Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 12:29 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Westward Ho!
Okay this is the last of my back catalogue of releasable scenarios. I had fun with this one, i hope you will too!

Start Date: 1923
Objective: 25,000 mail in 50 years
Difficulty: Medium (towns don't grow much)
Competittors: lol, just lol. (No)
Mods: None (US pack strongly recommended)

Background

With the roaring twenties in full swing, expansion of American Railways is still needed. These two lush valleys have been seperated by a foboding desert since settlement. Link the eastern valley to the western valley and provide a much needed service by hauling mail between them.

Map:
Image

The forboding Death Valley-esque desert:
Image

The fertile eastern valley:
Image

Notes:

I'm getting the hang of limiting of town growth, through carefully selecting which buildings allowed, even with good services 50 years on the largest towns can be managed easily to stop them going mental metropollis.


Attachments:
Westward Ho! (No Mods).zip [295.66 KiB]
Downloaded 806 times

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:50 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:15 am
Posts: 542
Location: Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Very nice map, very US. im off to play (add US pack).

_________________
UPDATE Release, version 2.1 Older US freight / passenger cars, available for Download now at AMI Trains!

Go Arsenal!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 3:02 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Shame... i like this one :(

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 3:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:34 pm
Posts: 1384
Location: Colchester, UK
teccuk wrote:
Shame... i like this one :(

I like it too. I've been playing it on and off but I haven't finished yet :wink:

_________________
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 2:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:34 pm
Posts: 1384
Location: Colchester, UK
I have finished this one, and great fun it was too. Thanks for the map, it goes very nicely with Plastikman's trains.
Image

_________________
Image
Things I've made for Locomotion:
Scenarios: East Anglia | Trans Oceanic | Scotland | Narrow Gauge Nuts
Locomotives: (REL) BR 0-6-0 J94 | (REL) UK Steam Pack

My Flickr


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
It was a nice scenario to play. Only i didn't do it the same way you did. The first thing i did was add some other trains (mostly USA) and some more industry, didn't changed the map and all.

Then I started building with a few screens here for the process as it is today...(in case they work, but i'll find out soon)

:roll: :roll: :roll:


Attachments:
Locomotion.zip [891.5 KiB]
Downloaded 416 times

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
And this is one of the stations near a Steel Mill. Almost every Ore or Coal-Line in the game goes to this particular station. From hear it's steel is transported by 8 different American Trains from the USA and AMTRAK and CANADA set's.

Thank the maker for that, and the creator of this scenario who brought a lot of fun to dress it up.


Attachments:
Screenshot40.JPG
Screenshot40.JPG [ 177.97 KiB | Viewed 11118 times ]
Screenshot33.JPG
Screenshot33.JPG [ 173.34 KiB | Viewed 11068 times ]

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::
Top
   
 Post subject: westward ho early days
PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
I also got these screenshots, this is the first line that I lay on this map. A connection between the cities in the middle of the map. All connected via trains I used from the US, Amtrak an Canadian packs.


Attachments:
Westward Ho 2.JPG [317.7 KiB]
Downloaded 233 times
Westward Ho 1.JPG [246.94 KiB]
Downloaded 253 times

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:46 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:01 pm
Posts: 663
Hey guys, nothing much more satisfying than seeing other people enjoy it too! I quite liked this one, and its very pretty :p

The ironic thing is, judging by the screenshots, your all much much better at the game then me! My trains get lost, my tracks get congested, my passengers leave, my industries stop producing... quite funny really.

_________________
Best thread ever: Network maps
Loco Scenarios:
Caladras Coal - (870) Wessex - (225) Anduin Valley - (245) Sinclaire - (150) The Aural Sea - (200)
Westward Ho! - (475)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 10:00 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:02 am
Posts: 415
Location: New York
well, first, i must say that this is a great map, awsome for plastik's trains

on a second note, i'm not a huge fan of the food industry, so i hope u don't mind but i converted it to a steel production map and had it start in 1900. but other than that and adding more trains and stuff, great map, hope this isn't the last from you. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
teccuk wrote:
Hey guys, nothing much more satisfying than seeing other people enjoy it too! I quite liked this one, and its very pretty :p

The ironic thing is, judging by the screenshots, your all much much better at the game then me! My trains get lost, my tracks get congested, my passengers leave, my industries stop producing... quite funny really.


I got one tip for you for helping that you're trains won't get lost.
Most people give a train an order to go like this : (example)

1 Stop at Station 1
2 full load of Iron Ore
3 Stop at Station 2
4 unload all Iron Ore.
end of orders.

When you got a mega track situation the best thing to do with the orders is to start giving you're orders like this :

1 route to waypoint 1 (just outside the loadstation)
2 Stop at Station 2
3 unload all Iron Ore
4 route to waypoint 2 (just outside the unloadstation)
5 Stop at Station 1
6 full load of Iron Ore
end of orders.

The best way how this works is when you make use of double track lay out. Please don't ask me why this system works bettter I just used this because I had the same problems with trains getting lost. Even when these tracks are the first one to be build I use this type of orders for trains because later on in the game you might wanna use a part of this track for an other route of an other train wich is connected via an other track. So the best thing to do is to give the new train orders and using the option "route through waypoint (nr)", if you make use of more trains on the same routes then make sure that the "route through waypoint" marks come after a crossing or change of direction.

If you still don't know what I'm talking about please say so because then I will give you a better explenation via a few screenshots.

Good luck !!!

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject: screenees
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
The double track layout as simple as it gets with only two trains on two tracks. If it is a larger network and if you have more trains on this line perhaps Train 1 and Train 2 need new orders so that they will follow there own line. In a later stadium of the game you may have to give extra orders to train Train 1 and Train 2 to keep them on there tracks and then the won't get lost.


Attachments:
route direction help-screen.JPG [256.55 KiB]
Downloaded 246 times

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:44 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:07 pm
Posts: 7817
Location: Kingdom of Far Far Away
Hey a train made by me :P I dont realy see often a train on a screenshot who is mine :P

_________________
:: Looking for the Locomotion section? Scroll down on the forum index or click here. :: See all releases in Locomotion section? Clicky here! :: Click here for the best tool ever! :: .datCrawler try it! ::
Following roadmap for releases: Whats a roadmap?
Releases of LocoTrains can be found by checking the posts of:
LocoTrains - Goold old AMI Trains member of the first hour.
I have Private Messaging disabled, because of the stupid questions i get in my PM box.
Want to talk to me? Get on the #tycoon and #locomotion channel on OFTC thingy. :: Evolution of men: Loosing more braincells, everytime you post...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1088
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
That's right Illegal. I just downloaded it from Ami Trains. I already had the Shinkansen 500, and I didn't know until now that the Shinkansen 700 was availeble as well. That I used this one for the "train orders example" is no coincedance because I like the Japanese trains and I wanted to see this in the game. So this is the first screen that I made using the Shinkansen 700.

Nice Train !!!!

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 6:46 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 1:02 am
Posts: 415
Location: New York
well, i just hit 2010 in mine and you all know wut that means, nl maglev time :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 6:31 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Wisconsin, USA
I enjoyed the scenario. Even more with the US and Amtrak Packs. I found I could build trams early on, and supplement them with mail trucks around the cities. This worked pretty well to win, actually.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 7:31 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 12:40 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Bennekom, Netherlands
Illegal_Alien wrote:
Hey a train made by me :P I dont realy see often a train on a screenshot who is mine :P


Hey, thats because I don't make screens often :P

_________________
[REL] MaxiStack Containers | [REL] French Set
[REL] Belgium | [REL] Arnhem - Utrecht | [REL] More Scenario's

My released packs are no longer online. In case you own them, please contact me or upload them on a Locomotion site.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.