Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Novapolis team presenting:

Simple City Builder script

1. Claim a town by placing company headquaters
2. Deliver cargos and grow the town to the biggest population ever seen

Features
- When configured towns will require more cargos to grow
- Displays requirements in Town window and Goal window
- simulates the original OpenTTD growth mechanism

Settings
- spawning of some industries
- storage of delivered cargos
- Requirements, population at which cargo is required and storage decay of each cargo (up to 32 if defined, ECS and FIRS supported of course)
- pausing game on start in multiplayer
- place signs to mark cities
- place signs to mark claimed towns
- dynamic change of town growth
- limiting cities size

Future plans
- add more growth mechanics


== OVERVIEW ==
Attachment:
File comment: Settings
simplecb_settings.png [42.98 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

Attachment:
File comment: Various gui details
simplecb_gui.png [540.4 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

Attachment:
File comment: Various gui details
simplecb_town.png [365.92 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time



Available via game content or here for manual install http://bananas.openttd.org/en/gs/

Enjoy


== TRANSLATIONS ==
Global access for translations is enabled in openttdcoop Web translator. If anyone wishes kindly to contribute translation in any language, you can do so at:

https://translator.openttdcoop.org/proj ... builder-gs

If it does not let you, you will probably need to sign up as traslator here

https://translator.openttdcoop.org/



== UPDATES ==
On 04.10.2015 - new version
Language updates.

On 12.01.2015 - new version
Setting for limiting City population to maximum twice the biggest town
Maximum Goal Progress lines limited to 24
New languages
Added YETI cargos description to settings menu
Dynamic growth interval is changeable now and disabling it works
Fixes plural forms in english and czech language

On 11.05.2014 - new version
Fixed missing declaration
Fixed some bad calculations
Fixed some bad conditions
Fixed misspells in czech.lng

On 07.05.2014 - new version
Town::Service function is no more in bad scope, causing troubles.

On 27.04.2014 - new version
On bananas - changelog included
- Fixed save load crash bug

On 26.04.2014 - new version
On bananas - changelog included
- New growth style, funding buildings, storybook and more

On 08.11.2013 - new version
On bananas - changelog included

On 10.11.2013 - new version
Fixes some silly things of previous version


Last edited by Honza_ on Sun Oct 04, 2015 12:25 pm, edited 11 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 3:35 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Luxembourg
does it work on single player too ?

(can't test atm, so i'm asking ;) )


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:11 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Fr
Hello,
I translated this nice script into french.
I could not perform any test, once I place french.txt on lang folder I have a message telling me that STR_GLOBAL_GOAL_CB does not exist, which is wrong of course.

This is well known when translated file is not in UTF8 format (see for example http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=57624&p=1069046&hilit=translate#p1069046)

But this is not the case, file is UTF8 encoded.
And even worth, if I just copy english.txt into whatever.txt without even opening the file, I got exactly the same message!

It looks strange to me, I suppose it's not a bug (I'm using stable 1.3.2) it's probably something I didn't understood...
That's a little bit frustrating, it's my first translation attempt, if someone can help me.
Thank you.

whatever, I attached the file, it may works for you ?


Attachments:
File comment: the translated file (utf8)
french.txt [5.67 KiB]
Downloaded 140 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:19 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
hi,
most likely you have some mistake in the file. When you remove the french.txt from lang folder, the script works. Unforunately AI console is not very helpful when looking for language file problem as far as I know.

You can locate the problem by removing some lines randomly and see if the error still appears.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:24 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Fr
hi,
Honza_ wrote:
hi,
most likely you have some mistake in the file. When you remove the french.txt from lang folder, the script works....


it could be, but I think you didn't paid attention to this :
fabca2 wrote:
And even worth, if I just copy english.txt into whatever.txt without even opening the file, I got exactly the same message!


Which means, the file itself is probably not the only one culpit.
The test I made (after ruining 2 hours) : I totally remove my file, I just copy your english.txt into another file name (give the name you want, italian.txt french.txt dutch.txt or whatever.txt) run the game, create a new game.. crash.

Can you check on our PC if it behave the same ?
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:52 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
the script as it is on bananas works well. When I add your french.txt it crashes. => fix your french.txt

If you rename english.txt so there is no english.txt, I guess it wont work since english.txt is likely required always


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:31 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Fr
Honza_ wrote:
If you rename english.txt so there is no english.txt, I guess it wont work since english.txt is likely required always

But did you try to COPY your english.txt into another language (without even opening it) ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Problem is in your translation with STRINGx formats.
Study those

http://wiki.openttd.org/OpenTTDDevBlack ... al_strings

http://wiki.openttd.org/Format_of_langfiles


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:36 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
New version.
See first post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:32 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:02 pm
Posts: 1
HI!

Sorry I'm new to this so these questions might sound stupid.

How can I deliver for example coal to the city (it doesn't accept it).

And what does "ECS and FIRS" mean?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:40 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9023
Location: Sol d
juhawp wrote:
HI!

Sorry I'm new to this so these questions might sound stupid.

How can I deliver for example coal to the city (it doesn't accept it).

And what does "ECS and FIRS" mean?


You deliver coal to a city by delivering it to a power plant (or other industry) in the city's influence area which accepts it
ECS and FIRS are both NewGRFs which change industries (quite a lot).

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
New version with new 1.4 features.
See first post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 11:33 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:39 am
Posts: 26
hi,
I load the GS in a multiplayer server, and I feed the town all the requirments, but the town did not grow at all, do I miss some configuration?
and at the same time, the storage page shows different info for different player, only the 1st player show complete info for town growing.
Attachment:
problem.png [236.02 KiB]
Downloaded 9 times
Attachment:
problem2.png [50.95 KiB]
Downloaded 9 times


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:40 pm
Posts: 27
dirace wrote:
hi,
I load the GS in a multiplayer server, and I feed the town all the requirments, but the town did not grow at all, do I miss some configuration?
and at the same time, the storage page shows different info for different player, only the 1st player show complete info for town growing.
Attachment:
problem.png
Attachment:
problem2.png


It seems there is something wrong with town.nut:

function Town::Service() is included by function Town::Grow(growmech)

move Service() out from Grow() will fix the problem.

_________________
I speak Chinglish...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Hi,
thanks for info. The Town::Service definition should indeed be outside the other function.

Even so, there is one known OpenTTD problem, when Normal grow mechanism is selected, in cases when town does not grow because of missing transport service, the script will make false statement that town grows even when town is not, because there is no API in game script to recongnize this.

But I guess this was not your problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2014 5:59 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 6:40 pm
Posts: 27
There is another bug:

When a player got the goal, the script will hang up at goalprogress.nut:29:

Code:
         if(checkgamelength >= this.game_length) txt = GSText.STR_WINNER_TIME;


And it should be:

Code:
         local txt;
         if(checkgamelength >= this.game_length) txt = GSText.STR_WINNER_TIME;

_________________
I speak Chinglish...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 3:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Thanks. It should be ok. Looking forward for next bug report :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 2:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 1:57 pm
Posts: 4
World creator has a problem. Towns are very close together and less populated town is city.


Attachments:
File comment: Example...
Ekran Alıntısı.PNG [386.29 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2014 2:25 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9023
Location: Sol d
Ozgarb wrote:
World creator has a problem. Towns are very close together and less populated town is city.


Honestly, I see no issue here, just randomness at work:

Both, placement and size is randomly distributed. Distance to other towns has a minimum value as does the town or city size in terms of houses which are *tried* to be generated. Cities are not necessarily the biggest towns around at the start of map creation, they can have a *tendency* to be bigger, but again, that multiplicator is applied to the random size, thus the end result may still be small. However, cities will grow faster later on, if they receive an equal level of service compared to a 'normal' town.

Also, your issue most likely is unrelated to the game script here most likely.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 4:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:29 am
Posts: 109
Indeed, nothing GS can do abou that.

Ozgarb, if you want map generator with more possibilities, suggest new feature on flyspray ;-)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 68 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.