Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:20 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 836 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1942 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:35 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2005 7:46 pm
Posts: 155
Location: The Netherlands
Alpine looks like a nice map. only I see much rectangular areas. Maybe he could make that a little bit smoother. Shouldn't be too much work in comparison with the work he put in to make those mountains.

Regards,

Scia


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:54 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:22 am
Posts: 627
Location: Localhost, 127.0.0.1, [The Netherlands: South Holland-> Westland]
MeusH wrote:
Folks, what do you think about "Alpine" Map by Wolf_01 (page 2 of this thread)?


I like it, but there should be some more industries ?

_________________
Quote:
# Programming is like sex, one mistake and you have to support it for the rest of your life. (Michael Sinz)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:16 am
Posts: 5
Location: Scotland
Update to my Island Chain scenario, along the lines of the suggestion by MeusH:

Added a new island chain in the western corner of the map.


If you want to see the differences between this and the first version, my original post is on page 12 of his thread, here. :D


Attachments:
File comment: Island chain scenario, version 2.
Temperate Climate.

Again, the mainland town names are from the NE of Scotland, and the island townames from Orkney/Shetland. I think it's an improvement over the default names, anyways :D

Island chain.scn [66.18 KiB]
Downloaded 226 times
File comment: Contours screenshot of the scenario.
screenshot-v2.png [17.99 KiB]
Downloaded 516 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Hi MeusH... I just wondered. Did you review the second entry of my North England scenario? I reposted a few hours after my first upload - and I think you may have reviewed the first (non-working) version, rather than the later version.

Anyway here is the link: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?p=369765#369765

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
Pon wrote:
Update to my Island Chain scenario, along the lines of the suggestion by MeusH:

Added a new island chain in the western corner of the map.


If you want to see the differences between this and the first version, my original post is on page 12 of his thread, here. :D

Very nice. Hard to bridge to some of those islands. I like it.
BTW... the new island chain is in the SE using the openttdcoop orientation:
Code:
N  E
 \/
 /\
W  S

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 10:12 am
Posts: 12
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Hi,

my "Denmark Scenario" is runing online now, so it is geting the big test now.. :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 9:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
richk67 - I've just downloaded the newest (current) version of north england... and *bump* - savegame format error

Pon - Mmm I really like this map :) It's great! The hilly islands are much realistic and and difficult to make routes, especially those huge, rail junctions :)

Wolf_01 - Comments in the main 0.4.5 scenario listing
[Link to the thread]


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:21 pm
Posts: 2363
Location: Up North
MeusH wrote:
richk67 - I've just downloaded the newest (current) version of north england... and *bump* - savegame format error

OK I'll have a try at debug tomorrow.

_________________
OTTD NewGRF_ports. Add an airport design via newgrf.Superceded by Yexo's NewGrf Airports 2
Want to organise your trains? Try Routemarkers.
--- ==== --- === --- === ---
Firework Photography


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:29 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:16 am
Posts: 5
Location: Scotland
Glad it's liked! :)

Having looked it over, I'm not too sure there's anything else I'd like to change about it, so unless anyone has a suggestion, I guess it's the final version, and ready for merging, if it's still wanted 8)

richk67 wrote:
Very nice. Hard to bridge to some of those islands. I like it.
BTW... the new island chain is in the SE using the openttdcoop orientation:


Hum, I blame MeusH for that mistake... his suggestion mentioned it being as the south-western corner being empty...

The fact I didn't notice the mistake is completely irrelevant :lol:


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 5:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 12:37 am
Posts: 1395
Location: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
MeusH - So I take it OceanView v2 is fine as it stands. Well I have no problem with it being added.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:07 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
i agreed to include my scenario i the game :D
MeusH wrote:
[*]Alpine
There are two issues I've found on this almost very good map:
Trees don't work properly - they come from temperate climate.

yes, i switched the climate, the first idea was to made a scenario with a river...
Quote:
Also... do Oilrigs appear in sub-arctic scenario?

... then i changed idea to make a norwegian fjord with a oil rig...
Quote:
Don't use additional grfs, like temperate tiles (which cause problems like above)
Also I think there are too many forests... But maybye that was your plan. Please post

lumber should be the principal resource in that map, so there are many forests, also some metal mines and farms on the cliffs

i will try to correct these problems (trees and oilrig) without using the temperate set, give me some days

here is the scenario, instead of delete trees and industries i deleted all the things to convert it properly to arctic, so took me less time, but the scenario seem the same as the previous

there is the grass because i modded the graphics files directly i didn't used a grf, so i have to use an original file to see how it looks with the brown terrain instead of the grass, but the only change is the terrain


Attachments:
File comment: screenshot
alpine.png
alpine.png [ 327.1 KiB | Viewed 5126 times ]
File comment: the scenario
Alpine.scn [112.61 KiB]
Downloaded 321 times

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Pon wrote:
richk67 wrote:
Very nice. Hard to bridge to some of those islands. I like it.
BTW... the new island chain is in the SE using the openttdcoop orientation:
Hum, I blame MeusH for that mistake... his suggestion mentioned it being as the south-western corner being empty...
Yeah, my fault. It was easter corner and I've got no idea why I wrote SW o_O Sorry anyway.


