Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 2:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 200 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:13 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
Zuu wrote:
changelog wrote:
*100228
Removed : Rail service
Added : Aircraft (passenger only) service
Added : Ship service
Added : Tram service


I tired your last version which did well except that it did only build airports. Reading your change log I hoped that it should also build ships and tram service? I loaded the generic tram set.

It might have been that the AI though that air was more profitable, so I turned it off in your AI Settings, but then the AI didn't do anything. I saw that your water connector found two towns close to water which were connected to the same body of water but it never built anything.

Is this intended?

I used a mountainous/rough map but with height distribution = medium so there were still plenty of rather flat areas. (sea-level was set to high)


Of course the theory (and code) should be able to build Bus, Truck, Tram, Airplane, Chopper and Ship. In case that was not happened, it must be an ugly implementation code, which is should / could be fixed in the next release :lol:

The "Water Connector" Limitation :
- max. distance +/- 100 tile (couldn't use buoy yet)
- couldn't terraform a tile to build dock, which is half-sloped instead of flat.

Thanks zuu, for quick test :o

planetmaker wrote:
Why not offer it for download via Bananas, too? Btw: Personally I think there's hardly ever the 'right time' (as in perfect) for most things.

Because, I don't feel it was ready to go there. That is "the right time" :P
Oh ... and the last two libraries, still must be downloaded from another thread on this forum instead of Bananas.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:18 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
As the title said.. 10.03.07 was available today, both on the forum and Bananas. :D
(I just hope this was the right time) :lol:


Note : Even if you've downloaded Trans from Bananas, you would still need to download the libraries listed on the 2nd post if you haven't done it before.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:24 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9051
Location: Sol d
fanioz wrote:
Note : Even if you've downloaded Trans from Bananas, you would still need to download the libraries listed on the 2nd post if you haven't done it before.


Uhm... then put them up on bananas, too, and make them a dependency for your AI. No?

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:33 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 886
Congratulations Fanioz on the new release! :D I'm really have that there is another AI available which uses ships as well.
Here are my remarks:
  • Without buoys, ships sometimes get stuck. YAPF for ships solves the problem, though.
  • Please try not to use open ends to turn trams around. They may fail if another player (or even the same company) re-uses that piece of track.
  • The AI seems to transport passengers only, and if I switch to freight-only mode, it doesn't affect planes. The instance on which I tested it kindly asked me to post the savegame here with the 'debugger' sign in view.
Attachment:
transAI error.png
transAI error.png [ 169.97 KiB | Viewed 5303 times ]

Attachment:
Unnamed, 22nd Jul 1957.sav [462.36 KiB]
Downloaded 106 times


I really appreciate your work, I assume you've been working a lot because it seems to be a major rewrite of the code. Good work! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
It really may be better to put that libraries on bananas.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:15 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
planetmaker wrote:
Uhm... then put them up on bananas, too, and make them a dependency for your AI. No?

Kogut wrote:
It really may be better to put that libraries on bananas.


Well, then we've to waiting for a few days ... :)

Brumi wrote:
Without buoys, ships sometimes get stuck. YAPF for ships solves the problem, though

That is known bug, could not resolved quickly :)
Brumi wrote:
Please try not to use open ends to turn trams around. They may fail if another player (or even the same company) re-uses that piece of track.

Hmmm never though that before, thanks :) , it was fixed in r96 (not released yet)
Brumi wrote:
The AI seems to transport passengers only, and if I switch to freight-only mode, it doesn't affect planes.

For plane, if pax was not allowed, they would carry mail instead.
Brumi wrote:
The instance on which I tested it kindly asked me to post the savegame here with the 'debugger' sign in view.

Thanks for reporting, I would try to handle AIError.ERR_NONE then.

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:36 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:06 pm
Posts: 378
Location: Glasgow
Hey fanioz,

Just want to congratulate you on how far your AI has come! I'm playing a test game now and I was happily surprised when I saw your AI building ship connections (I first thought it was NoCAB ;) ) and competing pretty well despite not having trains yet.

I'm very interested to see how your AI will evolve. Keep up the good work! :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
Trans performs well in ship only game (passengers are way better than gold/mail to carry via ship) but:


Attachments:
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG [ 126.69 KiB | Viewed 5135 times ]
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG [ 54.67 KiB | Viewed 5134 times ]

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:06 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
Morloth wrote:
Hey fanioz,

Just want to congratulate you on how far your AI has come! I'm playing a test game now and I was happily surprised when I saw your AI building ship connections (I first thought it was NoCAB ;) ) and competing pretty well despite not having trains yet.

