Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:50 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Well here is my contribution to the general esthetical effort of the community :)

I have seen a lot of nice screenshots from a lot of people (was especially impressed by the ones of Badger or Ameecher, as well as others ...). So i stopped building huge unrealistics RORO stations and tried to enjoy a completely new kind of game. I'm also using CargoDist, which led me to search new ways to increase my network layout, in order to better balancing the traffic according to transportation demand.

Starting with Rorschach ... A hub between different lines, one to the nord-east, one to the east, one to the south-east. An airport has just been added to lower the passenger number going to the most distant and important cities, as Zürich or Bellinzona. An Airbus A300 is just leaving for Bulle. The city of Rorschach itself was divided in two parts, so i decided to put a local service between Frauenfeld, the Old city of Rorschach, with its cathedral (Rorschach Vieille Ville), and the new city (Rorschach Nouveau). A Metro-Cammell DMU provides the local services.

Attachment:
NewCFF, 1988-03-06.png [379.8 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


The next one, Liestal. A little city, but two important lines are passing (and crossing) here. With cargodist, that means that a lot of people is transfering right there. I'm not completely satisfied by the layout of the north-west entrance of the station. Have to rework it.

Attachment:
NewCFF, 1988-03-31.png [461.28 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Liestal has also an important industry, on the west of the city. A coal mine, and a refinery are exploited here. The gravel is send to Arosa's Brickworks in the north.

Attachment:
LiestalIndustries.png [230.87 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Obviously, all comments are welcome, and also advices and ideas. Specially about signals, i'm not sure i always use them as good as possible.

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Last edited by keoz on Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:03 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:30 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15088
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
These are all pretty screens. What a way to begin your screenshot topic :) I like the local line in the first picture, the one not connected to the rest. It's pretty :)

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:01 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
A coal mine north of Liestal. Under it, passes a freight/passenger line. Traffic is quite low for now, I will double it into a fast/low 4 track later.

Attachment:
Coal.png
Coal.png [ 153.62 KiB | Viewed 6033 times ]


Romanshorn, on the Rorschach-Bellinzona line.

Attachment:
Romanshorn.png
Romanshorn.png [ 114.24 KiB | Viewed 6024 times ]

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Last edited by keoz on Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 1:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3353
Location: Estonia
Hmmm... Tunnel under goal mine, that's interesting :P

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:19 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
And here the general layout of NewCFF, as it is in 1988, the game having been started in 1920. The blue-lines on the maps come from cargodist patch, and represent all the passenger connections.

Attachment:
NetworkLayout1.png
NetworkLayout1.png [ 26.32 KiB | Viewed 6022 times ]


Attachment:
NetworkLayout2.png
NetworkLayout2.png [ 25.96 KiB | Viewed 6022 times ]


And finally, for the interested, the GRF list. As you can see, i'm a great fan of PikkaBird's work ! Thanks to him, its aircraft are just amazing. I just dont understand the error given by the Bridge Renewal Set. Maybee somebody can give me some hint ?

Attachment:
GRFs.png
GRFs.png [ 7.06 KiB | Viewed 6022 times ]

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Last edited by keoz on Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15088
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
It's not really an error, more of an information. It's telling you that Total Town Replacement Bridges are unnecessary when Total Bridge Renewal Set is activated.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
Archipiélago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 2:50 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
Chrill wrote:
It's not really an error, more of an information. It's telling you that Total Town Replacement Bridges are unnecessary when Total Bridge Renewal Set is activated.


Well, thank you. The weird thing, is that the bricks bridges desappear when I unload the Bridge GRF. Anyway.


The city of Rheinfelden

The Rheinfelden station was one of the first. It is situated on the Rorschach-Schlieren line.

Attachment:
Rheinfelden1.png
Rheinfelden1.png [ 161.66 KiB | Viewed 5993 times ]


North on the city, a Steel mill is serviced by several coal and iron ore freights. You may also notice the use of Mining Trucks (i really like HEQS) to bring coal from the mountains around the city.

Attachment:
Rheinfelden2.png
Rheinfelden2.png [ 107.71 KiB | Viewed 6012 times ]


Trains also come from the east region, using the north-east entrance:

Attachment:
Rheinfelden3.png
Rheinfelden3.png [ 109.77 KiB | Viewed 6012 times ]

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 5:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Would you mind providing the (link to) binary that you are using for CargoDist? Could you also upload a sav?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 9:28 pm
Posts: 1919
ISA wrote:
Hmmm... Tunnel under coal mine, that's interesting :P


If you look, the tunnel isn't actually under the main mine area - it's under the station :-)

Coal mines are pretty deep, too - so we can probably assume that there's a shaft under the mine, and the coal tunnels are a lot deeper than the train tunnels.

