Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

Which of the (for now) four version do you like?
One (version one barricades) 33%  33%  [ 4 ]
Two (version two post next to track) 8%  8%  [ 1 ]
Three (version three post in middle of track [players view]) 25%  25%  [ 3 ]
Four (version four post in middle of track [traindrivers view]) 17%  17%  [ 2 ]
Five (give it an other go ;-) ) 17%  17%  [ 2 ]
Total votes: 12
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:54 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
I had this idea for quite some while now but I didn't knew how to draw sprites,
I've downloaded a drawing tutural and started to work on my idea...

The idea behind this project is that I've seen a lot of stations in Belgium where there were
several platforms closed for for ex.: work or just out of order...
So I wanted to create something that could recreate these situations in OTTD/TTDP/TTD.
I've started to look after several types of barricades and I've tried to recreate it.
[although this isn't the way the Belgian railways mark this, it's done by the station
platform displays but these can't be read in OTTD/TTDP nor in TTD, so this is why I did it with barricades]
[see first attachment]. This should be a type of station tile, and should not allow the
trains to pass, this way you could close a platform due to reconstruction works or something
else. Or it could also be implemented permanently for eye-candy purposes...

Here's what I've drown so far...

Test 1: This is the initial drawing, but I guess the red's to bright and could hurt some forumscreatures eyes ;-).
Test 2: This is the wooden barricade but I think there's still a little work to be done on the shadings of the posts.
Test 3: This is my personal favorite although there's not much difference between the metal posts and the tracks.
Test 4: Fourth test white one not the best try I did. [second personal favorite]
Test 5: Tried to implement [see attachment 3] the word "CLOSE" not to visible I'm afraid.
[initialy I wanted to write CLOSED but the space was the short to write this ;-)]
Test 6: Tried to implement the word "STOP".
Test 7: Second test with wooden posts. [Liked the first wooden test more]

Tell me which one you like and If you like the idea...
Also If you would like to see something changed tell it to me...


Attachments:
Barricade.PNG
Barricade.PNG [ 58.19 KiB | Viewed 8008 times ]
Closed Platform v0.1.PNG
Closed Platform v0.1.PNG [ 5 KiB | Viewed 7999 times ]
Closed.PNG
Closed.PNG [ 38.95 KiB | Viewed 8001 times ]

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________


Last edited by Sir A. Boey on Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:08 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:02 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 9:31 am
Posts: 536
I think this would rather go with a specific station set, conforming to its overall design. It's almost impossible to make separate station tiles that will look well in all stations.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:10 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Poland
http://www.pod-semaforkiem.aplus.pl/sign_wszt.php
The first sign on this page (D1) is used on Polish railways to indicate closed track


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:43 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
That very same thing is used in the Netherlands, too. I always wondered how such a thing is supposed to stop a train, but it seems to do the trick :D

Therefor I don't think a barrier is very realistic for indicating a closed railroad. Maybe you could do something with two red signals and the aforementioned sign. That would be something I'd use. If I recall correctly, MB is doing something similar for his NewStations set.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Poland
FooBar wrote:
I always wondered how such a thing is supposed to stop a train.


It isn't. It is supported with derail where necessary. :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17059
Location: Harringay, North London
In Britain all that stops a train is either a stopblock (literally a piece of 2 by 4 across the rails) or a little sign that says stop, in the European design of white writing and outline on a red octagon, and a red light, which (I think) flashes.

Don't know if there's a derailer in with that.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:09 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
FooBar wrote:
That very same thing is used in the Netherlands, too. I always wondered how such a thing is supposed to stop a train, but it seems to do the trick :D

Therefor I don't think a barrier is very realistic for indicating a closed railroad. Maybe you could do something with two red signals and the aforementioned sign. That would be something I'd use. If I recall correctly, MB is doing something similar for his NewStations set.


I agree this can't possibly stop a train but when a train goes at it's maximum speed neither can a buffer...
but in Belgium they don't use these things they mention this on the platform displays but if tried to implement this idea into OTTD and this was my initial idea. Does anyone has another idea of how this could be drawn?

Dave Worley wrote:
In Britain all that stops a train is either a stopblock (literally a piece of 2 by 4 across the rails) or a little sign that says stop, in the European design of white writing and outline on a red octagon, and a red light, which (I think) flashes.

Don't know if there's a derailer in with that.

This isn't so easy to draw onto such a small track or octagon, but I will try and dra somthing like that Dave...
Thanks for your reply

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
I think these barriers weren't designed to stop the train but instead warn the driver not to go there. They are useful only against shunters or draisines or such to warn the driver that he should stop before the barrier.

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 7:41 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
well thanks bilbo because this is the reason I made these barriers
didn't know how to explain it ;-)

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:04 pm 
Offline
Director
Director

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 3:50 pm
Posts: 611
Location: Poland
Dave Worley wrote:
Don't know if there's a derailer in with that.