I'm very interested to see how your AI will evolve. Keep up the good work! :)

Thanks Bram. :D
Kogut wrote:
Trans performs well in ship only game (passengers are way better than gold/mail to carry via ship) but:

Well, I though I had anticipate that problem, (and try to implement buoy was another problem), thanks for your report, I'll check it again later. :D

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 7:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:06 pm
Posts: 3
Hi Fanioz,

I did a bit of AI-watching today, to see what kind of hilarious nonsense... I mean... clever business tactics they pull off... :D
I had fun while trying to force Trans to use ships only, wich it did pretty well, on a random map with lots of water, it connected 4-5 coastal cities with the same ship, so good job there. :)
Then i started a new game, allowed to build everything. Trans built a lot of airports, then didn't do anything for half a year... I thought using Av8 is a problem, so i disabled it, and a few days later Trans built 2 planes. Just for the heck of it i readded Av8 to the grf-list, expecting either to a) crash, or b) to do nothing again. But it built 3 more planes, now from the airplane set. Maybe I should be more patient next time. :D

Then this hickup happened, as far as i see, it has nothing to do with airplanes, only with trying to build water stations, but who knows...
Originally Av8 was between the train-set addon and egrvts. If you need a savegame, or more useless info on a screenshot, i can post it. :)

Keep up the good work, thank you


Attachments:
Charfingley Transport, 27th Feb 1951.png
Charfingley Transport, 27th Feb 1951.png [ 68.31 KiB | Viewed 5054 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 4:17 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
Thanks for reporting.
- If you would like to force the vehicle type to be used by Trans, you could just set that inside a running game, you don't need to restart game :D (except if you would add/remove newgrf's)
- the crash is however not related to grf's, airplane, or ship building. But somewhat bad logic inside water connector. :lol: I 'll check again.
Again thanks for reporting :D

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:11 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 236
Hi, I got this error with this ai.
Attachment:
Sem nome, 1951-05-25.png
Sem nome, 1951-05-25.png [ 103.64 KiB | Viewed 4838 times ]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:17 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:54 pm
Posts: 886
That is a missing library. Download AILibCommon (and AILibList if you don't have that one already) from the online content system or go to the URL which is ther in the window (http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=771764#p771764) and download 'AI Library - Common'.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:30 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4538
Location: /home/sweden
The question is though, did (s)he use banans to get the AI? If so, then the dependencies for the AI in bananas is not correctly set up.

_________________
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:52 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
Thank you guys for the quick answer. :D

hay Samu, Trans would need Fibonacci Heap 2, AILib.Common.1, and AILib.List.1
* As Zuu said, did you use bananas to get the AI? I've set the AI dependencies there, and should be downloaded within AI. (only after Juni 6, 2010)
* In case you've downloaded Trans from this forum (and this thread), as Brumi said, you'll find them on "Download - Area"
* Or... did you got it somewhere else? :D

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:32 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 236
fanioz wrote:
Thank you guys for the quick answer. :D

hay Samu, Trans would need Fibonacci Heap 2, AILib.Common.1, and AILib.List.1
* As Zuu said, did you use bananas to get the AI? I've set the AI dependencies there, and should be downloaded within AI. (only after Juni 6, 2010)
* In case you've downloaded Trans from this forum (and this thread), as Brumi said, you'll find them on "Download - Area"
* Or... did you got it somewhere else? :D


Gonna try again. brb

aha, it works now!

Edit - I just checked online content via the game and downloaded all those AI's and Libraries.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
Zażółć gęślą jaźń.


Attachments:
Przechwytywanie.PNG [47.95 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 12:52 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:28 pm
Posts: 236
I think the AI got locked somehow... it's constantly trying to build something but is unable to.

erhm... oops, it's not locked. It's still building other routes, but it still tries to do that one all the time.


Attachments:
Unnamed, 20th Mar 1985.png
Unnamed, 20th Mar 1985.png [ 42.86 KiB | Viewed 4722 times ]
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:33 am
Posts: 2493
Location: Poland
umturumtu


Attachments:
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG [ 65.27 KiB | Viewed 4658 times ]

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:09 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 313
Location: Indonesia
Kogut wrote:
Zażółć gęślą jaźń.

Kogut wrote:
umturumtu


English please ... :x but thanks for the report. :wink:

Samu wrote:
I think the AI got locked somehow... it's constantly trying to build something but is unable to.

erhm... oops, it's not locked. It's still building other routes, but it still tries to do that one all the time.

Well, that is a kind of simultaneous-batch-path-finding. (errr... didn't find a correct word) :D
But as long as the red box didn't show, or going to bankrupt it doesn't matter. thanks :D

_________________
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 200 posts ]  Go to page Previous 16 7 8 9 10 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.