

Leanden wrote:
Motorways in the UK tend to have enbankments built around them to contain the noise.

In the Netherlands we generally don't have space for that, so we use other types of noise barriers. I plan to add some different versions of those to the set.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:10 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:04 pm
Posts: 166
Skype: brantwan
Location: New Brunswick , Canada
hey foobar im having troubles trying to get the dutch highway sign's its saying my version od ottd isnt compatable with it.
I got a screenie to show:
Image

_________________
I Am the Mustard King..... I like to bath in Mustard!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2012 6:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2597
Brantwan wrote:
hey foobar im having troubles trying to get the dutch highway sign's its saying my version od ottd isnt compatable with it.
I got a screenie to show:


FooBar wrote:
This NewGRF requires OpenTTD 1.2.0 or nightly r22723 (or newer).


You have OpenTTD 1.1.4, which is older than 1.2.0 and r22723.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 131 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 57 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.