As I said (in not much detail), the sign is accompanied with derailer only where it is necessary for increased safety. For example, when the closed track crosses the road, and a runaway car could run into road traffic.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:07 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:28 pm
Posts: 313
I think this is a nice idea, and these can not only be used with a specific grf set, but with anyone, as you have no station tiles with them but only the track with the sign across it... Should be great for eyecandying :-)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:21 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
Will post my next tries tomorrow tried something with STOP written on it like one of the first examples
I've made before...

@ Timitry you're right it's more like eye-candy but as this is not yet possible (I guess) to implement this
than it's better to make this a station tile. And there are some other station tile who look just like a
single track so I guess this could be a station tiles without a platform.

Maybe I'll give it a try to draw some sort of platform but then I should also try and draw a normal
stationtile with just a platform but I've just began to draw and I must say it's not that easy...

The octagonal sign is for me not possible with the word STOP written in it, but I'll try and draw
a sign like that with a line in it... see attachment


Attachments:
NO ACCESS.gif
NO ACCESS.gif [ 1.35 KiB | Viewed 6676 times ]

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
Here are my 2 next attempts, the first ones are like the barricades but than with the word STOP
integrated, and various types of posts. The second drawing is a single track with a "no access" sign in it
as shown in my previous post. I've drawn them on the 4 sides of the tracks. This could be somthing to add to the signals
in stead of a station tile... If someone has an other sugestion than please post them...

Maybe the drawings of the backside of the signs aren't my greatest drawing yet but it's a start, don't know if we need them though...


Attachments:
Closed Platform v0.1 No Entrance Post.PNG
Closed Platform v0.1 No Entrance Post.PNG [ 1.75 KiB | Viewed 6481 times ]
Closed Platform v0.1 No Entrance Post (back side).PNG
Closed Platform v0.1 No Entrance Post (back side).PNG [ 1.72 KiB | Viewed 6473 times ]
Closed Platform v0.2Test.png
Closed Platform v0.2Test.png [ 6.47 KiB | Viewed 6475 times ]

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 7:02 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
Here are the "test" I've done with paint...
They do look much nicer in the game than in the little attachments..


Attachments:
Barricade test with platform.PNG
Barricade test with platform.PNG [ 32.58 KiB | Viewed 6468 times ]
Sign test on Track.PNG
Sign test on Track.PNG [ 23.99 KiB | Viewed 6477 times ]
Sign test with platform.PNG
Sign test with platform.PNG [ 29.67 KiB | Viewed 6464 times ]

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:05 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Maybe you should hold on to the perspective. Something like this:


Attachments:
Naamloos-1.png
Naamloos-1.png [ 1.35 KiB | Viewed 6395 times ]

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:15 pm
Posts: 1166
Location: Sydney, AUS
I was going to say what Foobar said. You need the signs to face the drivers, not the 'camera'. Also, with the STOP signs, the letters are vertical yet the sign is isometric. You need to find a way to make the letters slope too. In fact, you may get a better result if you finish with a sprite where you cannot actually read the word, but everyone will *know* it says stop. Careful use of colours and blending is what you need there, and it takes a lot of experimenting! ;)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
Many thanks for your comments Foobar & Ben_K I'll give it a go and post the result when finished ;-)

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 11:47 am
Posts: 6559
Location: The Netherlands
Maybe you could place the 'no entry' sign in the middle of the track. No train will be using the track anyway, so this could save you some work as you'd only require two directions.

_________________
FooBar's Tram Tracks | TransRapid Track Set | Metro Track Set | OpenGFX base graphics set | FIRS Industry Replacement Set
Dutch Tram Set | Dutch Trainset 2 | Dutch Road Furniture


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:01 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
That's a wonderfull idea... I'll get on with it on monday than I'll post them ASAP... ;-)

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2008 5:10 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 5:40 pm
Posts: 299
Location: UTL ~ HQ Vlaanderen
Here's the second and third version of the No access signal,
the second version is the one with the signal in the middle of the
track, my personal favorite...
The third one is with the signal facing the train driver's vision

I'll open a poll the make you chose which one you like the most...


Attachments:
Closed_Platform_v0.3_No_Entrance_Post.PNG
Closed_Platform_v0.3_No_Entrance_Post.PNG [ 1.61 KiB | Viewed 5769 times ]
Test_Sign_test_on_Track_v0.3.PNG
Test_Sign_test_on_Track_v0.3.PNG [ 28.14 KiB | Viewed 5770 times ]
Test_Sign_test_with_platform_v0.3.PNG
Test_Sign_test_with_platform_v0.3.PNG [ 61.12 KiB | Viewed 5761 times ]

_________________
Image
_____________# If you believe in it, you can achieve it" # ____________
__________________# Check out My Closed Platform #___________________
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: marioxcc and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.