Trans AI .:19.07.23 :.

Discuss the new AI features ("NoAI") introduced into OpenTTD 0.7, allowing you to implement custom AIs, and the new Game Scripts available in OpenTTD 1.2 and higher.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.02.27 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 27 Feb 2010 19:13

Zuu wrote:
changelog wrote:*100228
Removed : Rail service
Added : Aircraft (passenger only) service
Added : Ship service
Added : Tram service
I tired your last version which did well except that it did only build airports. Reading your change log I hoped that it should also build ships and tram service? I loaded the generic tram set.

It might have been that the AI though that air was more profitable, so I turned it off in your AI Settings, but then the AI didn't do anything. I saw that your water connector found two towns close to water which were connected to the same body of water but it never built anything.

Is this intended?

I used a mountainous/rough map but with height distribution = medium so there were still plenty of rather flat areas. (sea-level was set to high)
Of course the theory (and code) should be able to build Bus, Truck, Tram, Airplane, Chopper and Ship. In case that was not happened, it must be an ugly implementation code, which is should / could be fixed in the next release :lol:

The "Water Connector" Limitation :
- max. distance +/- 100 tile (couldn't use buoy yet)
- couldn't terraform a tile to build dock, which is half-sloped instead of flat.

Thanks zuu, for quick test :o
planetmaker wrote:Why not offer it for download via Bananas, too? Btw: Personally I think there's hardly ever the 'right time' (as in perfect) for most things.
Because, I don't feel it was ready to go there. That is "the right time" :P
Oh ... and the last two libraries, still must be downloaded from another thread on this forum instead of Bananas.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 07 Mar 2010 12:18

As the title said.. 10.03.07 was available today, both on the forum and Bananas. :D
(I just hope this was the right time) :lol:


Note : Even if you've downloaded Trans from Bananas, you would still need to download the libraries listed on the 2nd post if you haven't done it before.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9289
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by planetmaker » 07 Mar 2010 12:24

fanioz wrote:Note : Even if you've downloaded Trans from Bananas, you would still need to download the libraries listed on the 2nd post if you haven't done it before.
Uhm... then put them up on bananas, too, and make them a dependency for your AI. No?

Brumi
President
President
Posts: 904
Joined: 18 Jul 2009 17:54

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Brumi » 07 Mar 2010 19:33

Congratulations Fanioz on the new release! :D I'm really have that there is another AI available which uses ships as well.
Here are my remarks:
  • Without buoys, ships sometimes get stuck. YAPF for ships solves the problem, though.
  • Please try not to use open ends to turn trams around. They may fail if another player (or even the same company) re-uses that piece of track.
  • The AI seems to transport passengers only, and if I switch to freight-only mode, it doesn't affect planes. The instance on which I tested it kindly asked me to post the savegame here with the 'debugger' sign in view.
transAI error.png
Unnamed, 22nd Jul 1957.sav
(462.36 KiB) Downloaded 138 times
I really appreciate your work, I assume you've been working a lot because it seems to be a major rewrite of the code. Good work! :)

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Kogut » 09 Mar 2010 16:42

It really may be better to put that libraries on bananas.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 11 Mar 2010 15:15

planetmaker wrote: Uhm... then put them up on bananas, too, and make them a dependency for your AI. No?
Kogut wrote:It really may be better to put that libraries on bananas.
Well, then we've to waiting for a few days ... :)
Brumi wrote:Without buoys, ships sometimes get stuck. YAPF for ships solves the problem, though
That is known bug, could not resolved quickly :)
Brumi wrote:Please try not to use open ends to turn trams around. They may fail if another player (or even the same company) re-uses that piece of track.
Hmmm never though that before, thanks :) , it was fixed in r96 (not released yet)
Brumi wrote:The AI seems to transport passengers only, and if I switch to freight-only mode, it doesn't affect planes.
For plane, if pax was not allowed, they would carry mail instead.
Brumi wrote:The instance on which I tested it kindly asked me to post the savegame here with the 'debugger' sign in view.
Thanks for reporting, I would try to handle AIError.ERR_NONE then.
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

Morloth
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 378
Joined: 07 Feb 2008 14:06
Location: Glasgow

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Morloth » 24 Mar 2010 12:36

Hey fanioz,

Just want to congratulate you on how far your AI has come! I'm playing a test game now and I was happily surprised when I saw your AI building ship connections (I first thought it was NoCAB ;) ) and competing pretty well despite not having trains yet.

I'm very interested to see how your AI will evolve. Keep up the good work! :)

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Kogut » 25 Mar 2010 12:00

Trans performs well in ship only game (passengers are way better than gold/mail to carry via ship) but:
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Przechwytywanie.PNG (126.69 KiB) Viewed 6095 times
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 26 Mar 2010 09:06

Morloth wrote:Hey fanioz,

Just want to congratulate you on how far your AI has come! I'm playing a test game now and I was happily surprised when I saw your AI building ship connections (I first thought it was NoCAB ;) ) and competing pretty well despite not having trains yet.