Moriarty: It's fine IMO

Wolf01: do as you wish, but note not everybody (95%) of players don't use that recolouring set, so they would see temperate trees below and over snowline. Also oilrig presentance may cause bugs, but let developer say more abou this


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
MeusH wrote:
Pon wrote:
richk67 wrote:
Very nice. Hard to bridge to some of those islands. I like it.
BTW... the new island chain is in the SE using the openttdcoop orientation:
Hum, I blame MeusH for that mistake... his suggestion mentioned it being as the south-western corner being empty...
Yeah, my fault. It was easter corner and I've got no idea why I wrote SW o_O Sorry anyway.


Moriarty: It's fine IMO

Wolf01: do as you wish, but note not everybody (95%) of players don't use that recolouring set, so they would see temperate trees below and over snowline. Also oilrig presentance may cause bugs, but let developer say more abou this


i removed all temperate things, is fully arctic now, the only thing is the terrain, i modded the trpxx.grf file, other players will see the terrain brown

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:17 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 6:56 pm
Posts: 105
MeusH wrote:
Dinora Islands
Mmm... more water :) This is also a very good map. Trees make the islands interesting and one can't say this map is too flat and lacks detail


mmm, glad you like it, would love it to be included in the next release, would be nice to give something back to the project for once ;)
Anything you think needs changing/improving?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:04 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:39 pm
Posts: 4349
Location: Mississauga
Bot_40: maybye some rocks on areas without trees. Anyway, this is one of the maps that lead the quality level :) Very interesting idea on making map

Wolf01: That's good, I'll download the newer version this morning. I really like your map, it is also very good :P


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 6:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:16 am
Posts: 5
Location: Scotland
MeusH wrote:
Yeah, my fault. It was easter corner and I've got no idea why I wrote SW o_O Sorry anyway.


Ahh, I was just messing around, no worries :)



Anyways, I got a little unexpected free time due to work being less busy that expected this year, so I decided to make a start on a new scenario - this time for toyland.

Still in development, but the basic map shape is done, so let me know what you think!


Attachments:
File comment: Screenshot Resolution: 1024*768
Climate: Toyland
Status: development (land mass only)

Inspired by Akalamanaia's comment about Purno's Toy Train map, kinda, where he said the map could be train shaped. Except, I used a birthday cake 'cos I was hungry :D

bcake-maponly.png [53.24 KiB]
Downloaded 352 times
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 10:43 am
Posts: 2007
Location: Venezia - Italia
yeah, looks good, maybe if is a little bigger (512*512 for ex.) there will be enough space to build also in the candles

with grayscale heightmaps will be cool if ingame terraforming is prohibited to mantain the scenario intact.. this mean that scenarios would be more difficult than random games

_________________
ImageImage
ImageImage
ImageImage
newgrf tests, see: newgrf test topic, my patches: Wolf01's Hire Point
Italian TTD Forum
Wiki Page


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 21, 2005 9:36 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:07 pm
Posts: 174
Location: Norway
..

_________________
Sorry my bad english.


Last edited by Proteus on Sat Sep 16, 2006 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 12:05 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:28 am
Posts: 435
Location: Jura/Switzerland
Hello,

here a map that took me quite some time to build. It will end up beeing a scenario of switzerland, but for now I only have the geography of the country. It's a 2048x1024 map, so you'll have lots of space to play with (and I'll have lots of villages to place ;) )

Tell me what you think about it!


Attachments:
File comment: A view of the map
swissmap.png [80.7 KiB]
Downloaded 570 times
File comment: The scenario
Switzerland_big.scn [475.28 KiB]
Downloaded 386 times

_________________
Sometimes I'm told "Brilliant"...
Sometimes I'm told "Charming"...
And Often I'm told "Shut Up"!
Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 8:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16663
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
/me hopes it's arctic. It looks marvellous!

EDIT: Don't have OpenTTD installed here at school, so I can only judge on the screenie.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 836 posts ]  Go to page Previous 115 16 17 18 1942 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.