_________________
Jon


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 5:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
ISA wrote:
Hmmm... Tunnel under goal mine, that's interesting :P

I actually think it looks neat and very organized.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:34 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
audigex wrote:
ISA wrote:
Hmmm... Tunnel under coal mine, that's interesting :P


If you look, the tunnel isn't actually under the main mine area - it's under the station :-)

Coal mines are pretty deep, too - so we can probably assume that there's a shaft under the mine, and the coal tunnels are a lot deeper than the train tunnels.


Yes, actually the tunnels are under the station, not directly under the coal mine. But have to admit that I didn't think about it :P Well, for the moment, the station didn't crash ! Hope the mining operations will not cause any problem ...

petert wrote:
Would you mind providing the (link to) binary that you are using for CargoDist? Could you also upload a sav?


Actually, I'm not using binaries. I compile OTTD (under gentoo linux) using the git repository of fonso. The version used in this game :

Code:
keikoz@kgentoo ~/jeux/openttd/openttd-cargodist $ ./findversion.sh
g04c1cf67-origin/cargodist      17967   0       g04c1cf67


And a sav, if you want to watch it:

Attachment:
NewCFF, 1988-07-07.sav [583.58 KiB]
Downloaded 143 times

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
keoz wrote:
Actually, I'm not using binaries. I compile OTTD (under gentoo linux) using the git repository of fonso. The version used in this game :

Then could you provide a zip/rar file with the openttd.exe and such (the bin folder will do) so I can open the save? I will get an error if I use a nightly.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:58 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
petert wrote:
keoz wrote:
Actually, I'm not using binaries. I compile OTTD (under gentoo linux) using the git repository of fonso. The version used in this game :

Then could you provide a zip/rar file with the openttd.exe and such (the bin folder will do) so I can open the save? I will get an error if I use a nightly.


Hi,

I could provide you the executable binary i built (not exactly an ".exe", this extension is not used under *nix systems, or better said, the extension doesn't matter), but it won't work under Windows. Even if you try under some other linux distro, it will probably not work, since I compile it against libraries which are changing under each Linux distro. I could built a static binary for Windows, I suppose, but I absolutely don't know how to do it. If I find a simple way, I'll do it.

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:00 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Oh yes, silly me. You could upload it, and I could test it against Ubuntu...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 6:44 pm
Posts: 3402
Location: Cotswolds, UK
There is probably a compiled version in the CargoDist topic that is close enough to be able to load the savegame no?

I can't follow git's version numbers, so a date when you got it from git might be helpful (at least to me :P )

_________________
John Mitchell
http://www.johnmit.net


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:09 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:04 am
Posts: 321
petert wrote:
Oh yes, silly me. You could upload it, and I could test it against Ubuntu...


No, it can't work, since the libraries aren't exactly the same.

Try it by yourself, here is the binary. Don't forget to chmod 755 it and to launch it with "./openttd" (from the repository where you put it):

http://keikoz.free.fr/openttd

John wrote:
There is probably a compiled version in the CargoDist topic that is close enough to be able to load the savegame no?

I can't follow git's version numbers, so a date when you got it from git might be helpful (at least to me :P )


Well, the binary was compiled on the 7 november:

Code:
keikoz@kgentoo ~/jeux/openttd/openttd-cargodist/bin $ ls -l openttd
-rwxr-xr-x 1 keikoz users 4947207 2009-11-07 18:59 openttd


That means I took it from the fonso's repository this day. Quite an old version (now) but I'm on this game since a lot (and have a social life 8) )

_________________
Patch - Let's timetable depot waiting time with the Wait in depot patch.
GameScript - Searching a new way to make your cities growing ? Try the Renewed City Growth GameScript.
My screenshots thread.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
I see it's a large hassle, I will admire your screenies just like they are now.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 12:23 pm
Posts: 1517
Skype: the_gremnon
Location: /home
Petert, all you need is a version of CargoDist not far after that (which hopefully doesn't have any savegame bump) and you'll be able to load the saved game.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:43 pm
Posts: 3008
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Unfortunately, I've given up on using git, so I only use patched builds, which probably have the savegame bump.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 11:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 6:44 pm
Posts: 3402
Location: Cotswolds, UK
petert wrote:
Unfortunately, I've given up on using git, so I only use patched builds, which probably have the savegame bump.


Like I said, look through the CargoDist topic:

here is a nice build from the 7th November, viewtopic.php?p=830454#p830454

Both the linked build and keoz's build are when trunk was r17967. Chances are they will both load the save games. If not, there is a build from the 8th nov on the next page which might do the job as well...

_________________
John Mitchell

http://www.johnmit.net


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.