Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:28 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: [UPDATE] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:09 am
Posts: 62
Location: Middle America
UPDATE! Now includes two versions. See Readme for details.

Are you tired of those pesky peeps messing up your landscape? Are they destroying your farms and forests, and building roads across your RR tracks every few squares? City expansion out of control? Tired of trying to protect your layout with butt-ugly one-way roads or tram tracks on bridges? Then try a Boundary Fence.

========================
BOUNDARY FENCE V2.0
An add-on for Locomotion
Author: Krakr
rar file attached
=======================

INSTALLATION
[NEW] Several options are available. Details in readme file.

After installation, [NEW] two versions show up on the Roads menu in the Scenario Editor. One, or both can show up on the in-game menu at your option. It builds the same way as a road except that the fence cannot cross roads nor tracks. But roads and tracks cannot be built THROUGH it either. Like a road, terrain that has the fence on it cannot be altered until the fence is removed. But, only you can remove or alter the fence. The AI cannot.

========
FEATURES
========
Impenetrable.
Indestructible by the AI.
Can be built anywhere a road could go except across roads or tracks.
Can be tunneled and/or placed underground.
Can be built on slopes (steep slope only).
One version has Tee and Cross-shaped intersections.
Square and diagonal corners.
Can build long diagonal runs by alternating L&R diag. corners.
Cheap to build.
No modification of TRACKST required.
Does not modify nor replace any original files.

====
USES
====
A. Establish an uncluttered right-of-way and prevent excessive crossings.
Allow road crossings only where YOU want them (and look good doing it).
B. Prevent encroachment and destruction of agricultural industries.
C. Establish a clear zone around industries, or reserve exclusive rights
to an industry when playing against the AI.*
D. Reserve downtown city land for future on-ground stations or routes
before city build-up makes it impractical or impossible .
E. Limit city expansion and/or direct the path of expansion.

* See readme for further details. Additional screenshots in archive.

Attachment:
File comment: Fence shape & pathing examples.
Boundary Fence Examples.jpg
Boundary Fence Examples.jpg [ 235.55 KiB | Viewed 7966 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: Excessive AI crossing attempts thwarted.
Provo Crossings.jpg
Provo Crossings.jpg [ 287.86 KiB | Viewed 7966 times ]
Attachment:
File comment: Download This.
Boundary Fence.rar [1.27 MiB]
Downloaded 982 times

_________________
Corral those nutty peeps with a Boundary Fence
Replace wimpy steamer sounds with Steamer Sound Kit


Last edited by Krakr on Sat Feb 20, 2010 7:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:15 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 6:17 pm
Posts: 597
Location: Chicago
That sounds great and looks good too. I'll be trying that in my next game. Thanks.

_________________
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
: : = FYRA v250 = : : = AU NSW 86 Class Electric Locomotive = : : = AU QR EDI Bombadier IMU/SMU Trainset = : : = B-Class & VicPass = : : = MSTS Scotsman = : : = US Semi Trucks Pack = : :
: : = Steel Bridge = : : = Tube Bridge = : : = 2 New Earth Slopes = : : = Default Bridges w/ New Slopes added = : : = Camera Angles for Shape Viewer = : : = EU Semi Trucks Pack = : : = US Tank Cars 56' = : :
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 1889
Location: A house in Australia...
you sir are awesome. DL'd.

_________________
Locomotion err... stuff: Brisbane Scenario~~~noofnoof's room scenario~~~Saunders-Row SR-N4 mark I hovercraft~~~Alpine Island Scenario
Project: Australian buses
Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 6947
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
An impressive debut! Welcome.

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:38 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Virginia
finnaly an intelligent n00b

_________________
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 1889
Location: A house in Australia...
rd - they are a newb not a n00b.

_________________
Locomotion err... stuff: Brisbane Scenario~~~noofnoof's room scenario~~~Saunders-Row SR-N4 mark I hovercraft~~~Alpine Island Scenario
Project: Australian buses
Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:49 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:23 pm
Posts: 19
awesome work....

That's another fine addition to my Loco install.. :mrgreen:


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:54 pm
Posts: 9
Very good! thank you!

One question as Im to tired to test it now, are you/AI/city-council able to build bridges over the fence?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 1889
Location: A house in Australia...
if they can build over railway lines I presume they are capable of building over/around this. it's to stop urban sprawl and thing I believe.

_________________
Locomotion err... stuff: Brisbane Scenario~~~noofnoof's room scenario~~~Saunders-Row SR-N4 mark I hovercraft~~~Alpine Island Scenario
Project: Australian buses
Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:38 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Virginia
he means can a bridge be built over it

_________________
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7818
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Well, its a "track" if you realy want some fun, you could edit an object to drive on it. And as far i know you can build over almost everything.

