Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 8:56 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: game start problem
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 7:32 pm
Posts: 1
so i downloaded the game and i click on the icon and it says cannot start loco.exe
what do i need to do to fix it


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2014 11:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Complain with where you downloaded the game from and ask them for help or ask for your money back.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:43 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:51 pm
Posts: 275
Location: ´s-Hertogenbosch (AKA "The Duke´s Forest") , the Netherlands
a liitle bit more info please:

Windows version or not windows?

errors during install?

_________________
Just fold at the dotted line and cut it out with a pair of scissors. If you are under the age of 16 please ask one of your parents or an adult supervisor if she/he can help you.
Image.........................................................................................
ImageImage
The only thing that isn´t very succesfull in the wireless version : Bungee Jumping


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
Government_Bacon wrote:
so i downloaded the game


And more important, was it a payware version or did you just picked it up via some torrent-site ?

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 6:42 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:30 am
Posts: 780
Location: Munich, Germany
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
Government_Bacon wrote:
so i downloaded the game


And more important, was it a payware version or did you just picked it up via some torrent-site ?

Why should that be important :?: It would be important to know which operation systems he uses.

_________________
http://www.walter1940.de
Vehicles for Locomotion

Tutorials in english
- From MSTS to Locomotion ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/msts2loco/
- Wally ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/wally/
- xml-modding ---> http://www.walter1940.de/tutorial/xml-modding/


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Walter1940 wrote:
Why should that be important :?:

Because of the forum rules, perhaps.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 8:22 pm
Posts: 1092
Location: Landgraaf, the Netherlands
FooBar wrote:
Because of the forum rules, perhaps.


Yep, that's it !

_________________
Image

:: Emperor' Screenshots :: Problem with Bridges :: The Long Station Patch :: Help with Opie's Dutch Stations :: The Serpent "Mod-Free" :: The Empty Region :: The City Oilwell :: The City Flourmill :: The Food-Mod :: The Valuables-Mod V4.0 :: A "One-Sided Station" :: Standard vehicles for Plastikman's Automod :: Maximum production from industries :: Tutorial to change tracks for trams and trains :: My own vehicle creation thread ::


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2014 8:29 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:57 pm
Posts: 554
Emperor Darth Sidious wrote:
FooBar wrote:
Because of the forum rules, perhaps.


Yep, that's it !


This is not back seat moderating before people say so, it's about the fact that 99.999% on this forum bought a copy of Lomo to be able to play it and why should we provide help to someone who's idea of acquiring software might be illegally downloading it with all of the attendant risks
So if you chose to use software that is pirated then please don't expect others to deal with the problems it creates as the choice to use such software was yours alone
If your issues relate to legally purchased software then if the fault is known about and other forum members have experienced it and are able to assist then they will do so if the original poster would provide details about their os etc that enables most of the usual known problems with instillation etc to be looked at within what the forum users know and the users of the forum know a lot about the game, however if the fault relates to a cd that is defective then realistically the original poster should contact the company who sold them the cd to ask for a replacement or a refund

_________________
Don't touch that rail!

Scenario's Done are

Broken Hills at the Rivers Mouth viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49627, Sinn River viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49626, Flat Lands viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37704, Mountain High River Deep viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37412, River Valley and Rock viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37135, First Attempt viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34097 Cwm Valley viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34049&hilit=cwm+valley


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 12:30 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:42 am
Posts: 163
viewtopic.php?f=37&t=71024

I have a similar problem. I seriously need help. If no one refuses to helpme, maybe I will just gocleanslate.


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2014 8:32 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:57 pm
Posts: 554
If you have the original code for authorising the game cut out your mods onto another drive and remove and then re install Lomo, again this will depend on what O/s you have having just checked with the compatibility wizard Lomo is listed as being compatible with Windows 7 and we know that the game works with Windows 8
Do you know if you are running a 64 or 32 bit system?

_________________
Don't touch that rail!

Scenario's Done are

Broken Hills at the Rivers Mouth viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49627, Sinn River viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49626, Flat Lands viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37704, Mountain High River Deep viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37412, River Valley and Rock viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37135, First Attempt viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34097 Cwm Valley viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34049&hilit=cwm+valley


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 1:09 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Victoria, Australia
I think uktrackbuilder_loco has "hit the nail on the head" here. I don't see why forum members should help and support others who have downloaded pirated software. I purchased my copy of Locomotion a long time ago from eBay. It came fully packaged, with a manual. There wasn't a mark on the CD, and it still works perfectly. Try looking in your local retail outlet, if not then look on eBay or other online outlets. Just make sure it is a legal product and check the history of the seller.

If anyone wants help with Locomotion, then this is the place to be, but only if the game is legal.

Hope this helps.

Cheers. :)

_________________
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 10:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 7009
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
Well the original poster hasn't visited the forum again since he/she posted so I guess it wasn't that important after all. :roll:

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 7:23 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Victoria, Australia
hehehe..........good point Badger. Still, I guess it doesn't mean to say he/she won't visit, but it makes you think.... :roll:

_________________
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2014 2:44 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 6:57 pm
Posts: 554
Greyfox wrote:
hehehe..........good point Badger. Still, I guess it doesn't mean to say he/she won't visit, but it makes you think.... :roll:


Being honest if they do or if they don't come back isn't the issue, the issue is that if they have used software that has no verifiable history or even worse they cannot guarantee it's virus free, then why should the users of the forum actually bother to help someone who doesn't understand the most basic of ideas regarding internet security?

If you don't know that it isn't clear of malware, then you don't load it up

That actually might be why they never came back, they tried to run that copy of Lomo and it turned out to be malware and it destroyed their o/s

_________________
Don't touch that rail!

Scenario's Done are

Broken Hills at the Rivers Mouth viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49627, Sinn River viewtopic.php?f=39&t=49626, Flat Lands viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37704, Mountain High River Deep viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37412, River Valley and Rock viewtopic.php?f=39&t=37135, First Attempt viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34097 Cwm Valley viewtopic.php?f=39&t=34049&hilit=cwm+valley


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:04 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:47 pm
Posts: 362
Location: Victoria, Australia
@uktrackbuilder_loco: This topic is getting out of hand. What we have here is a new member who asked for help. Nobody made him/her welcome. Straight away it was suggested that he/she had pirated software. How do we know this. Considering the nature of the problem, It could be a compatibility issue. We don't know what OS is being used. The game in question could well be legitimate. All that has been stated is based on an assumption.

99.99% ??.....that too is based on an assumption. Fair enough, all you are doing is giving opinions, which I guess you are entitled to. If this new member returns, who's going tp help.

I suggest that these posts are in fact off topic. If you wish to answer this post, I for one will not reply to your response, and I suggest that we all get back on topic and stop making accusations. (in fact, if I was a moderator, I would be locking this topic).

Regards.

_________________
Windows 10 discussion here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=72527
Looking for AMI trains, Chicago Locomotive Works, etc: You'll find your needs here: http://www.locomotiondepot.net/
__________________________
"Don't badger the Badger"....(Retired Moderator)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: game start problem
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2014 10:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:12 pm
Posts: 7009
Location: Adwick-Le-Street.
So the sum result of this thread was actually nothing but accusations and pointless bickering.... :roll: :(

_________________
|||| My OTTD/TTDP pics ||||Currently slighty obsessed with getting Platinum Trophies||||Retired moderator||||


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.