I'm very interested to see how your AI will evolve. Keep up the good work! :)
Thanks Bram. :D
Kogut wrote:Trans performs well in ship only game (passengers are way better than gold/mail to carry via ship) but:
Well, I though I had anticipate that problem, (and try to implement buoy was another problem), thanks for your report, I'll check it again later. :D
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

Bandetta
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 May 2007 21:06

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Bandetta » 04 Apr 2010 19:53

Hi Fanioz,

I did a bit of AI-watching today, to see what kind of hilarious nonsense... I mean... clever business tactics they pull off... :D
I had fun while trying to force Trans to use ships only, wich it did pretty well, on a random map with lots of water, it connected 4-5 coastal cities with the same ship, so good job there. :)
Then i started a new game, allowed to build everything. Trans built a lot of airports, then didn't do anything for half a year... I thought using Av8 is a problem, so i disabled it, and a few days later Trans built 2 planes. Just for the heck of it i readded Av8 to the grf-list, expecting either to a) crash, or b) to do nothing again. But it built 3 more planes, now from the airplane set. Maybe I should be more patient next time. :D

Then this hickup happened, as far as i see, it has nothing to do with airplanes, only with trying to build water stations, but who knows...
Originally Av8 was between the train-set addon and egrvts. If you need a savegame, or more useless info on a screenshot, i can post it. :)

Keep up the good work, thank you
Attachments
Charfingley Transport, 27th Feb 1951.png

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 06 Apr 2010 04:17

Thanks for reporting.
- If you would like to force the vehicle type to be used by Trans, you could just set that inside a running game, you don't need to restart game :D (except if you would add/remove newgrf's)
- the crash is however not related to grf's, airplane, or ship building. But somewhat bad logic inside water connector. :lol: I 'll check again.
Again thanks for reporting :D
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

Samu
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 236
Joined: 17 Apr 2007 14:28

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Samu » 11 Jun 2010 12:11

Hi, I got this error with this ai.
Sem nome, 1951-05-25.png

Brumi
President
President
Posts: 904
Joined: 18 Jul 2009 17:54

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Brumi » 11 Jun 2010 16:17

That is a missing library. Download AILibCommon (and AILibList if you don't have that one already) from the online content system or go to the URL which is ther in the window (http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=771764#p771764) and download 'AI Library - Common'.

User avatar
Zuu
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4553
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 18:21
Location: /home/sweden

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Zuu » 11 Jun 2010 21:30

The question is though, did (s)he use banans to get the AI? If so, then the dependencies for the AI in bananas is not correctly set up.
My OpenTTD contributions (AIs, Game Scripts, patches, OpenTTD Auto Updater, and some sprites)
Junctioneer (a traffic intersection simulator)

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 12 Jun 2010 00:52

Thank you guys for the quick answer. :D

hay Samu, Trans would need Fibonacci Heap 2, AILib.Common.1, and AILib.List.1
* As Zuu said, did you use bananas to get the AI? I've set the AI dependencies there, and should be downloaded within AI. (only after Juni 6, 2010)
* In case you've downloaded Trans from this forum (and this thread), as Brumi said, you'll find them on "Download - Area"
* Or... did you got it somewhere else? :D
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

Samu
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 236
Joined: 17 Apr 2007 14:28

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Samu » 17 Jun 2010 22:32

fanioz wrote:Thank you guys for the quick answer. :D

hay Samu, Trans would need Fibonacci Heap 2, AILib.Common.1, and AILib.List.1
* As Zuu said, did you use bananas to get the AI? I've set the AI dependencies there, and should be downloaded within AI. (only after Juni 6, 2010)
* In case you've downloaded Trans from this forum (and this thread), as Brumi said, you'll find them on "Download - Area"
* Or... did you got it somewhere else? :D
Gonna try again. brb

aha, it works now!

Edit - I just checked online content via the game and downloaded all those AI's and Libraries.

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Kogut » 18 Jun 2010 11:04

Zażółć gęślą jaźń.
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG
(47.95 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

Samu
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 236
Joined: 17 Apr 2007 14:28

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Samu » 18 Jun 2010 12:52

I think the AI got locked somehow... it's constantly trying to build something but is unable to.

erhm... oops, it's not locked. It's still building other routes, but it still tries to do that one all the time.
Attachments
Unnamed, 20th Mar 1985.png

Kogut
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2493
Joined: 26 Aug 2009 06:33
Location: Poland

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by Kogut » 23 Jun 2010 10:06

umturumtu
Attachments
Przechwytywanie.PNG
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English is bad
AIAI - AI for OpenTTD

User avatar
fanioz
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 320
Joined: 19 Dec 2008 05:03
Location: Indonesia
Contact:

Re: Trans AI .:10.03.07 :. (Rail-less)

Post by fanioz » 26 Jun 2010 11:09

Kogut wrote:Zażółć gęślą jaźń.
Kogut wrote:umturumtu
English please ... :x but thanks for the report. :wink:
Samu wrote:I think the AI got locked somehow... it's constantly trying to build something but is unable to.

erhm... oops, it's not locked. It's still building other routes, but it still tries to do that one all the time.
Well, that is a kind of simultaneous-batch-path-finding. (errr... didn't find a correct word) :D
But as long as the red box didn't show, or going to bankrupt it doesn't matter. thanks :D
Correct me If I am wrong - PM me if my English was bad :D

**[OpenTTD AI]** Image
***[NewGRF] *** Image

Post Reply

Return to “OpenTTD AIs and Game Scripts”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests