Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:37 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ShipAI
PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:37 pm
Posts: 5
AI that operates only ships (both freight and PAX), it's heavily based on HeliFerry AI and shouldn't be played with it together.

It supports:
- autoreplacing vehicle model when the new, better model appears
- selling unprofitable vehicles
- autoreplacing old vehicles with new ones

Download: https://github.com/mmuszkow/ShipAI/archive/master.zip
The code is available on my github: https://github.com/mmuszkow/ShipAI


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ShipAI
PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2017 3:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:11 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Polska/Poland
Hi. Is this normal for this AI to place so many buoys?
And another thing, have a look at this screenshot: http://imgur.com/W7hbh5q . This yellow line is the route ship takes. It's really unefficient.

I like this AI and it's really great that ships are used to transport a lot of different cargos but my map full of islands was extremely cluttered with buoys after few years. And those poor ships which wasted a lot of time going along the coast when it was 5x closer to cut the way like on the screenshot above.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ShipAI
PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:25 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:37 pm
Posts: 5
lucj@n wrote:
Is this normal for this AI to place so many buoys?
Yes, boys are placed every 25 tiles. This is made to avoid ships getting lost and to improve the pathfinder performance ( see: viewtopic.php?t=75339 ).
lucj@n wrote:
And another thing, have a look at this screenshot: http://imgur.com/W7hbh5q . This yellow line is the route ship takes. It's really unefficient.
The 2 pathfinders used by the AI (straight line, coast) were chosen because of their speed. The price for that, in case of the coast pathfinder, is that it sometimes gives sub-optimal routes.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ShipAI
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:46 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:11 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Polska/Poland
mjm wrote:
...
ok, that makes sense.
Dzięki.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: ShipAI
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 9:37 pm
Posts: 5
Update, v4 (available on bananas)

The biggest change is that ShipAI can now use canals for the freight cargo.
In order to use canals, AI needs to have it enabled in settings and 2x max loan in it's budget.
The max canal length is limited to 50 tiles and no aqueducts or inner-locks are used to reduce the costs.

There are also few minor changes regarding the main AI logic (improved maintenance time, more expensive cargo first) and performance.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.