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2369
Location: Alberta, Canada
Is there any way of making an option for this to be "invisible" ? I don't particularly want a fence around all of my alpine villages :)

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:57 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7818
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
jake.grimshaw wrote:
Is there any way of making an option for this to be "invisible" ? I don't particularly want a fence around all of my alpine villages :)


Use plastiks version. (See my .datCrawler then click on "Others" the boundary markers.)

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:48 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 223
Location: Sydney, Australia
Hell yeah! Been waiting for something like this for a while now.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:09 am
Posts: 62
Location: Middle America
Quote:
Is there any way of making an option for this to be "invisible" ? I don't particularly want a fence around all of my alpine villages :)


Yes, of course. Just stub all the sprite loading commands in the xml and recompile. You can use the "Invisible Road" (available for download somewhere) as an example of the settings required for each of the sprite commands.

Quote:
he means can a bridge be built over it


Yes, with the usual 32 tick requirement. However, the only time I've ever seen the AI purposely bridge a road or a track was when it was attempting to build a station. This is addressed in the readme file in regards to reserving exclusive rights to an industry.

I've never seen a city make any attempt to bridge the fence as an expansion technique, and I've been using the fence for nearly a year.

The exception is in hilly terrain where the road being built by the city was already at least 32 ticks higher or lower than the fence to begin with, and there was an available landing site for the bridge on the other side at the same elevation. But you can usually predict when this might happen far ahead of time and take steps to prevent it, usually with just one or two fence sections.

Quote:
Well, its a "track" if you realy want some fun, you could edit an object to drive on it


Probably not. In order to do that you'd have to make changes to the fence, and add it to TRACKST. But then, if you did all that, it wouldn't be the Boundary Fence anymore would it?

_________________
Corral those nutty peeps with a Boundary Fence
Replace wimpy steamer sounds with Steamer Sound Kit


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:11 am
Posts: 1889
Location: A house in Australia...
it's a road right? you could make a road vehicle...

_________________
Locomotion err... stuff: Brisbane Scenario~~~noofnoof's room scenario~~~Saunders-Row SR-N4 mark I hovercraft~~~Alpine Island Scenario
Project: Australian buses
Image Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 12:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 3:38 pm
Posts: 1423
Location: Virginia
make children run up and down the fence with sticks,

_________________
May the force be with you.
For little boys, three things reign as supreme attention-keepers: tanks, heavy construction equipment, and trains, we all know why where here.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music."

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:31 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:09 am
Posts: 62
Location: Middle America
noofnoof wrote:
it's a road right? you could make a road vehicle...


If you can make a vehicle that travels on it, without changing bdryfenc.dat, and not adding it to trackst, then have at it cause I'd like to see it...

>> Challenge issued<<

_________________
Corral those nutty peeps with a Boundary Fence
Replace wimpy steamer sounds with Steamer Sound Kit


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:14 am
Posts: 3941
Krakr wrote:
noofnoof wrote:
it's a road right? you could make a road vehicle...


If you can make a vehicle that travels on it, without changing bdryfenc.dat, and not adding it to trackst, then have at it cause I'd like to see it...

>> Challenge issued<<


uhhh

Attachment:
Screenshot50.png
Screenshot50.png [ 72.21 KiB | Viewed 7577 times ]



Umm...

It is a road. by nature, any truck flagged as "anytrack" (default) can drive on it.
The anytrack flag in the xml just keeps the town from building it.

This is similar to the telephone pole mod for TEH. ...

Looks like a fun toy..

_________________
North American sets and then some...
US SET Ver 3.1.0 updated ~ Amtrak Pack 3.1.0 ~ US Passenger/Metro Set 3.1.0 updated~ Auto Factory 2.6 ~ VIA Rail Pack ~ LTD ED1 Conrail Alcos ~ LTD ED2 NJ Transit ~ DBR E60 ~ TGV Duplex ~ Umbrella Corp. ~ Comboios de Portugal~ Dekosoft UP/BN/BNSF Sets ~ ICE // MegaPack = 1.0.3.
Image
Image
Image
My Trains are made from 100% recycled electrons!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: [REL] Boundary Fence
PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:48 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 6:09 am
Posts: 62
Location: Middle America
HAR! HAR! Now that's hilarious!!

But wait a minute . . . I thought we said "... travel on it ..." Those trucks seem to be driving to the side of it, on the ground. Okay, that's nit-picking I guess, but I wonder why they won't place in my game?? (see screenshot).

The screenshot won't capture the ghost image icon nor the down-arrow, but I tried several different ways and always got the same message.

Attachment:
File comment: This is what I get when I try it.
't place.png
't place.png [ 570.75 KiB | Viewed 7551 times ]


Hold on a minute... I think I know what's going on here. Your example was in a new game with the fence added in Scenario Editor, right? All my use of the fence has been to existing games - added with the Saved Game Editor. It didn't occur to me there'd be any difference, but . . . :?:
.

_________________
Corral those nutty peeps with a Boundary Fence
Replace wimpy steamer sounds with Steamer Sound Kit


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.