Page 1 of 1

How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 16 Aug 2018 15:02
by Beleg
Hi,

I'm currently renting/running a server from "Elite Game Server", and I'm wondering how I should write the AI code to get a random one to enter at given year:

In the openttd.cfg file I find the:
[ai_players]
none = start_date=730
none = start_date=730
none = start_date=730

I've tried something like this?
Advanced Capital Ventures = start_date = 1950
Trans Winter = start_date = 1950
ChooChoo = start_date = 1970
Mogul Trans Corp ltd. = start_date = 1970

I get some AI's to join, but they have no name, and they don't do anyting...
I've changed the:
[ai]
ai_in_multiplayer = true
ai_disable_veh_train = false
ai_disable_veh_roadveh = false
ai_disable_veh_aircraft = false
ai_disable_veh_ship = false

Can someone help me

Regards
Beleg :)

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 16 Aug 2018 15:05
by acs121
The start date corresponds to when the AI starts after the foundation of your company in days.
So if you found your company in 1881 and want the AI to start in 1921, you should enter 29200 instead of 730.

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 16 Aug 2018 16:55
by Beleg
aha, and how can I use specific AI's from Forums, or get them to have random "stats" so tha everygame is different? :)

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 16 Aug 2018 18:21
by acs121
AIs have their own stats, unless you know how to code AIs you cannot modify them.

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 17 Aug 2018 00:53
by Beleg
Just to be sure, this should work then:

[ai_players]
Nordlandsbanen = start_date=5
Fjellinjen = start_date=5
Norwegian Transport Network Holding = start_date=300
Vegamot = start_date=300
Vegfinans = start_date=600
Kvikkas = start_date=730
Nordtrafikk = start_date=850
Sporveien? = start_date=900
J�senfjord Rutelag = start_date=900
Hydro Transport? = start_date=1000
Torghatten Trafikkselskap = start_date=1000
Ivan Ulsund Rederi= start_date=1250
Brummen�s & Torgersen= start_date=1250
Buks�r og Berging = start_date=150
Fjord2 = start_date=1500

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 17 Aug 2018 02:08
by acs121
Normally yes.

Re: How can I get AI in my server

Posted: 17 Aug 2018 03:37
by PikkaBird
Beleg wrote:how can I use specific AI's from Forums
You need to use the actual name of the AI (eg AdmiralAI, SimpleAI, CivilAI) rather than made-up company names.

In a running game, you can also use the console command start_ai <AIName>, or just start_ai to add a random AI.